Horror logo

My Wife Saved Me from an Unclean Spirit, and I Still Can't Believe How She Did It

Theories of a Paranormal Investigator

By Israel PettyPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
1
Image created by acidxmoose

Let’s start by me explaining the background of my relationship with my wife. Her name is Samantha. When we first got together, she was getting into Shamanism while I still had my rocky relationship with God. And although we are now devout Christians, the start to the relationship was far from that. She explained to me about a month into the relationship that she can hear and see spirits. I told her that I do believe that people have this ability, so it didn’t surprise me. But her next statement was alarming. She said, “Everyone who I begin dating starts to experience some of the same things that I do. It kind of rubs off on people that are new to my life.” I won’t lie, it kept me on high alert. I didn’t like dark rooms and spaces. I still don’t. As confident as I sound about the stuff that I’ve studied, I know my future paranormal experiences will put my nerves, faith, and theories to the test. This was one of those experiences. And I didn’t see it coming until it was right in my face.

I woke up around 3:00 AM one night, but something was off. I was moving as if something was shaking my bed back and forth. I sat up, but the feeling didn’t go away. About twenty seconds later, the mysterious feeling began to fade. I thought maybe I was just dizzy from the way I woke up. The room was nearly pitch black, and there was a very uncomfortable feeling I was getting. This is going to sound strange, but I don’t usually get “a feeling” when something is wrong. I have no “gut feeling” either. So, this was odd to me. Furthermore, my mind wouldn’t stop asking, “Where’s Sam?” I was used to having her over at my house at night and we’d fall asleep together. It took me a couple of minutes to realize I was alone, and that she was back at home with her parents.

I quickly jumped up and got out of the room as fast as possible. I kept the light on and went into the living room. I couldn’t shake the feeling something was off. It was like I woke up from a nightmare I couldn’t remember. I felt as if something was about to grab me at any moment. I went into the bathroom, and came back into the living room, trying to get ahold of myself. Eventually, I texted Sam and explained to her what I was experiencing. It took her a long minute to text back, but she did. I was certain she wasn’t going to be awake, and there was some relief in getting the feeling off my chest. Despite all my efforts on keeping calm, I grew increasingly paranoid... Like I was being followed. As if something was right on my back and breathing on my neck. My heart... would not stop thumping. I went to the bathroom again to splash water on my face. When I went back into the living room, my mom was in the middle of the room. Because I didn’t hear her, and then suddenly saw her, I fell over and started hyperventilating. For a split second, I thought for sure I was face to face with the ominous force. She ran over to me, asking me what was wrong, but I couldn’t get any words out. I kept stuttering. I had never been so scared in my life.

A few days later, Sam was itching to say something, but she was hesitant. So, I asked her what she needed to tell me. Finally, she looked at me and said, “Israel. I was awake that night because of a nightmare I had. And you were in it.”

Because I experienced her side second hand, I’m going to try and be as clear as possible. Her dream consisted of her waking up in my bed next to me. And across the room was where my closet was. In front of the closet, a black figure was present. It didn’t seem to notice her, but it was noticing me. An old lady was in the center of the bedroom, doing nothing more than observing the altercation. The dark entity began floating across the room towards me, and Sam’s immediate reaction was to nudge me and try to wake me up. When I didn’t move, she tried shaking my shoulder. As the figure drew closer, she quickly jumped on top of me and started shaking both of my shoulders as fast as she could. Then she woke up… around the same time that I did. Here’s what really freaked me out. Aside from the fact that I’ve now known her for nearly three years and she’s never lied to me about anything, I didn’t even give her all the details. I didn’t tell her I woke up feeling like someone was shaking me.

Whatever the thing was, it stayed in my room for months. It got to the point where I refused to sleep in my room. I continued sleeping on the couch. Even then, I didn’t feel like I was safe. I’d have the lights on in the living room, and I’d still get the feeling something was watching me. It got increasingly difficult to go to sleep. I continued waking up at 3:00 AM from a nightmare I couldn’t remember, panicking... My heart ready to leap from my chest.

About four months down the road, I was sitting in the car with Sam and her mom. Now, to give you a brief history of her mom, we have a rule where we don't talk about politics, finances, or the paranormal. Her mom asked me if I had any family members who had abilities. And to be honest, no. Most of my family members don't have abilities. My mom and aunt used to dream of small events before they happened. But seeing spirits or anything like that? No. I explained to her the only thing my family has in common is that we have a preacher in the family nearly every generation. After discussing my family tree, she shared something with me shortly after Sam left the car to go get some items from the store.

“Well, Israel,” she said. “The other day when visiting your family at your house, something was off.”

I grew quiet.

“I don’t know what’s behind the wall that your couch is up against, but there’s something really dark behind it. And I’d steer clear from it if I were you. I’m just saying.”

I finally told her, “Yeah. I know... That’s my room.”

Image created by Ishmakey

This is a sample from my unreleased book Theories of a Paranormal Investigator. Feel free to read some of my other material that I have put on my Vocal profile.

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

1

About the Creator

Israel Petty

I'm a paranormal author, researcher, and investigator. If you wanna know in depth what I study, I recommend checking out my latest book Theories of a Paranormal Investigator on Amazon. I also have a few chapters from my book on Vocal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.