Horror logo

My Unpopular 'Hereditary' Opinion

Come on guys, hear me out.

By KaciePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture from https://bloody-disgusting.com/videos/3496149/hereditary-watch-toni-collette-lose-shit-uncomfortable-family-spat-video/

Dear Vocal Readers,

Oh, Hereditary, it's been one of the most praised horror movies we have had in a long time. Before viewing it myself I had heard nothing but good reviews, and was told just how crucial it was to watch it as a fan of the horror genre. So I thought I'd give the movie a shot, because let's be honest I've seen some crappy horror movies in my day, and why not give this highly praised one a try. Well, I gave it a try, and let me tell you I was nothing but disappointed.

***Spoiler Warning***

One thing the film had working against it to begin with was all the hype surrounding it. I've found that when movies are given such amazing reviews and you only hear good things, it can be hard not to be a bit disappointed when you actually see it. We have an idea already set in our minds about how good it's going to be, which automatically sets it up for failure. Over-hyping a movie can be its downfall, and that's part of the issue I had with this film.

I had expected this movie to blow my mind and produce some horror unlike anything I'd seen in years. It blew my mind alright, but not for good reason. I spent the entire time expecting some twist with mental illness. It's called Hereditary right? So, it would make total sense that these characters are actually suffering from mental illness and it is all in their heads. This would have been a great twist, as so many horror films nowadays focus on gore and violence instead of hitting us with the psychological horror. The genre has become oversaturated in its same old same old routine of using gruesome violence to scare us, and I for one, am sick of it. I thought that perhaps this movie would be different and give us a mental scare. Well, it didn't and instead we got something that's been overdone to death: a cult.

Cults are never in horror movies: said no one. How overdone is that? Here I came into this film expecting to see something new and crazy. Instead, they treat me to something I've already seen countless times. They could have taken this film in so many more promising directions, but they decided to go back to what's wrong with Hollywood right now. Not only that, but it also relied highly on us to be disgusted and scared by its gruesome violence. The only part that I will admit got to me was the sudden death of Charlie. This was something completely unexpected, and I tip my hat to this scene of the movie. That is what we need more of in horror films, something that genuinely surprises its audience. Yes it is extremely violent, but I'm not talking about when they show her head. I'm talking about the moment of her death and nothing more. I kid you not, I even gasped at this scene, because of how left field it was. That is what I wanted from this film, but I only got it in that one scene.

Something else happened here that shouldn't happen with horror movies, I found myself laughing, and not at parts that were meant to be humorous. I'm talking about when the father just suddenly bursts into flames, or when the mother is crawling around on the ceiling like a damn spider or something. From spontaneous combustion to some monkey business, I couldn't help but chuckle a bit. I mean come on guys, she was running around on the ceiling, how is that not at all funny? We all laughed when Spider-Pig did it, so why are we suddenly horrified by a human doing it? It just seemed a bit over the top and ridiculous for my taste.

Now of course I have to say that my opinion is in fact just my opinion, and you can think of the movie however you want to, because you have the right to form your own opinions. You may not agree with my take of the film at all, and to that I say: Okay. All I ask is that everyone respect each other's opinions, but then again I don't have to hear, because we have been blessed by not having a comment section (which I'm sure would be filled with hate after this). If you haven't seen the film yet and have just read this, I would tell you to skip it. But hey, if you want to see a woman crawl on a ceiling and the random emergence of a cult, then go ahead soldier, I salute you.

Sincerely from my horror movie loving and disappointed mind,

Kacie

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Kacie

Just an aspiring writer trying to gain experience :)

Follow my adorable kitties on Instagram and Tiktok @joethehoe.finnforthewin <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.