Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

My Porcelain Doll

Story

By Dennis FangPublished 6 months ago 4 min read
1
My Porcelain Doll
Photo by Tapio Haaja on Unsplash

When I was 12 I received an old porcelain doll for my great aunt she was an avid doll collector if you've heard my past story times this is the one with that big old house that had the Alice in Wonderland room anyways it was a thoughtful gift from someone who was really passionate about these dolls but for some reason it always scared the hell out of me there was something that was just off about it maybe it's because I've always been more sensitive to this kind of stuff but I swear I could feel something off in the very aura of the thing it made me uncomfortable it had a sort of heaviness to it, that's hard to put into words the doll itself was beautiful it had real lace and hand-placed eyelashes on the striking blue glass eyes it looked like a little blonde bride inherently there shouldn't have been.

Is anything really creepy about it as far as dolls go it was actually pretty cute and much less scary-looking than some of the dolls I had seen but still, it made me so very uneasy I think the thing that frightened me the most were the eyes they followed you wherever you went but beyond the normal mechanic that comes with glass eyes, there was a heavier feeling behind it the same feeling you get when an actual person stares at you it actually felt like a solid gaze on you but beyond all these superficial creepy elements there was something in particular that scared me about this doll it had a propensity to move on its own it wasn't something I noticed right away small movements that weren't easy to catch

I'd have it on the right corner of my dresser with its arms down and later in the day it would be more in the middle of the dresser with an arm halfway up small things like that really the only reason I can call these to mine now is because as things escalated I became more and more vigilant to every little shift I always had a tendency to keep the doll the on my dresser because it was the opposite side of my room as far away from my bed as I could get it I would then turn it around at night so I didn't have to see its eyes it was one morning I awoke to find it turned all the way around staring right at me from across the room with both its arms raised I finally made the jump from a minor dislike and suspicion of the thing to full-out fear and disdain for it my door was still tightly shut from the the night before and there were no signs of someone having entered I have always been an incredibly light sleeper to the point that I will still sometimes need earplugs in a quiet room just to get peaceful rest so if someone had entered it absolutely would have awoken me but there it was turned around and staring me down from then on I kept a much closer eye on the thing

I lost count of how many times it had shifted about subtle enough to go unnoticed if not for being closely observed I had started to become so unnerved with the thing that I began to tell my mother I didn't want to keep it in my room anymore I tried using the excuse that I was getting too old to have dollies in my room but she insisted I couldn't get rid of it because it was a gift from an elderly family member so it stayed and so it continued to shift about what finally broke the uneasy peace was the night I was so unnerved that I decided to close it in my closet overnight having it locked away behind a door made

I feel immensely better than just turning it around to face the wall but unfortunately the following morning left me feeling more frightened than ever when I awoke my porcelain bride sat upon my bedside table leering it down at me I couldn't believe how this was possible my old closet door made such a racket to open it should have awoken me but there she was at this point, I couldn't handle it anymore being very young and very scared I thought the best way to handle the situation was to destroy the thing so I grabbed the doll by the feet and smashed her head against the dresser and it worked her face shattered and I came to my mom and said I had dropped it accidentally I'm sure she didn't believe me as she scolded me quite severely for having done that to my great-aunt's wonderful gift but it did work she disposed of the doll and thank god it never showed up again unfortunately due to this incident to this day I am extremely uncomfortable around old porcelain dolls.

supernaturalfictionCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Dennis Fang

thank you for reading, happy reading

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.