Horror logo

My New Friend

a short story

By RJPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
My New Friend
Photo by Sergey Zolkin on Unsplash

I recently took up the hobby of playing words with friends. I’m not the most tech savvy and the premise of the game appealed to me and kept my mind busy during idle hours. One evening after a particularly troubling day and a few overfilled glasses of wine I decided to play a few rounds while the TV played in the background beckoning for my attention with pale blue light.

I noticed there was someone new in my suggested opponents. His selfie gave way to kind eyes and a nice gleaming smile. I didn’t hover too long before iniating the game and making my first turn. Amazingly, I played a 50 point word and as I set my phone down I felt a mild flare of excitement. I entertained the idea of the handsome stranger impressed and intrigued and hopefully willing to play. I never let my relationships get very far, the lead up is always more entertaining.

I was staring blankly at my TV lost in thought when my phone’s screen caught the attention of my peripheral. It was Words with Friends, my new foe had played me back, and sent me a message. I let the phone lay unattended for awhile, before my curiosity guided me to the app’s home screen. I clicked on his game and read his message:

“I hope’d you would start a game with me, I’ve been waiting for someone like you to give me a challenge ;).”

The message was off putting but part of me longed for someone to challenge me intellectually, and provide even the slightest bit of mystery and wit. So, I typed back:

“Is that how you say hello? Tell me Words with Friends doesn’t take up so much real estate in your life.”

He replied instantly, I couldn’t even leave the app before a string of words appeared on the screen.

“Lol no.. no, it’s hard to find people who care about words. It’s hard to find people who care about anything, I got excited.”

To this I raised my eyebrow, I often felt alone and the alcohol made his words resonate more with me than usual. He seemed vulnerable, lonely. We continued to exchange banter and after several heated games we were tied for a championship. Even through just text he read my emotions well and knew how to make me laugh. It seemed effortless and my body was light and buzzed from the game and spirits.

In a swift moment of bravery I suggested we play in person at my place the following night. I had a scrabble board game and intended to make him taste defeat in front of my eyes. He agreed and we made the arrangements as I dozed off on my couch.

The next day was a blur of anticipation coupled with tension and nerves. Being a psychiatrist requires me to be attentive and present. I found it difficult to follow along with the research being presented to me.

When I got home I felt frazzled, this man was pulling me out of my groove. Something about him was so familiar. Yet, I didn’t feel comfortable. Not that I was UN- comfortable, just on edge, waiting for his next move.

His knock came earlier than I expected and I was forced to accept the current outfit I was trying out. I pulled open the door and placed my weight on my heels leaning back, he was standing uncomfortably close to the entrance. His cologne wafted by my nositrils and the pine elements relaxed me. It was natural and his welcoming smile and embrace soothed my anxiety.

“Well hello, come in I don’t bite.”

He smiled and moved swiftly passed me taking in my apartment. Studying everything, studying me.

I had a little table set up with the board game and two glasses of champagne, their fizzes and pops breaking the silence.

“This is perfect. I’m so glad the hospital could spare you tonight. ” He said sliding into one of the chairs. He said it so casually I almost didn’t notice. How did he know I worked in a hospital? I racked my brain trying to remember if I had told him. I was sure I hadn’t when he spoke again.

“Something wrong Jeanette?”

“I guess I’m not used to people listening to me.” I said it half to convince him and half to convince myself.

He shrugged and slid his tiles along the board, chuckling to himself. I glanced down.

He played “outfox.”

I jotted down his points and examined the board myself, periodically glancing up at him. He was always staring back at me, inquisitively. I felt like I was under a microscope.

“Do you wear contacts now? I always liked your glasses.”

My eyes flashed up again and I almost jumped out of my seat. I was paralyzed with fear. The energy had shifted and I felt my hair stand up, cursing myself for being so naive.

He leaned back in his chair and the light casted a shadow on his face. He looked different, his kind eyes were now ablaze. He wasn’t angry. He was almost shuddering with glee. There was a smile spread wide across his face. His teeth gleaming in the low light.

My chest felt hallow yet I felt every beat of my heart. The moment felt years long as he downed the rest of his champagne glass. Basking in the fear exuding from my side of the board. I shakily attempted to stand up, pushing the table over frantically in an effort to by myself time.

Thirty seconds even.

The door couldn’t be more than 50 feet away. I commanded my body to move. Forcing my legs to run, completely detached from the moment.

I heard his chair fall to the floor and the sound of his boots echoing across the tile.

How long had it been? Was he close?

Just a few more seconds and I’ll be there.

My hallow chest continued to propel me forward beating a steady ominous rumble.

The door was just beyond my finger tips.

Leaping for the door, I let out a scream that came from my core. Only I didn’t hear a sound. His cologne wafted into my nostrils unwelcome. It was now pungent and vile. It overwhelmed my senses as I faded until an enveloping black...

By Matt Gross on Unsplash

I sat back and admired my work. The different textures, liquid, solid, splattered and fluid. it was beautiful. The once elegant white walls cascaded in red. Thick in some places and translucent in others. The smell of death hung in the air. It creeped into my nostrils and seeped between the folds of my brain like poison.

Today, I wasn’t going to let guilt ruin my moment. I had waited so long to feel the power and control over such a delicate and intricate mind. I turned to look in her mirror, dragging my finger tips over the thick droplets of blood covering my elated expression. My smile made me laugh. What a sight! Behind me I could see Jeanette, lifeless and condemning, her body leaning against her white stained couch.

Her eyes were still shocked. They cemented her last moments in haunting fashion. I felt lucky to have a moment of history as I removed the head from the beautiful corpse and tucked it away into my bag. Intelligence was rare and gleaming. To be around her wasn’t enough. Her intensity needed to be captured. Harnessed and preserved for eternity. Oh Jeanette I’ll think of you fondly and remember your ability with words forever. Even in death her revelations on this life brought a tear from my eyes that flowed down my cheek. Now watery and diluted.

slasher
Like

About the Creator

RJ

Find me on Instagram at @awriterwhodraws

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.