Horror logo

My funeral

Yes, I attended

By collette_23Published 3 years ago 10 min read
2

It was a dark and gloomy day; the fog blanketed the resting ones that surrounded the beautiful architecture of this worshiping building. I would say it was cold but how would I know all I feel now is the cold. I waited in the distance hidden by some trees as everyone entered the church, not sure why I was hiding I don’t think they would be able to see me anyways. I didn’t really know how all this worked; I mean was this wrong of me to come to my own funeral.

I was here ow there was no point in turning my back and walking away. I took my seat on the very last row of benches, as far away from everyone as I could get. I wasn’t hurt or disappointed that there wasn’t many people here. I hadn’t really been alive long enough to make an impression on tons of people. But what was left of my family were here, all lined up at the front teary, reddened eyes fixed on my haunted coffin.

As the ceremony started another person slowly snuck in, I almost didn’t notice them come in until they settled into the other end of the bench. He too looked like he didn’t want anyone to know he was there. I tried to get a good look at him, but he kept his head down with his eyes slowly glancing at the coffin every few seconds. He seemed very distraught, but for the life of me I couldn’t remember who he was. It saddened me that I had made this much of an impact on someone’s life, but I couldn’t even remember him.

I was told that the longer I stay in the human world, the more my memories would fade. I tried to shuffle a bit closer to him to get a better look, I recognised him but I’m not sure why or where from. The closer I got to him the strong the feeling got; it was turning in to a fear. Why would I be feeling fear? Was it his fear or mine? I kept shuffling slowly that’s when his head shot in my direction, if I had a heart I’m sure it would be echoing through out this hollow building. His eyes were locked on mine, I feared he could see me. had I broken a rule? Did I get too close? I held my breath just in case he could hear me.

My sister’s sobs echoed though to my core and both our heads shot back to the front. She began to talk capturing everyone’s hearts “ever since the day my parents brought me home from the hospital and my sister held me in her arms we had this incredible bond, just this unbreakable connection. She would always tell me the story of when we first met, it was the first time I had opened my eyes since being born and I looked up and her and smiled. I will forever miss her always telling me about the beginning of our journey together. I can’t believe our journey has ended so soon there was so much we still had to do” she tried her best to hold in the sobs before completely breaking down. I wanted to sprint up to her and carry her away in my arms, protecting her from all the hurt and evil in this world.

That’s when it hit me I was no longer going to be there to protect her as she wonders this life. I can’t help her to not make bad decisions, be her shoulder to cry on when she goes through her first heart break. I wasn’t the only one choked up by her speech, this guy was blubbering trying to hold himself together, but he couldn’t do it he ran right out of there. Bursting the doors right open causing a huge whistle to echo through the whole church. Everyone turned to see what had happened but just dismissed it when they couldn’t see anyone, not even me.

I ran out straight after him, I wanted to follow him, I wanted to know who he was, why he was there. I looked all around for him, but I couldn’t see him anymore, he was a quick mover. I couldn’t handle going back inside and listening to everyone talking about how much they were going to miss me. I found my final resting place, just a dark hole in the mud. I sat on the grass and lent my back against a near by tree. I ran my fingers through the long strands of emerald grass, I wished I could feel the jagged frost that coated the strands of grass, but still I could feel nothing.

I waited a little while for my family to exit the church with my coffin. They lay me above the hole resting on the lowering device. Their backs were turn to me as everyone began to say their final goodbyes as they watched my coffin lower into the darkness of earth. I got another glint of fear that ran through my body at first I thought it was the fear that this was it the ending. Then I felt it, it wasn’t my fear I could feel, his shoulder firmly planted on the tree. His face a mix of pale with red streaks from crying.

He was smart, well turned out, nice, fitted suit, fresh hair cut all styled. By the looks of it new shoes that weren’t even broken in yet. I know it’s probably out of respect but honestly who goes to all this trouble for a stranger’s funeral. I watched as he began to tear up again “I’m sorry” he whispered through the tears. What did he have to be sorry for? I tried my hardest, but I couldn’t for the life of me remember who he was.

I know I was only supposed to stay for the funeral, but I needed to know who he was, why he was sorry. I had to be careful, I had already been warned of the dangers of staying longer than I should. I hoped it wouldn’t take long, I followed him back to his car and let him take me to his place. Something about this whole encounter seemed familiar, I just couldn’t put my finger on it.

I was a little shocked when we pulled into this almost derelict building in an industrial area. He was so clean cut, nice fancy car, I expected some huge top floor, modern bachelor pad. It was like an old factory or warehouse. We took this old industrial sized elevator to the next floor. I think it was only two floors then the roof, when he opened the elevator it was a little better on the inside. He had this high tech desk and computer set up with two monitors and everything lit up in pretty colours. Then there was a sofa with some blankets and pillows I’m guessing that’s where he slept. Next to his desk the was a fridge and a cupboard, with a toaster, microwave and coffee maker on top.

Everything was extremely neat everything had its place. Which was weird because if he was this neat and organised why was he living in an old run down building. Money didn’t look like it was a problem. He hooked his finger into the top of his tie and wiggled it until it came loose, then followed the undoing of his top button. His shoes clicked across the huge floor plan. his demeaner had changed quite a bit since entering the building. He wasn’t so cut up anymore, he had hardened, his expression evil.

I followed him to the back wall, from the other side where his living area was it looked like just a huge piece of artwork. Close up it was like a board in a police investigation, but this wasn’t to catch a bad guy this was to hunt victims. Hundreds of surveillance images with string pointing to all kinds of information. I stayed frozen as he walked away, in the distance I could hear the echo of his keyboard followed by the humming of his printer. I was numb look at all these people are they still alive has he already made them his victims; I suppose the second he looks at them they become his victim.

His heels scraped across the concrete floor as he made his way back to me. he grabbed two thumbnails and tied a piece of string in between them. Then he reached to a part pf the wall I hadn’t looked at yet. He placed the first pin in the bottom corner of a photo of me, then stretched out the string and pined up a photo of my coffin surrounded by all my family.

I don’t remember much about the day I died, apparently we weren’t allowed to. We were to use this time for healing, not revenge. The only thing I remember was feeling scared to my core and a pair of haunted eyes looking so deeply into mine as my life faded. But as I looked at these photos it was slowly starting to come back to me. he gained my trust lured me into his arms just to take my life. I couldn’t believe I had been so stupid to have given such a monster the control to take away my right to live.

I couldn’t believe he had the audacity to go to my funeral, where my family were trying to grieve and say their final goodbyes. He had no right to go there and to act sad, he even said he was sorry but he’s not he’s a monster he’s not going to stop. He invaded my families right to be able to say goodbye, they might not have known he was there, but he knows he was there, he probably gets a kick out of it. This was the first time since dying that I had fully felt any emotions and it was just pure rage.

I could hear the faint clinking of glass, I walked back down to him he was pouring himself a nice tumbler of bourbon. He carried it to the elevator, and I followed him. I didn’t know if I could do anything, but I knew I couldn’t let him out of my sight. I prayed for the police to come barrelling through the building and shoot him on sight, but he was so smug I think he knew he wouldn’t be caught until its too late.

We took the elevator to the roof; he propped the roof door open with a dusty red brick. I fantasised about picking the brick up and smashing it into his skull. He stood close to the edge of the roof top he closed his eyes taking one huge breath in before sipping his bourbon. When he opened his evil dark eyes, I thought about him scouring the city for his next victim. I couldn’t let that happen.

I didn’t know if I could do it, I didn’t know if anyone had tried before me. It might just come across as a very pathetic attempt. But I had to do something I couldn’t just let him go on, ruining people’s lives. I gathered all the strength I still had left in my being. I could feel the strength surging through my spirt. I pushed with all of my might towards him. when our spirits clashed he flew over the side of the roof, crashing to the ground beneath us. I watched from the roof as my spirt began to disperse into the atmosphere, he bled out fast and there was nobody for miles to help.

I knew as soon as I got back to the spirit world there was going to be consequences, but I mean I’m dead, what more could they possibly do to me. I hoped there would be a round of applause, like I was a celebrity. But just because I didn’t have my human form anymore didn’t mean there wasn’t rules and laws still to follow. I would have done the same if I were still alive and found out about him. I regret nothing.

fiction
2

About the Creator

collette_23

I enjoy writing, I am trying out some new stuff, some short 2-3 page stories trying my hand at erotic writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.