Horror logo

MY FRIEND FROM ANOTHER DIMENSION.

Who he was is a mystery. Why he came is a question I would spend my life trying to find an answer to.

By Anup ShresthaPublished 12 months ago 11 min read
1

This particular incident happened to me somewhere around nine or ten years ago. Back when I was doing the first year of my bachelor's degree. I always had a keen interest in Arts and sketching, writing poems and stories, and all that. I used to spend hours writing something or just doodling on a piece of paper. That was the way I spent my leisure time. It was the month of January of the year 2013. Chilly weather and the first month of 2013. I was home alone that particular day when this incident took place.

I was in my room. I remember vividly, It was 11:30-45 AM, I had a warm cup of tea on my study desk, an iPod touch connected to a Chinese Bluetooth speaker with some slow music on it, and I was making my university notes while listening to the music faintly blending with the ambiance of my room. Back then I did not have a cell phone or anything except for that iPod my mum gave me so that I could relax myself listening to music. The only way I was able to communicate with my friends was through Facebook call or the landline which was in my uncle's room next to mine. As I was going on about with my Uni notes, I heard a ring on the phone in my uncle’s room. “Rinngggg Rinnggg” I stood up and went to my uncle’s room to pick up the call. But before I could reach the receiver, the ringing stopped. So I just went back to my room again and continued with my notes. Ten minutes later, I heard the phone ringing again, But this time I rushed quickly and picked up the call and I said

“Hello….. Hello…. Anybody there?... hello….”

But there was no response from the other end, no noise of any sort at all. I thought it must be my friends trying to play some silly pranks on me. So I just ignored it and hung up the call. I went back to my room, Took a sip from the cup of tea that was on my study desk and I went back to writing again. After some time of drinking the cup of tea and writing my notes, I had an urge to pee. So I stood up and went to the restroom which is to the Left side of my room and Opposite my uncle’s room. So basically my room is in the middle. I went to the restroom, Peed, and washed my hands. Afterward, I unlocked the restroom door and went to my room. As I was about to sit down on my chair, I heard a phone ring again. This time I was a little pissed off, so I stomped my feet on the ground furiously and went to pick up the call. This time I wasn’t just saying “Hello..” This time I was yelling “HEELLOOOO, WHO IS THIS?” At first, I heard nothing just like earlier but after a few seconds, I heard a noise, a noise that sounded like a static noise from a wocky tocky or some Old CRT Television. That’s when I calmed down a little and gently said “Hello.. Who is this?” then after some minor silence someone spoke from the other end and said “Are you home..?” and then I said, “ Yes I am home, or else I wouldn’t have picked up, But who are you?” All I heard from the other end after that was “ OK IM COMING". Unknowing who it was or anything, I thought it must be one of my friends. After a while, I heard a doorbell ring. I stood up and went to the window to check who it was. It was my friend Charles. I was relieved to find out it wasn't some stranger who called earlier and is trying to get in. So I went downstairs to open the door. As I was walking down, the doorbell rang again and I shouted, "Hey hold on! I'm coming." I opened the door and I said, “Hey Man, what's up?” He did not utter a single word that moment. He just walked in and went right upstairs to my room.

That day, Charles was different. He wasn’t the Charles I know. He was quiet and looked fixated on a single place. He wasn't talking much. And it made me more curious cause the Charles I know is pretty talkative, always talking about girls, about going to a club or something like that. So I asked him “ Hey What happened? All good ?” He looked at me, No to be more accurate, he actually stared at me but that stare was different. It was more like he was looking through me like Im completely transparent to his eyes. He then answered in one word “Yes.” I was like Okay... It was awkward to ask again but out of curiosity, I decided to ask him again “What's wrong with you today? Why are you acting so indifferent” Then he replied, “Nothing. What are you doing?”.. Then I said “Just making notes, the deadline is tomorrow so need to get over it soon” He then said “Okay Continue” and walked towards the window at the end of my room.

I was a little worried about him and his behavior. At first, I thought maybe he had some issues with his girlfriend but that can’t be the case cause if it was, then I'm the first person he’d talk to. And besides that, I don't see any other reasons why would he act so indifferent. As I was writing, my mind couldn’t stop thinking about Charles's behavior. So I turned back to speak to him, but When I turned back Charles was already standing right behind me. Just a few inches away. It startled me a bit and I yelled at him “ WTF man, you can’t be creeping on me like that” He then said “ Sorry” and moved away. By this time, I was starting to creep out, I had a fear inside of me. Cause I have no clue who he was. He looked like Charles, dressed like Charles but It wasn’t him. It was something or someone else disguised as Charles. I was completely out of focus on my writing. My back started to sweat, and my feets started to shiver. I was completely clueless about everything happening around me. The music seemed to have faded away and eventually, everything went blank. That is when Charles put his arms around me and said “All Good?” I was startled at first but then I decided to act like nothing happened. “ Yep, All good, I'm just tired that’s all. By the way, you want to cup of tea?” I said and, he replied “Sure", so I went downstairs to the Kitchen and made a cup of tea for him and myself. Then I came up the stairs to my room, and that is when I noticed something unusual. He was staring at the ceiling and he was murmuring to himself. I don’t know who or what he was talking to but he was talking to someone. I acted like I did not see anything and I said “Hey, here’s your tea” He then looked at me, stared at me for a while, and grabbed the cup. He then sat on the single sofa by the side of the window, Took a sip, and placed the cup on the handrest of the sofa, and stared at the mirror that was hanging on the wall of the opposite side of the sofa. I sat on my chair, acting all cool and normal, and went on writing my notes. 10-15 mins passed by and I was so focused on the writing that I forgot the existence of Charles in my room. That is when the phone rang again in my uncle’s room. Then boom, all those that I had forgotten rushed back to my mind again. I looked back and noticed Charles looking out of the window again. I told Charles “Hey man, I have got a call. Just stay here while I pick it up” So I went to my uncle’s room and picked up the call and I said “Hello.” and then someone from the other end shouted “ Hey man, what’s up, I have been trying to call you for hours but your number was busy” And I said “Who is this?” then the reply I heard afterward brought Chills down the veins of my body, I froze like a dead body. My heartbeat was fast-paced. The guy on the phone said “ It’s Charles, did you forget how I sound now? What happened to you bud” Then I said “I'm okay, what's up” Then Charles replied “ First you gotta fix that old ass phone dude, I have been trying to reach you but I don’t know what was happening, Someone picks up the call, but speaks nothing, and sometimes tt’s just those static noises. Anyways Just called to say that I'm coming to your place to get the notes.” At That moment all I was able to say was “ OKAY”

Charles then hung up the call.

Up until now, I was not sure if the person in my room was Charles or not, But now everything became pretty clear to me, whoever was in my room, Wasn’t Charles. Maybe he was someone else that looked like Charles or maybe he was someone from another dimension, maybe he was a spirit or ghost or maybe I was just hallucinating. My thought process went haywire. I was even scared to leave the room. But I know I had to face it, so I gathered all my guts, I took a long deep breath, calmed myself, and went back to my room but there was no one to be found anywhere. The music was playing as it should. Birds are chirping as they should. I rushed down the stair to check the entrance and exit door but it was locked from inside. I checked the kitchen everything seemed normal. I was nervous. I was scared and I was completely clueless. I could barely process my brain about the situations that I faced. Then I grabbed the glass in the kitchen, went to the sink, and filled the glass with cold water. Afterward, I went to the living room and, I sat on the sofa. My hands were shivering while holding the glass, I drank the water and calmed myself. I rubbed my face and my eyes with my hands. After a minute or so I realized something. I remembered giving him the tea. That was the only way to make sure Someone was here. I remember pretty well he took the cup of tea and sat on the single sofa that was in my room. I remember vividly he did take a few sips from the cup of tea. So I rushed back into my room. And went straight to the sofa where he had placed the cup. I was shocked to see, the cup is still full. The hot tea had become cold. The cup was right at the handrest where he had placed it earlier. This made it obvious someone was with me.

After a while, I heard a doorbell ring again. This time it was my friend Charles, the Actual Charles. No sooner he entered the house, He said “ Man, I have got so much to tell you, I Went out with this girl…… Blah blah." My friend was telling his story but my mind was completely somewhere else. Then we went upstairs to my room. Charles then asked me “ Hey was anyone else here?” to which I responded “ Why’d you ask?” then he said “ There's two cups of tea, One on your study desk and the other on the sofa. Did you bring any girls hmmm you Naughty Boy?’ But I was in no mood to joke around or pull the rubber chicken out of my butt. So I told him. “Nah it's for me as well, just forgot to drink, that's all.” After a while, I finished my note and gave it to Charles. He took the note and asked, "What's wrong, you seem tensed today? Something happened?" Well, whatever happened, I did not feel like telling Charles, So I just said " Everything is fine, I am just exhausted after writing so much." After a while, Charles left.

That night I had a pretty hard time sleeping. It's not like I was harmed in any way but I just couldn’t stop thinking about who it was or what was the purpose of his visit. He did nothing wrong. He just came, stayed for a while and he disappeared.

So yeah that’s what happened to me. And It’s been 10 years now. I still think of that day. I still wonder who it was. I don’t know how he found me and what his intentions towards me were. But Whoever it was, It spoke to me. Though he spoke to me with a word or two, at least he did, he visited me, accepted the tea I made for him and he just left as he came. And since that day I call him

“MY FRIEND FROM ANOTHER DIMENSION”

supernaturalpsychological
1

About the Creator

Anup Shrestha

Writer/Blogger. I like to write about my & others real-life event in the form of a story. At times it could be something scary, sometimes about love, sometimes finance,& sometimes spiritual. I assure you, you'll find something you'd like.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.