Horror logo

My Demon Tried Killing Me Again

A Lost Stories Short Story

By Max M PowerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Book in progress

My demon tried killing me again last night. For some reason I was at a train station, waiting to depart LaLa Land, as I call it. I took my seat and off we went, through the wall of Reality, but after breaking through the haze I was back in the parking lot, trying to get back inside the train station.

This continued over and over, riding off through the wall, only to end up outside the train station. Each time it happened I felt more confused and scared than the time before. The air was cold and reeked of fear. A dark cloud of anger hovered over the station.

Each time I walked back through the doors, the people in the station were becoming clearer. They were members of my family, each one giving me a look of utter disgust; ready to lash out at me and rip me limb from limb.

Each time I walked back into the station a new family member would appear, adding to the negativity, their anger crushing my chest like a soda can in their hands. Meer whispers escaping their lips, unheard by me but sharp enough to quickly cut as I passed by.

The more family members that joined, the louder they became, and I could finally hear their whispers calling for my death. Those that were closest to me in life were telling me the loudest that I should just die already. Everyone’s life would be better off if I went through that haze and never returned. Each time I returned I could see disappointment and anger; clearly visible in their eyes.

It was so overwhelming the last time I walked into the station that I ran straight for the platform to depart through the haze once more, hoping, begging, pleading with any God who would listen that this would be the last time. On the tracks, I could see my youngest niece, swirling as she danced in her white dress with the pink bow, without a care in the world. I smiled, finally, a family member not wishing me dead.

I called out to her, and as in life, she did not head my calls. I could see a light coming toward her and I called for her to get off the tracks, my words falling on the deaf ears of a child. I moved to pull her to safety and she pushed to escape my arms.

“You’re going to die,” is all I heard her say before everything went dark.

I looked to the ceiling above me and could see a face with large black glasses staring back at me. Its mouth wide open, as if laughing, but no sound coming forward. The face came into focus and I could see the face of my daughter’s stuffed Bugs Bunny with the overly huge glasses.

“Scream,” it demanded, without warning, in a dark cold voice.

I complied.

“Scream,” it demanded louder, harsher.

Again I complied, as my heart began to beat faster, an invisible hand pulling it slowly out of my chest.

“SCREAM,” its eyes turning blood red, telling me I was about to die.

I complied once more as my body was being shaken. Light began to break through the darkness and I could see the world around me coming into focus. I was awake, fully awake, yet my body was still immobile, frozen from fear, my heart pounding so hard it was cracking my ribs.

“SCREAM,” came the voice one last time as I looked up into the ceiling and seen the face laughing before flying off into the corner, disappearing up into drywall.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Max M Power

My name is Max M. Power and I am a Storyteller.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.