Horror logo

My Apologies

A Confession

By Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath BooksPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
2
My Apologies
Photo by Andrea Greenway on Unsplash

Dear Members of this Forum,

I'm John, and I'm writing this letter to apologize to all of you for the actions of my wife. You see, I've recently found out that my wife is a vampire—the vampire that's been plaguing this community for years and the reason so many of your loved ones disappeared without a trace. I loved her with all my heart, and I thought she was the most amazing wife and partner anyone could ever have. I never even suspected that she was a monster.

It all started when I stumbled upon her diary, where she detailed her nightly feeding excursions. I couldn't believe what I was reading. She wrote over and over again about how much she enjoyed the thrill of keeping it a secret from me, who she viewed as nothing more than a pet and an alibi. I loved her with every fiber of my being, and I was never her partner; I was only a pawn. I felt like my whole world had come crashing down on me. I was living with a monster, and I had no idea.

I did what I believed was the right thing to do. I followed her to her nest and watched her disappear into a tunnel under the decrepit barn. While she was underground, found all sorts of evidence of her evil deeds and her sadistic revelry in them. There were printouts from this forum, with notes about how long each victim referenced here survived her feeding on them, slowly and repeatedly for months—sometimes for years.

She used this information to decide which of the survivors she would target next, so many of you have lost more friends than you know. I found a large trunk filled with the driver's licenses of hundreds of victims and antique knickknacks from countless more. It made me sick to my stomach.

I had to act fast to stop her from hurting anyone else. So, when she came back up from her dungeon, I slayed the monster that was my wife. It was the hardest thing I've ever done, but I knew it was the only way to stop her from hurting anyone else. I was too late to save the poor soul she was draining down below, but she won't be taking any more replacements.

Now, I'm on a mission to hunt down every last vampire in existence to make sure this never happens to anyone else. But before I go, I wanted to reach out to all of you and offer my sincere apologies. I had no idea what my wife was capable of, and I'm truly sorry for any pain and suffering she may have caused to you and your loved ones. I understand that nothing I can say or do will bring back the lives that she took, but I want to make sure that justice is served.

That's why I'm inviting you to join me on my quest for righteous vengeance. We can meet at the nest, which is located on the dirt road in the woods off Highway A, between the river and the old Mitchum farmhouse. Keep driving until you get to an old red barn that looks like it's about to collapse in a pile of mold and splinters.

I'm hoping that together, we can sort through the trophies of her depravity and find your loved one's property. Then, we put an end to this nightmare once and for all. Again, I'm sorry for what my wife has done, and I hope that we can work together to bring justice to those who have been hurt this way. I'll be waiting for you at the nest.

Sincerely,

John

monster
2

About the Creator

Michelle Truman | Prose and Puns | Noyath Books

I fell in love with speculative fiction and poetry many years ago, but I have precious little time to write any. It was high time I started making Prose and Puns a priority, starting with Purple Poetry, Auqredis, and the World of Noyath.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.