Horror logo

Muffin Man

Short story Mystery,thriller with acts of violence.placement of story is a women's prison.

By Mr.ForgottenPublished 19 days ago 7 min read
Like

Once a week the Saints Anders womens prison gives a muffin to the inmates.well that is if there aren’t any incidents that whole week.eight years I’ve been stuck in this concrete block.yet I had never heard of the muffin man.That’s what we call him or her fuck could be a god damn gremlin for all we know.No one has ever seen them.Atleast not any of us helpers.I still remember how I got dragged into all this.

I just wanted to eat that damn muffin they gave me.

I took a bite only to find not a nut or chocolate chip but some peace of paper.Folded up I was so confused.I realized it had writing on it.”since when did they start putting forcense in muffins fucken world out there is getten weird”.opening it up to read.”Hello Ms. Mury I’d like you to talk with Ms. Sendra Cluegs in cell block B she will tell you all your need to know about me three hundred and fifty dollars in your Commissary once completed”.What the hell is this why is my name on it.Someone most be fucking with me.I don’t know a Sendra what is all this about.I don’t know who would try to mess with me like this.The fuck is the point of this note.

I wouldn’t know till the next day.

Spending most of the night thinking about this.Thinking It must be some way to get me alone.My celly Jena was fast asleep one we got back after dinner.She’s a heavy sleeper couldn’t wake her even if I started to smack her to wake her up.I’ve tried.Eventually I fall asleep to wake up at roll call.I went to Jena with it at breakfast.She was talking with Joey.It’s stranger they don’t talk with each other much.They don’t hate each other but there not friends like that.I set down with them holding the paper in my hand.”So I found this in my muffin yesterday”.They stopped talking.Joey spoke first “Your the new helper we were wondering who it was going to be”.Jena”It makes since it would be you he choose to replays number two”.what are you talking about new helper are you two the ones behind this weird joke.

This Ain't no joke Mury what did the he ask you to do?It said to talk to someone named Sendra.So what the hells going on what is this?looking back at the paper in my hand, three hundred and fifty.That much well I guess that makes sense.Yeah your the new helper aft.”what the hell are you two talking about?shh quiet haven’t you talked to sendra yet?No why would I to talk to someone I’ve never met before?All just because a paper in a muffin said so are you stupid?You Don’t you know anything about the Muffin man.You need to see sendra before she comes for you.She’s probably waiting for you.No so what’s going on who is the Muffin Man?Who well we don’t know no one does.We can’t tell you who they are because no one know they communicate with us by the weekly muffin.Yeah that’s why all of us helpers call him the Muffin Man.

We don’t even know if it’s a man,women if it’s one guy or a whole group.So yeah that’s all we know about him or they are.They pay really well and it’s for not much most of the time.It’s three hundred and fifty to talk but I don’t get it what’s the poi.wait talk.Talk to who he doesn’t have us talk to Jessica.Who’s Jessica it says to talk to someone named Sendra who are they.

She’s number One the first helper and most likely waiting for you right now.There’s a resin you were told to talk to her.she’ll tell you everything you need to know.why can’t you just tell me?What do you not want some money or something Mur?.No I want the money I just don’t know Sendra.How come sendra is the one I have to talk to.who do you two know so much about all this?I’ve been here for over eight years how come I’ve never heard of this Muffin man you keep talking about?

Look, the Muffin Man isn’t something we talk about to everyone.He’s a secret.The only resin were talking to you right now is that your number twos replacement.With the paper to prove it.If anyone like the guards find out no more Muffins.Which means no more help or money from the Muffin Man.so we don’t talk about the Muffin Man not even among the other helpers not without Sendra’s permission.Were not really even suppose to talk to you about anything without her.why and what do you two mean number two’s replacement.Look were going to see Sendra tomorrow alongside three as planned.Right now once breakfast ends were come with you to see her.She’s most likely waiting for you in the yard.

As we walk to the yard after leaving the mess hall I make sure to ask Joey what Sendra looks like.I want to know if I’ve seen her before like maybe on the yard?Most likely she’s always sits on the south side looking at the fence.It’s creepy as fuck I asked her what she was doing once all she said was I’m watching the game.What game I don’t get it there is nothing but dirt and nothing else for miles.she’s just staring at the gate like the psycho she is.she’s not that bad.she is letterly a serial killer who stairs at a gate calling it a game.yeah well she’s number one for a resin.It’s cause she is a crazy and here for life.You know what happed that time three break one of the rule.Pissing off one fuck that I’d rather spit on the Warden.what rules are you two talking about?

I walked with them to the yard.We didn’t say anything the rest of the way.I’ve known Jena since my last cellmate got out three years ago.Unlike Joey I meet her a month after I got to Saint Anders.All these year and not a single word about a Muffin Man.Well waiting for permission to enter the yard.These thought goes through mind year with me and not a word.After a pat down the gate to the yard opens.Well?I ask them.Joey speaks first”We didn’t know it but it was you”.There had to be a new helper to replays two our muffins this week told us one was chosen.But not who.Jena was next”It’s not easy one a replacement happens if there we to tell the guard or inmates”.There would be a problem for all of us like what you almost did but luckily you told us.If sendra found out that someone told.Joey “she’d would kill you”.

Realizing what I almost did gave me I since there may have been a resin they hid this secret so well.Not just for greed but to keep both me and them safe.Sendra well tell you everything we can’t shes right over there.I follow joey’s gaze.she is looking at an old lady sitting on the ground staring at the gate.

Nothing but desert beyond that gate.Well let’s go she has been waiting long enough for you.Joey leads the way.Well I follow Joey Jena walks behind me I think she's hiding.”Hey sendra this is Mury as you most likely know I think you two have a lot to talk about”.Sit”.Okay so I guess we ca.”No you leave and take five with you well you”.looking at me”Sit”.

Joey and Jena turn to leave me alone with this crazy old lady I’ve never met before.Wait where are you to going.We have to go but will be waiting over by the court tell you finish your talk with One.Jena speaks from behind Joey “Don’t worry we won’t be that far away”.where talk again soon after all we are four and five.Joey and Jena turn and walk away to the court.Scared and confused I just stand there watching them leave.They left me with this crazy bitch they kept telling me was dangerous and a killer.The so called number one how may or not be a serial killer.Sendra bring me back to reality.Sit.We need to talk and I won’t repeat myself.I look away from the two bitches that left me to die to Sendra.

Not haven a choice I sit down a foot away from her.”Don’t look at me anywhere else”.Not saying a word but remember what Jena said earlier I turn to look at the fence.”Good so the Muffin Man wants me to welcome you to the group”.What is going on who is the Muffin Man?What do Joey and Jena have to do with it and who are you to the Muffin Man?First things first no one knows about the Muffin Man so not a word to anyone that’s rule one.Second is there is only five helpers no more or less.You are number two’s replacement.I am number one your friend and cellmate are five and four.Number three you will meet soon.My job this time is to make sure you hear the stories of the helpers.Stories what stor.The ones of the helpers each time a helper gets replaced they have to listen to there stories.This is so you know what the helpers are required of them.As you know Saints Anders prison has its rewards for good behavior.

The weekly Muffin Man as you know is one of them.This is the only way the Muffin Man can communicate with the helpers.Most likely because you already know four and five he chose you to replace number two.What happened to her?She was released and that’s all you need to know about her.Now Helper get request from the Muffin Man once it been done you will be paid.The money written with the request will be put were he says this can be to your family,bank,or most likely to commissary.That’s rule three.

The money will be in your commissary tomorrow.After you confirm that you will meet number five in the bathroom ner commissary.You will not walk in with her she will be waiting for you.Five will be in stole three we can’t be seen talking to each other.Go into stole number two that is your new request.she will tell you her story you are not to talk about the Muffin Man unless he request it.If I find out that you have talk about the Muffin Man with anyone.Will Five got her number because the least number five tried to speak with two before she know that she had a number.

To be Continued

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Mr.Forgotten

scary stories written by Mr.forgotten told by the been who calls itself Night Teller parts of chapter and short stories posted here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.