Horror logo

Mirrored

A simple mirror. An elaborate trap.

By Rebecca HackneyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own. I screamed but no sound came out. I turned around but no one was there. Shaking off what I assumed was sleep deprivation I finished getting ready for the day.

A couple hours later I went back to the mirror and this time the reflection was mine. I let out a sigh and went back to what I was doing. Thinking what I saw earlier was indeed from lack of sleep I didn’t let it bother me anymore. Not until I saw it a few days later.

Not to be confused with me just thinking my reflection was playing tricks on me I looked closer. The reflection truly wasn’t mine. The man staring back at me was dark haired with green eyes and I had blonde hair and blue eyes plus I was a woman.

I started getting scared again. How was this happening? Why was the reflection different? Who was this man and why was he in my mirror? Thinking I might be losing my mind I called out to my roommate.

“Claire! Come here, quick!”

“What’s the matter?” Claire asked out of breath from running up the stairs.

“Look in the mirror. What do you see?”

“Um… My face. Are you okay?” Claire asked.

“Yes but I swear I saw a man’s reflection instead of my own.”

“Girl you need more rest. You are working too hard.” Claire said with a chuckle.

Maybe Claire was right. Maybe I did need some rest.

The next few days went by without any strange reflections appearing in the mirror. Thinking I was done with that illusion I went about my life. Then one night he was back. I tried talking to him but I couldn’t hear him. So I grabbed a dry erase marker and wrote on the mirror asking him who he was and how he was in the mirror. His replies were backwards which I should have realized because it was a mirror. We got to talking though and found out we had a lot in common. He didn’t say why he was in the mirror and assumed it was an alternate reality sort of thing. We agreed that we were brought together for a reason. That was why I was the only one that could see him on my side and he was the only one who could see me on his side. I admit I got a little obsessed with the mirror. I like talking to the man. My roommate was concerned I was loosing my mind but I assured her I wasn’t. She didn’t believe me though. She called doctors and a so called intervention.

“I’m not crazy, Claire. You are the one telling me alternate realities exist and here we have proof of one and you don’t believe me.”

“No one is there. No matter how many times you tried to show me the so called man and he isn’t there. If it was a true alternate reality other people would be able to see him or it. I’m worried about you.”

“I’m fine! Just let me be!”

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own. It was a welcoming sight though, to be able to see a friend. I smiled at the man smiling back at me and we started our conversation where we left off. The world around us faded like it always did because it wasn’t real. This was real. I reached towards the mirror as the man did, our hands gripping each others as we were pulled into another world.

“Any change doctor?” Claire asked.

“No, I’m sorry to say your friend is in a delusional state. The only thing that brings her peace of mind is sitting in front of that mirror and pretending that someone is on the other side.”

Claire looked at her friend and the mirror. Claire smiled at the fact the mirror took another victim. Good, she thought, it was doing its job.

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca Hackney

Love writing and taking readers on a journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Rebecca Hackney is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.