Horror logo

Mirror on the Wall

By Panda of Pandemonium

By Panda of PandemoniumPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Mirror on the Wall
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. I stared at the stranger before me, trying to make sense of what I was seeing. The face that stared back at me was older, wearier, and somehow sadder than my own. It was as though I was looking at a version of myself from another time, or perhaps another universe altogether.

I was transfixed, unable to look away from the mirror. It was like a portal to another world, one that was just out of reach but tantalizingly close. As I continued to stare, the reflection began to shift and change, and I saw glimpses of other people, other places. It was like watching a movie that I couldn't turn off.

At first, I was fascinated by the mirror and the strange world it revealed. I spent hours staring into it, trying to learn more about this alternate reality. But as time went on, I began to notice something strange happening. The mirror seemed to be bleeding into my world. Small, subtle differences at first - a piece of furniture that wasn't there before, a book that I didn't remember buying - but soon the changes became more noticeable.

I tried to ignore it, to go about my day-to-day life as though nothing was happening. But it was impossible. Everywhere I looked, I saw glimpses of this other reality bleeding into my own. It was like a cancer, slowly spreading and consuming everything in its path.

One day, I woke up to find that my apartment was completely different. The walls were a different color, the furniture was all rearranged, and there were strange objects scattered around the room. At first, I thought I must have been sleepwalking, but as I looked around, I realized that everything was just a little too perfect. It was as though someone had carefully curated this new space to be exactly what I needed.

I couldn't help but feel uneasy, and I found myself drawn back to the mirror. The reflection that stared back at me was different again. This time, the face was younger, more vibrant, and yet somehow more sinister. I felt a shiver run down my spine as I realized that this new reality was not the one I wanted to be a part of.

I tried to avoid the mirror, but it seemed to follow me wherever I went. Everywhere I looked, I saw glimpses of this alternate reality bleeding into my own. It was as though the mirror had taken on a life of its own, and it was determined to merge our worlds together.

As the days went on, the changes became more drastic. I started to see people and places that I knew didn't exist in my world, and I could feel my grip on reality slipping away. I knew that I needed to destroy the mirror before it was too late, but I couldn't bring myself to do it. Part of me was still fascinated by the strange world it revealed, even as it threatened to consume me.

It was only when I realized that I was no longer alone in this alternate reality that I knew I had to act. I had been living in a world of my own creation, but now there were others here too. Others who were not as benevolent as the strange force that had curated my new apartment.

I remember the first time I saw her. She was standing in the hallway, watching me with cold, calculating eyes. She was beautiful, in a way, but there was something off about her. Something that made my skin crawl. I knew immediately that she was not from my world.

At first, I tried to avoid her. I stayed in my apartment as much as possible, only venturing out when I absolutely had to. But she was always there, lurking in the shadows, waiting for me. And eventually, I realized that I couldn't keep running forever. I had to confront her, and the mirror, if I wanted any chance of saving myself and my world.

I set out to find the mirror, determined to destroy it once and for all. The journey was perilous, filled with dangers and obstacles that I had never encountered before. But I was fueled by a fierce determination, a burning desire to protect what was mine.

When I finally found the mirror, it was unlike anything I had ever seen before. It was no longer just a reflection, but a living, breathing entity. It pulsed with a dark energy, and I could feel it drawing me in. But I stood my ground, and I raised my hand to strike.

Before I could destroy the mirror, however, the woman appeared again. She stepped out of the shadows, a smile on her face that made my blood run cold.

"Don't do it," she said. "Don't destroy what you've created. Embrace it. Embrace me."

I shook my head, backing away from her.

"I won't let you destroy my world," I said. "I won't let you take everything away from me."

She laughed, a cold, cruel sound.

"You think this is your world? You think you have any control over it? You're just a pawn in a game you can't even begin to comprehend."

I raised my hand again, determined to strike. But before I could, the mirror began to glow with a blinding light. I felt myself being pulled towards it, as though I was being sucked into another dimension.

The woman laughed again, and I knew that I had been defeated. I closed my eyes, bracing for impact. But when I opened them again, I was standing in my own apartment. Everything was back to normal - the walls were the right color, the furniture was in the right place, and there were no strange objects littering the floor.

I turned to look at the mirror, half expecting to see the woman there, but it was just a regular mirror. I stared at my own reflection, still trying to make sense of what had just happened. Had it all been a dream? A hallucination?

I may never know for sure. But one thing is certain - the mirror showed me a world that was not my own, and it nearly consumed me. I will never forget the terror that I felt, or the overwhelming sense of relief when I returned to my own reality. And I will never forget the woman who tried to destroy me, or the mirror that brought her into my life.

In the end, I am left with more questions than answers. Was the woman real, or just a figment of my imagination? Was the mirror truly haunted, or was it just a trick of the light?

They say the eyes are the keys to the soul. If thats the case isnt a mirror the doorway for one to see inside themselves….?

psychological
Like

About the Creator

Panda of Pandemonium

Embark on a thrilling adventure through the vibrant worlds Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Poetry.

Immerse yourself in our captivating storytelling, mesmerizing artistry, and transformative emotional experiences.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.