Horror logo

Mirror mirror

Who’s the wickedest of them all?

By Jessica TaylorPublished about a year ago 11 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn’t my own.

My raven hair was turned golden in this mirror. My sharp nose now reflected a pixie and my dark dry lips were softened with a dewy rose’ pigment. Whoever that was in the mirror, she was a goddess compared to me. This made my skin hot and my blood boil. As my rage built up I punched the reflection with both my fists. Although the image turned slightly frightened, the glass remained intact. As I was about to curse the forsaken mirror, a voice came from downstairs. “Honey it’s time for school” a docile voice echoed. Still fuming I caught my breath and grabbed my bag.

It was a chilling October day, crows screamed and the autumn colored leaves crackled under my boots as I walked to school. The scattered sun bothered my soulless eyes. Who did that reflection think she is? Better than me? Prettier than me? I huffed and puffed all the way to the front entrance. Something was different, I just couldn’t put my finger on what it was. Spider webs and monsters covered the hallways. It reeked of insecurity and entitlement. Rich kids and jocks mocked the goths. Yet to my surprise they all waved to me. I felt included and wanted…a new and intoxicating sensation ran through my veins. One brown eyed girl who was skinny, blonde and big chested, even invited me to her Halloween bash. How could I resist?

After the most boring class in the history of forever, I had the oddest craving for meat. I went to the nearest deli to appease my appetite. As I walked into the foggy glass door it squeaked and moaned like it hadn't been opened in centuries. Standing behind a dimly lit countertop was a beastly man in a disheveled white apron covered in blood. The aroma was delicious. He offered me a discount due to my pretty face and golden hair he said. At first I grunted thinking he was teasing me but when my enormous order turned out to be just $6.66 I started to believe his compliment. After sucking it all down, I went to the Spirit of Halloween right next to the CVS on the corner. How does one choose a costume when there are thousands of options? I felt drawn to the horror section but as I was shuffling through the clothes, a newly familiar hand grasped my shoulder. Turning around, like the exorcist, I made the skinny blonde girl jump. “Woah Brit, relax it’s just me, don’t be such a scaredy cat” she uncomfortably joked. “It’s not nice to sneak up on people'' I told her with a devilish grin. “Come on, we’re going to the slutty section” she grabbed my hand and dragged me to the “slutty” section. I have never felt sexy until today. After trying on a few different looks she decided that we looked the sexiest as lingerie wearing witches. She was so adamant about us looking good for her party that I just couldn’t refuse. So we bought our costumes and went out for a drink. It was hauntingly dark out now and the cool breeze turned to wailing winds. Walking to the nearest bar felt like a walk through purgatory. Finally we reached a pub that stunk of sweat, old wood, bad decisions and bleach.

“Hey Tina” said the hottest bartender I’ve ever seen. He had slicked back auburn hair, tattoos up and down his sleeves, a crooked smile and a wicked accent. Towering over us he looked me up and down as if I was a meal and said “Good to see you Brittany” while winking my way. I wanted to ravish him like a hungry wolf. “What can I get you beautiful lasses?” Tina ordered a cosmopolitan and I got a Bloody Mary. “Really Brit, it’s not brunch time” Tina taunted. I didn’t care, it’s the only drink that I was thirsty for. Tina then thanked Tom for bringing over our drinks and invited him to her party this halloweekend. “I’ll be there if Brittany is” he said while staring deep into my eyes. “Oh I’ll be there” I said without hesitation. He shrugged his broad shoulders and stated “Then so will I.” He turned to Tina “It better be scary” he chuckled and she assured him it would be. He laughed “Good you know I love Halloween…and blondes”. While Tina continued to ramble on and on about herself, the knife on the table caught my attention. The silver was almost rusted yet the blade was extremely sharp. My mind finally snapped back to reality, leaving me feeling electrified and ravenous.

I was on such a high walking home that I almost forgot about the reflection in the attic. I figured not even she could sour my mood. Creeping past the old church, I swore I could hear the mighty stone gargoyles roaring at me. It’s just the wind I told myself and picked up my pace. Finally, I made it home and a little out of breath. I opened the double doors to the house while admiring my blood red nails. Nothing could ruin my plans. Avoiding the attic, I locked myself in my room and brought out the tarot cards. As the storm rumbled on outside I sat on the bedroom floor and shuffled a spread of 3 cards. The first pull got interrupted by an explosive crash of thunder. It ratteled my bones. The first card was the 6 of swords, depressing and disaster. As I was going for the next card the lights started to flicker. So I decided to grab some candles just incase there was a power outage. The storm outside ragged on and the rain sounded like bullets hitting this old manor. As I finished lighting the last candle, the earth shook from a rather too close lightning strike. And just like that the room went dark. Continuing my reading I pulled the next card. It so happened to be the Devil who was illuminated by dancing fire light. He reminded me of an ex boyfriend. Taking it in I laughed and began to pull the last card. As I picked up the deck a card fell out and I decided that would be it. So I turned it over slowly and cautiously. The final card was Death. I felt a chill down my spine and in an instant the candles blew out. I was alone in the darkness. Or so I thought.

Tonight was the night of All Hallows Eve. The time where the veil between worlds was thin and anything was possible. All around town were decorations of wicked jack-o’-lanterns, ghosts, witches, broomsticks, monsters and lots of blood. I enjoyed every minute of the spookiness. I felt right at home. Tina called me about 666 times to make sure I was ready for her party. I assured her everything was going to plan. My outfit was ready and so was I. Thoughts of sinking my teeth and nails into Tom clouded my mind. I wondered what he'd show up as, since costumes were a requirement. Tina was very demanding, she would be a great dominatrix I thought to myself. I grabbed the last party essentials from the store and made my way home.

Thousands of children filled the streets, it made me sick. Avoiding as many little humans as possible I sprinted home. The manor didn’t need any decorations, it was creepy all on its own. There were faint shadows of towering trees outside the entrance. The dusty stained glass on the top floor was dark and untouched. The porch was large but creaked with every step. Wind chimes screamed with every breeze. The double thick mahogany doors looked like the entrance to Hell. Although it was a very old manor, no other house on the block compared; in looks or price. As I turned the unpolished knob, to run up the stairs, my mother stopped me in my tracks. “Honey, did you try to get into the attic again? Specifically after I told you not to?” She said with a deathly undertone. “No mom, not a chance” I lied. “I’ve told you a thousand times Brittany that the attic is old and yucky and probably has mold and ghosts up there” she warned, trying to scare me. Little did she know, it would take a lot more than that to frighten me. “I KNOWwWw MOM”, I said in the most obnoxious bratty girl way. “I can’t talk, I have to get ready for Tina’s party” I said. She’ll never know my little secret. My mom rolled her eyes and told me that her and dad would be staying the night with their friends. “Don’t wait up” she squeaked. So I have the whole manor to myself…jackpot! I ran up the winding staircase and started to get changed. The black outfit was tighter than I remembered.

There was something sinister in the air tonight. I don’t remember ever being excited for a party before…or even being invited to one. I squeezed into my costume and made my way to Tinas. As I walked I felt eyes on me through the darkness but I was not afraid. Let the monsters watch, for I was certain they would never attack. They wouldn't be that stupid, especially on a night like tonight. As I stared up at Tina's pristine mansion, I felt a grumbling feeling in my stomach. The music was so loud my ears could’ve bled. There was a smoke machine giving the house an eerie cloud all around it. I must’ve swatted a thousand spiderwebs before I reached the main living room; which they turned into a movie set haunted house. Not one inch was not decorated to the finest and most goriest details. Making my way around the graves she put everywhere, I finally made it to the alcohol. Blood rum punch, although it was good, I was thirsty for something more. Suddenly I felt a rather large hand caress my lower back. “Wow lass your looking sexy” Tom said dressed in a lame vampire costume. He had fake blood running down his neck onto his crisp white satin shirt. Although his costume is extremely boring and generic, nevertheless I wanted to sink my teeth into him.

This party is chaos. Too many drunk people dressed in ridiculous costumes trying to make small talk. I loath it. Tina makes an entrance with sparklers pretending that there magic wands. She pranced over to me and declared “This is the party of the century!”. Not exactly how I’d put it but I nodded anyways. This stupid outfit was too tight and the music was dreadful. The strobe lights were blinding and the smell of horny teenagers made me want to gag. Every time I turned around someone new bumped into me. It was starting to drive me mad. Enough I thought, I have to get out of here before I commit mass murder. Before I made my exit, I walked up to Tom and put my hands on his chest. “Let's get out of here. No one’s home at my house”, I whispered sensually in his ear. He followed without hesitation. Turning to the door, out of the darkness, Tina drunkenly grabbed my arm. “Where do you think you're going w(b)itch?”. I spun around and glared at her. Freightened, she immediately backed away.

The manor was empty, pitch black and quiet. I led him up the winding staircase, past my bedroom and up to the attic. For a big Scottish man he was pretty skiddish. Looking over his shoulder, I teased “looking for monsters, demons, ghouls?”. He shot back at me with whiskey on his breath “only to protect you”. I huffed, little did he know I needed no protection. Prying the arched attic door open, we stumbled our way inside the dusty room. Inside were high mahogany ceilings, stained glass windows, trunks, an old fashion lamp, a king bed, antique chairs and a gold encrusted mirror. I threw him onto the old squeaky bed, looked over my shoulder and gave the wickedest smile to the blonde in the mirror.

She banged and screamed but no one could hear her. I got on top of the Scottish bloke, pinned him down and sucked out his soul. He hadn’t the faintest idea what was happening. He screamed but I couldn’t stop; the taste of his soul was intoxicating. It was a mix of whiskey and confidence. With each breath I saw the light in his eyes grow dim, his once powered pink luscious lips turned colorless and frail. His smile faded and his auburn hair turned white. With soul essence dripping down my lips, under me his limp body began to crumble and turn to ash. Wiping my mouth with my blood soaked nails and pushing the obsidian hair out of my face, I crawled off the bed and cackled. Turning to the mirror I said “I always knew you were a man eater Brittany”.

“Do you know how many more souls I’ll get looking like you? Stupid girl, you should’ve never looked in the mirror. Now you’ll be there for all eternity and I will be free. I almost thought I was you. Almost forgot what I was. But my true nature couldn’t be contained. Now everything you thought was yours, is mine. Your soul belongs to me. Your name belongs to me. Your face belongs to me. I am now more wicked than ever. You should’ve listened to your mommy. You should’ve never looked in the mirror. You let out the demon".

Dark smoke covered the room. The candles lit up, the floor boards rumbled and the shadows sinned with me. My burning red eyes screamed something sinister. I wondered what my next meal would be.

supernaturalhalloween
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Taylor

I write what my soul whispers to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.