Horror logo

Loop

Right place right time

By Antonease PoindexterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Loop
Photo by Breno Machado on Unsplash

Hey sir! Are you okay? Sir? I bent down to shake him, hoping he was just asleep. There was no movement. I check for a pulse and finding none. Oh shit he’s dead! I stand up and take two steps back tripping over something heavy and falling to the ground.

I look over and there’s a black bag slightly open laying a little ways away from the body. I look around and there is no one in sight.

I crawl towards the bag, maybe there’s some sort of ID for this man. I pull the bag open, it reeks of piss. I cover my mouth and nose with one hand as I continue to peek inside. Seeing the hint of green paper I close the bag grab it close to me and take off running towards my vehicle. Almost slipping on the wet pavement.

I jump into my car throw the bag in the passenger seat and drive off as fast as I can while the rain continues to pour.

Nervous and paranoid that someone may be following me I take the long way home opting for taking service roads insteas of the freeway. I pull into my garage and close it behind me. Flipping on the light in my car and reaching for the bag. The urine smell is so much stronger now that I’m in an inclosed space. I reach into the bag and pull out wads of cash just as I suspected in the alley. There was also a loaded hand gun, some white substance in little clear bags and little black notebook.

I lay my head back against the seat thinking if I should call the police. It had to have been a drug deal gone wrong right? But why’d they leave the bag behind? What if they come looking for it...looking for me?

I grab the notebook and open it up. There was a passage written on the first page that read:

How much would you charge to help your fellow man?

Is 20,000 dollars enough to help someone in need?

How about 50,000 worth of cocaine?

It could all be yours if you complete one simple step....

Resuscitate the man laying infront of you and take what you want from the bag. Steal from me and you’ll walk a mile in his shoes.... I’m watching you.

I close the notebook hands shaking I place everything back in the bag. Maybe I can take it back and forget everything that’s happened. Yea I just take it back!

Opening my garage I start to back my car out onto the street. It’s eerily quiet and empty on the street except for the noise from the rain hitting the ground. My heart is racing as I put the car in drive and head in the direction I just fled from. I can feel my heart beat in my ears and the sweat on brow.

I pull into the alley...at least I think it’s the alley, but now there’s no body on the ground. Getting out of the car I walk deeper into the alley and the body has vanished! I panic and run back to my car hitting the lock button as the door shuts. Breathing heavily and looking around for some sign of life, but the street and alley is empty.

Was the guy not actually dead? No, I checked his pulse. Did someone else come along and help him? I think to myself. I gotta get out of here, I put the car in reverse and pull out of the alley driving aimlessly with no direction. Looking at the bag in my passengers seat; taunting me.

Nervously looking around, feeling like someone is watching me. Scared to go back home, but no where else to go. Am I in danger? I try to shake the feeling, how could they know I took the bag? Or where I live? Letting out an uneasy breathe, but feeling better at the same time.

I decide to just go home and figure it all out in the morning. What’s the worst that can happen?

I head in the direction of my house, feeling less stressed the closer I get. Yea they couldn’t know it was me, there was no one around. The street was empty not even one car on the road. I open my garage and pull in closing it behind me again.

I grab the bag and all of it’s content and head into the house. I toss the bag on the table and it makes a thud sound as it lands.

I grab a glass out of the cabinet and the bourbon off of the counter. Sitting at the table I pour me a generous glass full while I take everything out of the bag again. I take a gulp of the warm liquid, as I count the money. It was $20,000. I don’t know anything about cocaine but I have a cousin that might!

I jump up and run back to the car to grab my cell phone out of the middle console and make my way back into the kitchen. I dial Martin’s number and wait for him to answer. He picks up on the third ring.

Hey, hey Martin bro are you busy right now? Naw wassup cus? Look I came across something that I need you to come take a look at, can you come over right now? It’s gotta be now? Its raining hard as shit bro... I’ll make it worth your while bro seriously come now!! Ok ok, give me like 15 minutes, he says in an irritated tone. Thanks bro I’ll be waiting.

I can’t tell him the whole story or let him see what else was in the bag so I leave the drugs on the table and place everything else back in the bag. I put the bag in the hall closet and sit back at the table to wait on Martin.

I continue to drink the bourbon allowing it to calm my nerves. When I hear a knock at the door, I jump up to open the door for Martin, but there’s no one at the front door. That’s weird, I could a sworn I heard someone knocking at the door. Shrugging as I close the door and head back in the kitchen.

I hear knocking again, but this time it sounds like it’s coming from the garage. I walk towards the garage and ask who is it? No one answers, but the knocking continued. I walk slowly to door arm out stretched towards the knob. Who is it? I ask again. Still no answer. Shaking nervously with my hand on the knob. I open the door slightly. Someone pushes their way into my house hitting me with the door dazing me. I lose my balance and fall backwards.

My vision is blurry from hitting my head on the door but I can definitely see a dark figure standing over me. I can’t make out the face because he has on a hood. I attempt to scoot backwards away from him but he steps forward keeping the distance.

What do you want? I yell. No answer from the tall dark stranger. I reaches into his jacket pocket, and I just know I’m a goner. Closing my eyes, I cover my face with my hands hoping to protect myself from the blow I’m certain is coming.

Please please please please please I say pleading with the silent assassin. The bag is in the closet please take it! I yell.

I look up at the dark stranger as he swings a long pipe like object and everything went black...

fiction
1

About the Creator

Antonease Poindexter

Hello everyone, I'm so glad to share my stories with you. It has been a long time coming for me to be comfortable publishing my stories for others to read, so please be gentle with me. I appreciate all of you, and thank you so much.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.