Horror logo

Little Love Story

Some forms are stranger than others

By Meredith HarmonPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
4
A destination, an ending, a beginning.

I desire you. I want you.

Come, let me caress you, let me trace love nips up and down your body.

Ah, don't panic! Why the fear? Shh, shhh, just let me touch you, soothe you.

See? It's all right. There's nothing to fear.

You know I don't ask for much.

Just to crave you, smell your intoxicating scent, breathe you in like light and life.

Let's talk about life -

Our future. Our children.

It is very much on my mind.

You know my biological clock is ticking,

And I'm running out of time.

I would love to have a legacy,

An outpouring of children

An unending chain linking eons past to forever and ever.

I very much desire this with you.

Will you do this thing for me?

Will you let me fulfill my destiny?

There is no pain, just dreams, and yearnings translated into flesh.

Please, I beg of you, consent to give me the gift of yourself.

All I need is one drop, just one -

Ah! Ah! You fill me with such precious fluid!

Oh, this will feed my precious babies!

This is perfect! This is wonderful!

Everything I need in such a small amount of liquid, to make certain my heritage.

Why would you try to kill me now, when I beg for so little from you?

Even in my gravid state, I can avoid you easily.

I can evade, I can hide away, I can stealthily creep away from your grasping intentions.

To murder me is one thing, but to slaughter your own children?

Monster!

And you prevent me from contacting my kinfolk.

They would save me, if they could hear.

You seal me away from safety, from safe bearing.

If I were strong enough, I would do you more than mere mischief.

I would -

I would -

I must husband my vigor, every instinct screams that I will need it quite soon.

You will not let me rest!

Just let me go! Your part is done, you are no longer needed!

Your rage is for nothing!

...Ah, is that why? This overwhelming obsession to control, that which you cannot?

I will be sneaky.

You are in this prison with me, this microcosm of the world you have created.

It must crack eventually,

You need sustenance. Or relief, in one form or another.

Time must weigh so heavily on your kind.

I would present myself to you, to beg my freedom,

But I know you are beyond madness, hell-bent on utter eradication.

I have needs as well, I will have you know.

But you are beyond caring.

Your rage drives you to madness.

And yet you blame me for your own condition?

Small wonder you isolate yourself,

Who would put up with this insanity?

Be reasonable!

What use this carnage? You annihilate your own domicile!

This is your home!

Reduced to flinders, while I, tucked away in relative safety, observe undetected.

I treasure what we had, that fleeting moment, before... this.

If I grow tired, with my small frame, you must have pushed yourself in extremis.

Mad, utterly, mad.

I still love you.

As you plot my demise, I love you.

I love you for what you've given me,

And though you've retracted your assent,

It is no different than what I'd face outside.

Ah, now you realize you need refreshment. It is my turn to move,

To hide my shadow on the far side of the revealing light

And arrow behind you, swift as a dart

To freedom. To sanity!

What – you see me?

You follow?

Well, then, come get me! I can outpace you, in my own environment!

Just beyond your reach, I will not let you win this race -

Oh. Oh, dear.

I had forgotten that you cannot see well in the dark.

You make no sound, you do not move.

Are you dead? Unconscious? In pain? In distress?

I cannot tell. I do not know how to perceive those things.

I can only do one thing: call my kind to feast.

Come, sisters!

There is enough for all of us! Come, partake!

And as they gather in their multitudes,

I slip away to the sluggish pond,

And carefully, oh so carefully,

Relieve myself of my greatest treasure.

My fertilized eggs have gotten their nourishment from your blood,

And they will hatch soon, oh so soon, and perpetuate my kind.

But I will die,

A frog, a dragonfly,

Some creature will derive nutrition from my flesh, as I did from you.

But I have given life.

I love-

I love-

monster
4

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    I sense something fishy about this, Meredith, lol. Well told as always.

  • Interesting story. Love is a mysterious game

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.