Horror logo

Little Black Book

Golden Mystery

By Destiny WelchPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Would you risk your life for an opportunity to win a million dollars? All I know is I would do whatever it takes for that kind of cash. Some friends and I heard a rumor of one million dollars in the form of gold in an old, haunted, and deserted house near the railroad tracks. Well, you know what they say, no one has ever made it back from that side of the tracks.

My friends, Susan and Chuck, were terrified to go. The three of us argued about how we were gonna get back after we crossed the tracks. Regardless of how dangerous it was, I still planned on becoming rich. Eventually, Susan got upset, and she disappeared. Not only did she leave, but I haven’t seen her since, and it has been a few days. Chuck and I have decided that we will go together and split the money. We knew once we got the money, we had to leave town before something bad happened.

Chuck stayed over that night, and the next morning, we started gathering a plan. In order for this to work, we would need sage, candles, salt, white roses, a to do list, and necessities. Chuck spent the whole day researching what we would need and why we need it, while I was busy organizing a suitcase. The two of us spent the rest of the day relaxing, waiting until morning to leave.

We woke up early the next morning, ate breakfast, grabbed the suitcase, and headed towards the tracks. Just as we began approaching the tracks, the car died and would not start. Suddenly, I started to worry. Chuck looked at me with a disturbed face. Since we couldn’t drive the rest of the way, we figured we would take the route by foot, and that’s when we saw it. The house was nothing like I had pictured it. Apparently, Chuck found a picture while researching, and he forgot to mention it.

The weirdest part about everything was the fact that this side of the tracks is an entire town. I was surprised to see people, cars, stores, and entertainment. Where did all of these people come from? Why hasn’t anyone heard about this town that’s only twenty minutes away? At that moment, I realized something wasn’t right. I told Chuck we should just leave and never look back.

We headed back toward the tracks, but something seemed off, like there was something missing. After a few minutes, I realized the welcome sign was gone. As I started to find someone to ask a few questions, I noticed there was no one in sight. I turned back around to say something to Chuck, but he was gone too. Based on my experience so far, I knew deep down I was down on my luck, but my determination was vastly superior.

The moment I started to find Chuck, I spotted Susan with my eyes, but how could that be? Chuck and I have been looking to find her for days. Personally, I knew she would never disappear without a trace or a goodbye. She was kind of a clingy friend, so I just don’t believe she came here on her own, especially after our disagreement. She was so afraid and worried about what would happen if we did go, so why was she here? How did she get here? There was only one way to find out.I took a few minutes to gather myself, and headed towards her with concern.

As I started to approach her, I could feel an unusual storm coming. The wind became stronger, the sky was pitch black, even though it was the middle of the day. Everyone appeared fairly close to me, only I could tell I was missing something. Susan slowly turned around looking more terrified than ever. So many questions popped up in my head, but all I could ask her was how she got here. She took a few minutes, but she never answered my question. I’m not sure what her intent was, but she handed me a little black book without saying a word, then I watched her wander off and disappear.

At first, all I could do was stand there and stare at the dark sky in fear, but then I realized I had my first clue since I arrived. The book was thin and rough with no writing on the cover or the back. When I opened the book, the pages were black with red writing. Next to the writing were numbers which seemed like it included knowledge I needed to know.

The first thing I read ordered me to go to the house, so I did. As I walk into the house, I see old furniture covered in white sheets. I covered my face with my hand when I realized this is what happens in scary movies, and I knew I was in danger. As the lights flicker on, I spot Chuck sitting on the floor, shaking heavily. He looks up at me to tell me to leave before things get worse, so I have no other choice than to tell him about the little black book. After Chuck read the book, we decided to follow all of the steps in the book, which we were prepared for.

While he was reading the little black book, I heard strange sounds and saw pretty weird movements. It seemed like the more he read, the angrier the spirit became. At first, all I heard were footsteps, but then I heard doors slamming, a girl singing, and glass breaking. Eventually, I could see all of these things as they are happening, but also much more chaos. Pictures began to fall off the wall, blood splattered on the wall, and just as I felt a heavy wind pass, Chuck finished reading the book.

I yelled all around the house to get out, that no spirit is welcome here in the name of Jesus. The first thing the little black book suggested was sage, so we smoked out the house with sage. Eventually, we could smell the strong odor, but we knew the smell would be gone by the time the ghosts were. The stronger the sage became, the louder the noises were. Obviously, we were just making the spirit angry, so we put white candles in every room as the book suggested.

As soon as we knew the spirit was gone, Chuck and I surrounded every entrance with salt to keep the spirit out. Next, we placed salty white roses around the house to suck up any bad energy, and after a while threw them out. The house suddenly settled down and became quiet. When Chuck and I walked out the front door, the streets were quiet yet beautiful. All we could see was gold up and down the road.

Chuck went to check on the car, but I stayed in admiration. Only a few moments later, I see Chuck driving toward me. I felt like I was in a dream, but deep down I knew this was very real. Chuck and I started to pack the car as full as we could with gold before something else crazy happens in this weird town. We got out of town as quickly as possible and took the next flight to the Bahamas. When we got there, we didn’t know what to do, but we knew we would never look back.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Destiny Welch

I love writing and reading and that is why I enjoy vocal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.