Horror logo

Limbo?

Where do we dwell?

By Lauren Jane RPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

October 29th, 08:10 am

It's a crisp October morning. I am running late for work. I do not like being late. I pick up speed. My heart feels heavier than the weight constantly attached to my shoulders. A weight in the form of a black figure, who's hands are constantly attached to my neck. She feeds from me. I have learned to ignore her, I try to forget she is there but I can always feel her, clutching to my body like a leech.

I am running now. I check my watch. I am so very late. I can see my breath, constant condensation to match my anxious panting. I see the subway station up ahead, there is a train in three minutes.

I am on the train. I bow my head. I concentrate on my shoes. I hate the subway. I feel enclosed, there is no view of the outside word. The subway is a liminal transportation machine. It feels as though I am in an otherworldly space. The Unknown. This anxiety makes her monstrous, heavier than before.

Come to think of it the subway should have stopped by now. I lift my head. Where is everyone? Am I alone? That is highly strange, considering this is the nine o'clock cart. Her hands tighten. The subway doesn't stop for what feels like hours. It is like it is in perpetual motion.

It goes on and on and on.

I have bitten my nails to almost nothing. Little droplets of scarlet liquid fall from my hands onto the floor. Tears are cascading down my face now. Why aren't we stopping? The subway is probably broken? Wouldn't they have announced that?

By Christopher Ott on Unsplash

I find myself in a sudden burst of screaming.

"STOP THE CAR"

"WHO IS DRIVING THIS THING, STOP THE BLOODY CAR"

"I AM HOURS LATE"

No answer.

I put my bloodied hand over my mouth to entrap my screams in my throat.

Inhale.

Exhale.

She shrinks a little.

"Please stop this. I would like to get off" I mutter.

SCREEEEEECH

The train comes to halt.

The doors open, I step off of the train. Where am I? This station.

How odd, I have never seen this station before. It's a small platform with one set of stairs, entirely made of reflective glass. I lower my gaze. I never see her in my reflection. I look disheveled. My mascara is half way down my cheeks, my thick red hair in knots.

"Hello? Is anyone there? Any staff? Where is this station?"

No one answers. I am alone.

I walk with trepidation to the stairs. My steps echoing. I walk up the stairs. I am in a city. An unfamiliar city. The buildings are all made from red marble. A sharp pain shoots through me as her claws sink into my neck. I grit my teeth and continue to walk. There is complete silence. All I am able to hear is my own foot steps. My sweat sticks of me like I am a lamp and each drop is a moth. I look down at my hands. No blood. My nails restored, as if I never sunk my teeth into the beds. I am unsure why am here. Or where here is but I can not shake the feeling I have to keep walking until I find out.

By Adrien Converse on Unsplash

October 30th, Unknown time

How long have I been walking? The scenery never changes here. Just a sea of red marble. The sun has stayed in the exact position it was in when we arrived. Does the dark exist here? I am afraid of the dark, yet, somehow this place scares more more in continuous light than the dark ever has. I am walking ponderously because her weight seems to have doubled. That is okay isn't it? I will be fine, won't I? I see something in the distance!

...

A tree? There hasn't been any sign of life until now. I sit below the tree, I need to rest my legs before they give in. Is that... It is! there is a singular apple on the tree. I reach up and pluck it from the tree. I take a bite. This is the most flavorsome apple I have ever eaten. The juices are dribbling down my chin. My, I haven't eaten in... Well how long has it been?

As I finish the apple I notice people coming towards me.

"Hello! Thank god! I thought I was going to be lonesome forever, won't you sit with me?"

They do not seem to be responsive. They are getting closer to the tree. I see them now. They seem almost human, but the eyes. Their eyes are not there. There is just skin where the eyes should be. They have started scuttling on all fours. Hurdling towards me. I jump to my feet.

"Leave me alone!"

I run. I keep running.

I have to keep running.

October 31st, Unknown time

I may collapse any minute. I am famished. I really want to brush my teeth and she is so large, she may break my legs.

The sight of red marble churns my stomach now. It's all the same. There isn't any sign of individuality. I think there is no one trapped here but me.

She points towards one of the buildings.

She has never pointed before, just lurched there on my shoulders.

There is a candle in the top window.

I am at the door of the building. I must go inside. Maybe whoever is up there is willing to shelter me. I climb the winding steps to the very top. The door is wide open. I knock. I have to be polite. I step inside what seems to be an apartment. It's all red marble inside too. I see the candle. It's white. A white candle. Not red. Not marble. I look out the window. They're back. The eyeless creatures who take human form. They are entering the building. I have to hide. She grips my neck so hard I wheeze. There's a bed, I could hide underneath it. I get onto my knees and just when I look under the bed I see her. It's me. I am looking at myself. A perfect replica of me; the only difference is she has a white figure wrapped around her.

She scrunches her face into a frown.

"You shouldn't be here" she mutters.

"They're at the door" I reply.

fiction
1

About the Creator

Lauren Jane R

I’m a 20 something performance graduate with a passion for writing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.