Horror logo

Life in a Horror Movie

Silent Hill

By Chantell SchulzPublished 6 years ago 12 min read
Like
From the movie Silent Hill

“It’s just a dream, it’s just a dream.” I shut my eyes and pinch myself harder this time hoping I’ll awake from this horrendous nightmare. 3… 2…1… my eyes open to see myself back in my room. The warmth of my bed comforts me and the sight of my small yet cozy room gives me a sense of peace. There’s nothing I want more than to get rid of the images I saw in my head. People were still alive as peculiar creatures had cut them open with butcher knives or anything they could get their hands on. Blood curling screams filled the building from those who were tortured alive. There were children there, girls. With their blonde hair pinned up in pigtails, their dresses as white as snow, their eyes as blue as sapphires; you too would mistake them for being innocent and pure. Evil filled that place; there was nothing hopeful about it. Everything was either being killed or was already deceased. All I know is that I do not wish to go back to sleep, for I dread what might fill my head again.

Staring through the window contiguous to me, I realize the sun is not shining. It looks utterly miserable outside. With a pondering look, I speculate why there is nothing stirring. There’s no sense in me just sitting here wondering why everything is so quiet, so I decide to investigate. It takes a while before I actually get the energy to leave the warm and pleasant covers in which my body currently lies under. My legs swing out from the bed and land on the ground with a thump. I stand up and head to the door. Being as tall as I am for a thirteen-year-old, I still don’t feel that tall in comparison to the door. Reaching for the door handle, I realize the door is already open. But since when do I leave the door ajar? My hand squeezes through the small crack and as my green luminescent eyes peer through. Pulling the door towards me, I call out for my family.

“Mom, Dad, Luke? Hello, is anyone home?” But I get no answer. Slowly I push onward into the empty hall. Everything starts to move, like the world is swaying from side to side. I trip over my own feet and fumble to the ground. As I try to stand up again, I find myself back on the ground. So, I decide the best thing I can do is to just lay here for a while until these hallucinations stop. For a moment I close my eyes and imagine everything the way it was before. As I open my eyes, I am no longer in my house. Everything is dark and cold. I stand up and investigate this horrifying place. When I take a step forward, my foot almost slips from under me. Looking down I see a pool of blood. I let out an ear-piercing scream and start frantically looking for an exit.

This place is too massive and it feels like I’m going in circles. But is this just a dream yet again? Stopping in my place, I close my eyes and pinch myself just like I did last time. As I open my eyes I am in a different room. This is not my bedroom, this is not my house. There are operating tables everywhere. From what I can tell there is nobody in this room. As I search for the exit, an operating tray falls to the ground and the sound echoes in the room. The surgical tools bounce on the ground and slide close to me. My gaze averts from the exit and onto the tools. I am not alone. I can feel the blood pumping through my veins, my heart beat in my throat, my body start to tremble, and my forehead start to sweat. Blood drips onto the floor in front of me. I gradually look up to see some twisted deformed person with no eyes, nose, or mouth. Blood dripping from a wound on its face. A wound so deep that your stomach would turn just looking at it. Its face looks like something scratched it and beat it. Its clothes look like they belong in a hospital but they are torn and ragged. I think it’s a nurse, but that’s not a nurse I’ve ever seen before. Seeing the butcher knife in its hand, I scream and turn to run away. But as I turn to run away, another deformed nurse appears with a double headed axe in hand. Before I have a chance to change directions, I’m being grabbed and pulled by my hair. Reaching for its hands recklessly, my body continues to glide on the floor as the other nurse follows me.

“Help! Help! Somebody please help me!” I start to cry; I don’t want to die. They lift me up on an operating table as I fling my body around and kick at them. I lurch at them to try to get away, but they are too strong for me. They strap me down on the table and face me. Not knowing what’s about to happen, I try and wake myself up again.

“This isn’t real. This is just a dream.” Pinching myself over and over again with my eyes closed, I tell myself I’m at home in my bed. When I open my eyes, I am still on the table. My eyes feel like they are about to pop out of my head as they grow bigger in size. They are still with me, looking like creatures from hell.

“This can’t be happening, this is not real.” The nurses prepare to cut me into pieces, for what purpose? I will never know. This is what happened in my dreams and it’s now happening to me. The one reaches for a long knife and moves closer to my arm with it.

“No! Noooo! Get that thing away from me!” I hope they can hear me, I hope they will stop. This is not how I want to die. She turns her head to me in a sinister way and lifts one finger up to where your mouth should be if she had one as if to shush me. A second later the other nurse rapidly reaches for my mouth to stop my powerless screaming while the other one lifts her hand to cut me. With one quick motion she lashes into my skin and disjoins my forearm from my elbow. I scream into the nurse’s hand as tears run down my cheeks. The nurse holding my twitching arm leaves the room. My eyes follow her through the window that is a part of the adjacent room she is now in. I watch her as she stitches my arm onto a lifeless body as if to create a Frankenstein. I question what she is doing until the monster rises to life. This is so messed up, there’s no way this is real. Although the pain I am feeling from my arm being lacerated is very real and there’s no doubt that I feel like passing out from the loss of blood.

As I find myself starting to shut my eyes, a loud grotesque roar breaks out. Immediately I jolt up, the pain is now gone because of the adrenaline that is now pumping through me. The nurse in the other room looks at the nurse that’s with me and they flee the area with the new nurse they created. Thump… thump… thump… it’s getting closer. Sounds of grinding metal fill the air. It sounds like a blacksmith is sharpening a very big knife, but why would there be a blacksmith here? Then I see it. A massive creature that stands to be about eight feet tall dragging a sword that’s as tall as he is on the metal ground. This isn’t any ordinary sword, it’s thick and huge. It’s jagged at the top and long and pointed at the bottom. On his head sits a metal pyramid shaped helmet that is two times bigger than his head. His muscles are exposed as well as all the numerous cuts and wounds he has. The only garment covering him, is the long skirt in which is covered with blood. Once he sees me, he stops in his tracks as if to see whether I’m worthy to kill or not. Screaming, I pull at the cuff that is holding me down to the table. This is not how it’s going to end. When he realizes I’m trying to get away, he lurches closer, dragging his sword behind. I manage to break free of the cuff that’s holding down the one full arm I have left. The next thing I know he’s right beside the table and his sword is ready to strike me. Throwing myself off the table, I manage to dodge his swing. The table breaks into two and crashes to the ground beside me. I throw my arm over my face to protect myself from any pieces from the table that might hit me. Knowing that I need to stop my arm from bleeding, I search the room for some gauze. I must do it quickly for this thing won’t stop hunting me. I move away from the creature and start to rapidly scan the room I’m in for gauze. I manage to catch a glimpse of some on the table across from me. While running to grab it, I bleed all over the floor from the cut. Reaching for my arm to stop the blood from flowing out, I find myself falling fast to the ground. There is no energy to run anymore, not with my upper arm bleeding like this. The grinding starts again and I look up to see the creature coming at me slowly. With only being two meters away from it, I contemplate what I should do: get gauze and stop my bleeding, or run out the door away from the monster. As I look at the door, I realize there’s no way I can make it, so I decide to crawl towards the gauze as my only option left to save myself. I clench my upper arm to my chest to try to stop the throbbing while I drag myself with the other arm to the table. Inch by inch, it gets closer, with only a moment before it will swing again. This time I’m not sure if I can escape it. The gauze is getting closer and closer, I can almost reach it… but that’s not the only thing that’s getting closer. One more big crawl and I can reach it. With the last pull, I reach for the gauze. The edge of my fingertips brushes the fabric as I try to grasp it. His sword glides on the ground one last time as I know what’s about to happen. I manage to grab the gauze, but it’s too late. His shadow empowers me as a sudden pain fills my body. It was quick, too quick, but now I am in two pieces. I stand, watching him pull back his blood drenched sword as he begins to drag it behind him out the door.

I know I am dead, but why am I not going to heaven or hell? My dad talked about hell and heaven, but he also mentioned something about purgatory. That is not where I want to be and what did I do to deserve this? None of this makes any sense. Where am I anyways? I stare at my lifeless and disjoined body and decide to follow the monster out of the room to see where it is going. I take one last quick glance at my split body and sigh; this is not how I imagined I would die. Following the blood smear on the floor, the continuous thump, and the grinding, I find myself outside in the cold winter courtyard. Everything is old and ruined, even the air is filled with ashes as if the whole city had just burned down. I get too distracted by what I’m seeing that I lose sight of the creature. The air is too thick to see the blood smear on the ground that I have been following for the last ten minutes, so I decide to head into one of the adjacent buildings. I enter to be what seems like an old classroom. Step by step I walk in, creak by creak. My skin shivers at the cold nippy air. Desks are lined up in rows and a chalk board lies at the front, but it is not blank. The words speak “leave now.” Is that directed to me? No, there’s no way. I’m dead, there’s no place for me to go. I turn around and see two little girls with the whitest hair and clothes I’ve ever seen. Their hair is up in pigtails just like my dream and their eyes are as blue as sapphires.

“It’s just a dream, it’s just a dream.” I shut my eyes and pinch myself harder this time hoping I’ll awake from this horrendous nightmare. 3… 2…1… my eyes open to see myself back in my room. The warmth of my bed comforts me and the sight of my small yet cozy room gives me a sense of peace. There’s nothing I want more than to get rid of the images I saw in my head. People were still alive as peculiar creatures had cut them open with butcher knives or anything they could get their hands on. Blood curling screams filled the building from those who were tortured alive. There were children there, girls. With their blonde hair pinned up in pigtails, their dresses as white as snow, their eyes as blue as sapphires; you too would mistake them for being innocent and pure. Evil filled that place; there was nothing hopeful about it. Everything was either being killed or was already deceased. All I know is that I do not wish to go back to sleep, for I dread what might fill my head again.

No... no... I know what’s happening. I rush off my bed and look at my door handle; open. I swing open the door and get really dizzy. This will never end; I know the place, the place where evil does not rest. Do not go there, I warned others to leave but if you don’t listen, you will live in purgatory like everyone else. This place, this town, it’s no ordinary place… it is…Silent Hill. It’s silent for a reason; nobody will speak about it for nobody dares to ask about it. We all know what goes on there and we all know to leave it alone. Did I? No and I’m stuck…stuck here forever… living the same nightmare... every day.

monster
Like

About the Creator

Chantell Schulz

Aspiring writer who pours their heart into what they write. My desire in life is to lift people up, give them hope when times are rough and give people a different outlook on life. All of this I achieve through writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.