Horror logo

Let the Right One In- Movie Review

A classic Swedish horror film from 2008

By Talia DevoraPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Do you prefer to watch movies in English, in other languages or both? If you answer yes to this question, I have a great blog for you! At the age of 18, I started watching foreign horror movies like Let the Right One In (Låt den Rätte Komma In- 2008) in the Swedish language. Since Let the Right One In is not offered on Netflix, I would find a free version of the movie to watch from my phone, computer or iPad on platforms like YouTube and Putlocker. Since I became so fascinated by the characters, the setting and the whole theme of the movie, I continued watching this movie over 80 times within two years.

The movie stars Swedish child actor/musician Kåre Hedebrant and Persian/Swedish child actress Lina Leandersson. The movie tells the story of a young, bookish, introverted, aloof, gentle and revengeful 12-year-old boy named Oskar (Kåre Hedebrant) who lives with his neglectful, stern but loving mother, in the suburb of Blackeberg, Stockhold, in which a homicide case has been discovered. After randonmly meeting a black-haired, petite and young vampire named Eli (Lina Leandersson) one snowy night on a park bench, the two of them slowly start a friendship which eventually leads to a relationship. Oskar is unable to stick up for himself and becomes sunbmissive to the bullying and harrassment that he receives from a group of middle school students. As Eli get to know and understand Oskar and his situation a bit more, she gives him some gruesome but useful advice: to get revenge on the bullies. After Oskar attacks one of the bullies, Eli and Oskar's relationship gets stronger.

Here is a clip of Oskar attacking one of the bullies during a field trip to the local ice rink:

Here is a clip of Eli and Oskar:

The ending of Let the Right One In which I found very emotional:

The character that I resonate with the most would be Oskar, because of the experiences that he has had as well as his overall personality. Oskar is a victim of bullying, just like I was during my school years. Oskar loves to read and find facts, retreat to smaller spaces, and feels many positive and negative emotions as he is reflecting on each situation he faces, just like what I do on a typical basis. I can feel the intense pain that Oskar has to endure in the hands of the bullies, which brings back the disturbing and dark memories that I have had in the hands of high school cliques and gangsters.

Regarding his friendship with Eli, I feel that it was a very productive but somewhat of an unhealthy friendship, since Eli has subjected Oskar to unusual behaviours when she gave him money that she stole from one of the bad guys in the neighborhood. Other than those behaviours, Eli and Oskar gain each other's trust, making them vulnerable to sharing whatever they have on their minds. I almost see this friendship as more of a young girlfriend/boyfriend type of relationship as opposed to just a simple friendship, since it has become more intense throughout the film.

Here is a picture of Eli and Oskar laying down on the floor:

This is one of my favourite horror movies of all time, because it is relatable to me. Most importantly, the movie incorporates some psychological philosophies that someone like myself can apply to everyday situations such encountering difficult friendship or trust issues and being able to overcome them with strength and courage. The way that Oskar was blooming into a strong, young boy from a quiet and cowardly individual opened my eyes to endless opportunities for personal development. With respect to personal development, it just shows me that I have the ability to keep climbing the ladder and bettering myself, just like Oskar.

I would watch this film at any time of the year, whether it is Halloween or not, as I think any kind of horror movie is entertaining and intriguing to watch.

I hope you enjoyed this blog, just as much as I enjoyed writing this review. Don't forget to like, share this blog, send a tip and follow me on Instagram at naturalbibliophile22 to be in the loop for upcoming Vocal stories. Take care and have a great Tuesday!

movie review
2

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.