Horror logo

Legend Lives On

The Deserted Cabin-untold story

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Legend Lives On
Photo by Kingsley Osei-Abrah on Unsplash

"The cabin in the woods had been abandoned for years, but one night, a candle burned in the window." This was three weeks ago. I still don’t feel I have had enough time to process the events that happened that night but I realize I have to move on. I won’t forget that night but I don’t mull over it either. That’s because I was a victim.

It was the last day of July when my boyfriend, Jeff, and our mutual friend Sarah went to the cabin near the lake. Rumour had it that every seven years a person died there. Seventy years ago a girl, Karen, had been left there all alone when her boyfriend had promised to meet her. Their parents despise the relationship and didn’t want the two to be together. Karen’s boyfriend’s virginity bothered him and this cabin, while deserted, had a comfortable room with a soft couch. They were to meet up and do the deed. However a poisonous snake bit Karen and she died. Her boyfriend had never come to see her. When people found her body they saw the words-“why did you leave me alone” written in red ink on the wall.

I didn’t believe a word of that story. Like Karen, I too was sixteen but was no longer a virgin. My boyfriend Jeff had pressured me after a month of dating and I couldn’t say no. he was the most popular boy in school and football captain. I was a girl whom nobody noticed. Even our friend Sarah ignored me when Jeff was not around.

I was alone in the cabin for over an hour. Jeff had texted me he was picking up Sarah. I thought bitterly how I didn’t care to be here. I mean why was this supposed to be exciting? I played a game on an app on my phone. Finally Jeff arrived with Sarah. He grinned at me and we embraced. I raised my head to kiss him but he moved back. Seeing my dismay he said he had a gift for me. He held out his hand and showed me a ball on a chain with a pointer. He said it was for our séance.

Figures, I thought in dismay. A gift for me but not what I wanted. “It’s still quite early, Maya,” Jeff said to me. “Let’s just hang here till it gets dark”. Sarah whispered in his ear and he sniggered. “I got some chips, cookies and soda”, I said. Jeff said, “I already ate. Sarah said she was going to help me with my homework.” I looked away so he couldn’t see how upset I was. I took a bag of chips and a soda and just relaxed.

At nightfall Jeff took the orb on the chain and lit candles. He beckoned for the ghost of Karen. “if you can hear this, give us a sign”. The ball on the chain moved. I knew Jeff was up to his tricks but he said it was Karen. “I bet she took your watch too,” I said bitterly. He looked on his wrist and said he must have left it in the other room. I was puzzled because he rarely ever took off that watch. He asked the ghost multiple questions when finally a candle in the window burnt out. It was funny because there was no draft. And then things got strange.

Suddenly a storm erupted. The house had a leak in it. I told Jeff we should go home. He told me we should wait for the storm to end. I said have it your way and walked out. When I got to a less deserted area I called a cab. I was angry, tired and a bit scared. I texted Jeff an hour later. He never responded. The next day I found out why.

Sarah and Jeff were both found dead the next day. The cause was unknown but surely enough written on the wall in red ink was;” why did you leave me alone.” I grimly admit justice was served and that the legend of Karen lives on.

fiction
3

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.