Horror logo

Kansas: The Devil's Chair

By: Melrose

By Melrose Published 10 months ago 5 min read
Like
 Kansas: The Devil's Chair
Photo by Samuele Giglio on Unsplash

**Title: Kansas: The Devil's Chair**

My name is Jack, and I've always been intrigued by the supernatural and the unexplained. Growing up in Kansas, I heard countless urban legends, but one in particular always sent shivers down my spine—the legend of the Devil's Chair. As the story goes, there is an old abandoned house in the heart of the Kansas prairie where an eerie chair is said to be the gateway to the underworld. Locals claimed that anyone who dared to sit on the chair would be cursed and forever haunted by the devil himself.

It was a cold, foggy evening when I decided to investigate the legend. My curiosity got the best of me, and I gathered a group of adventurous friends to accompany me on this spooky quest. We drove out to the outskirts of town where the old house stood, its timeworn structure silhouetted against the fading light of the setting sun. The sight alone was enough to send shivers down our spines, but we were determined to uncover the truth behind the chilling tale.

As we approached the decrepit house, a sense of foreboding washed over me. The air was thick with an eerie stillness, and the creaking of the wooden boards beneath our feet seemed like the house's whispers warning us to turn back. But we pressed on, drawn by the allure of the unknown.

The interior of the house was just as haunting as its exterior. Broken furniture, dusty cobwebs, and shattered glass adorned the rooms. The floorboards groaned beneath our weight, as if echoing the agony of the forsaken home. We ventured deeper into the shadows, guided only by the beams of our flashlights.

Finally, we stumbled upon the infamous Devil's Chair—an old, tattered armchair sitting alone in a dimly lit room. The chair seemed to emit an unnatural aura, as if beckoning us to come closer. My heart pounded in my chest as I contemplated whether to proceed, but my desire for answers overpowered my fear.

Ignoring the trembling in my hands, I took a deep breath and cautiously approached the cursed chair. My friends exchanged nervous glances, but none dared to dissuade me. With a deep breath, I sat down on the chair, fully expecting nothing to happen. But that was when things took a sinister turn.

The moment I settled into the seat, a bone-chilling gust of wind howled through the house, extinguishing our flashlights. Darkness enveloped us, and a feeling of malevolence hung heavy in the air. Panic surged within me as I tried to get up from the chair, but an invisible force seemed to hold me in place. It was as if the chair had come alive and was unwilling to release its hold on me."Jack, are you okay?" one of my friends called out, their voice trembling with fear."I can't move! Help me!" I shouted back, my voice quivering.

Frantic, my friends reached out to pull me from the chair, and finally, I was free. As we stumbled outside, the fog had thickened, and the night sky had turned pitch black. The once familiar surroundings seemed foreign and unsettling.But the worst was yet to come.

Over the following days, strange and terrifying events plagued my life. Shadows danced at the corners of my vision, and eerie whispers echoed in my ears when I was alone. I saw flickering flames even when there was no fire, and inexplicable scratches appeared on the walls of my room. It was as if the devil himself had set his sights on me, haunting my every waking moment.

My friends, too, were affected by the malevolent force that had been unleashed. Each of them began to experience their own horrors, their sanity slipping away like grains of sand through their fingers. We tried to research the legend and find a way to break the curse, but every piece of information seemed to lead to dead-ends and cryptic warnings.

As the days turned into weeks, our desperation grew, and the line between reality and nightmare blurred. We knew that to end this nightmare, we had to return to the Devil's Chair and confront whatever malevolent entity we had unleashed. But fear clung to us like a suffocating shroud, and we hesitated, knowing that the consequences of our actions could be dire.

Yet, we had no choice. Our lives were spiraling into chaos, and the darkness seemed to have a grip on us that refused to let go. On a moonless night, we gathered our courage and returned to the forsaken house, hoping to put an end to the horrors that had plagued us.

The atmosphere in the house was even more oppressive than before, as if the malevolent force was aware of our intentions. We found the Devil's Chair exactly where we had left it, bathed in an eerie glow from the pale moonlight filtering through the broken windows.

With trembling hands, I once again took my place in the cursed chair. My friends formed a protective circle around me, their faces set with grim determination. We recited incantations and prayers, trying to break the malevolent hold on us. The air crackled with energy, and a deep sense of unease washed over us.

Suddenly, the temperature in the room plummeted, and the darkness seemed to grow even denser. A haunting laughter echoed through the house, and the floor beneath us trembled as if in response to the malevolent presence.

"I know your desires," a sinister voice hissed, "and you shall pay the price for your curiosity."

As the voice spoke, the walls of the house seemed to close in on us, suffocating us in their malevolence. But we stood firm, refusing to be swayed by fear. The devil's laughter intensified, and a searing pain shot through my body as if the chair itself was burning me from within.

It took every ounce of willpower to maintain our resolve, but we continued our prayers and incantations, pouring all our desperation and hope into breaking the curse. Finally, with a blinding flash of light, the malevolence seemed to recede.

The house fell silent, and the oppressive atmosphere lifted. The Devil's Chair no longer held the same malevolent aura that had once gripped it. It was just an old, tattered armchair now, no different from any other piece of furniture.

As we left the house that night, we felt a sense of relief wash over us. The curse had been lifted, and the malevolent force that had haunted us had finally been banished. We knew that the legend of the Devil's Chair would live on in the whispers of the town, but for us, it would forever remain a chilling reminder of the dangers that lurk in the unknown.

As I reflect on that night, I can't help but wonder if we had unleashed a malevolent spirit that had always resided in the old house, or if it was merely the power of our belief in the legend that brought the horrors to life. I may never know the truth, but the experience has forever changed me. It has taught me that some legends are better left undisturbed, that the thrill of the unknown can come at a great cost, and that the line between reality and the supernatural is thinner than we could ever imagine.

So, if you ever find yourself in Kansas and hear whispers of the Devil's Chair, heed my warning and steer clear of its chilling embrace. The consequences of indulging in curiosity can be far more terrifying than you could ever imagine.

fictionurban legendsupernatural
Like

About the Creator

Melrose

With each new tale, I endeavors to push the boundaries of horror, embracing the genre's rich history while weaving a new legacy of terror that will keep readers awake and enthralled, long into the night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Melrose is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.