Horror logo

Join The Vocal Horror Community Today!!

Facebook has a SCARY new Group That's Coming To Get You!

By Matt LoftusPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
10
H.P.LOVECRAFT THE GRANDFATHER OF HORROR

As a longtime writer here on Vocal.Media I've come to realise that my personal favourite genre is relatively unsung on the main website. I'm specifically talking about the one and only Horror genre. I've been into things that go bump in the night since before I could read and it's a dark subject I am deadly passionate about. Having just made it through the Halloween season I know for a fact that I'm not the only one here and frankly that's a relief.

This has inspired me to start a Facebook group aimed solely at sharing horror content directly with (drum roll please) horror fans. I call us the Vocal Horror Writers and If that sounds like something you're interested in then keep reading to find out more.

Why Start A New Group?

A very good question, why did I start a group solely for the purposes of sharing horror content? Well, you can scroll through page after page on the main site, as I've found myself doing a lot lately, but you won't always find what youre looking for. Most of us will have Facebook on our phone and scrolling your feed on there is infinitely simpler than using the main site. Plus the groups you interact with will be there the second you open the app, making it easy to see new scary content daily.

Out of the many other great Facebook groups that already exist, I rarely see any actual horror-related content posted. Sure it does happen from time to time and theres always going to be a surge of content during the Halloween season but what about the other 11 months of the year? I believe there are people like myself who are starving for more creepy tales in their diet and I think this group can perfectly fill the missing void in every horror lovers heart.

Why Join This Group?

Another good question, so far we only have 17 members (hopefully more upon posting this) but I only launched the group a few days ago. My hope is to attract everyone with a love for reading and writing horror articles so we can grow together. Getting to interact, share ideas and asking for advice from writers in your own niche is something worth joining for on it's own. Writing may be a lonely vocation but having somewhere to communicate with others in a similar position is a win-win in my book.

I've personally read everyone's posted articles in the group (so far) and I know there are plenty of competent/engaging writers already on board. You may even end up collaborating with someone you'd never have met before, who knows. All I know is I want to keep reading what you can come up with and I'm looking forward to getting lost in a scary-world you've created.

Friendly-Competition

As you know, Vocal holds its own competitions with big cash prizes which frankly we can't compete with but I would like to start a series of writing prompts in the near future. Setting a 600-word short-fiction story challenge with a simple premise ie 'you walk home past a graveyard and see a figure' would be a great jumping-off point. I'm a self confessed procrastinator so I know this would help me and anyone else needing a reason to get words on a page quickly. Plus anything written can be entered into future vocal challenges along the way so you can't really lose.

Put Simply

I never intended to start a new writing group on Facebook but I didn't want to go without having one that was for people like me either. Now that I actually have I'm excited to see what lies ahead. If you have a serious interest in horror then JOIN US (here) and you won't regret it. Seriously what's the worst that can happen? You'll get to be read by your fellow horror writers and maybe discover some amazing new articles that'll inspire your own work. Nothing scary about that...or is there?

how to
10

About the Creator

Matt Loftus

Horror-obsessed writer and Filmmaker

Read my ramblings here and see my short films on YouTube:MattLoftus85

My TikTok @mattloftus85

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.