Horror logo

It's not my wife.

It's not my wife

By Wesley MaddoxPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
It's not my wife.
Photo by Alex Iby on Unsplash

It's not my wife.

It's not the primary time I've stayed late on the work , typing away for data and even just sitting here scrolling through Facebook for hours. But within the ending always find yourself finishing just in time. i made a decision to call my wife and asked that she'd pick me up from work since I'm able to leave.

"Hey honey, " I said exhausted, "I finally finished, I'm able to get picked up."

"Hey," She said with a small giggle, "There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" then she hangs up. I sigh and sat at my desk. I'm not a line, there is a few others still within the building. Just on seperate floors is all. i made a decision cleaning up my office would be an honest thing to pass up the time, but instead I ended up doing tomorrow's work. It's already been an hour. She hasn't called back, and that i don't wanna call back. I'll just rest my eyes for a touch , and set my phone loud so when she calls I can just answer. I close my eyes and lay on my desk, and that i slowly nod off , until I heard a knock at my office door.

"Come in!" I yelled in order that they could hear me. Instead it had been silent and another few knocks, "I said come in! The doors unlocked!" The silence came again, and followed by the knock, this one became a touch more aggressive and whoever was knocking decided to not stop this point . I won't lie it gave me a touch if a fright, but i used to be too tired to be scared. I became angry and stomped towards the door, "I said

the door.... " once I open the door nobody was there, "is un... Locked.. " I look from side to side and across the Hall. nobody was there. Maybe I should just wait outside or go elsewhere . it is the lack of sleep and every one the work I do. I shake my head, walk off and shut the door. The knock was loud and angry and repeated. I opened the door but I still heard the knocked. I looked everywhere, my desk, my computer, my walls, it just kept going and wouldn't stop. I covered my ears and scream falling on the ground within the middle of my office. Then it stopped. My phone rang, once I grabbed it, I wasn't on the ground anymore, i used to be in my chair, at my desk, my computer opened on my data sheets. My door was closed and my wife was calling me. What the hell goes on?

I answered the phone, "hey-" She immediately interrupts me.

"Hey," She said with a small giggle, "There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" then she hung up. She spoke the precise same way she did once I first call her. Did I ever even call her? I swear just a second ago i used to be on the ground covering my ears, my door was open not shut. I rub my eyes. I already did this data sheet. I shrugged it off considering it as just a few vivid dream, once I hear a faint knock at my door. I walk towards it, open it and find my coworker Sarah right ahead . I sigh in relief.

"Hey Sarah, what's up?" She stood there in silence not looking up at me. She was starring straight foward. I tap her shoulder, but she didn't move a muscle. I invited her in and she or he walks in and takes a seat. Maybe somethings wrong? I offer her a bottle but she doesn't say a thing, "Sarah are you okay?" Clearly she wasn't. She suddenly starred straight into my eyes, smiling while drooling, then she stood up from the chair ahead of my desk and walks out my office. Okay? My phone rings and it's my wife. I answered but before I could speak, she spoke first, although it had been staticky, I faintly heard my wife repeat the precise same thing to me another time .

"Hey," She said with a small giggle, "There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" then she hung up. My heart stopped, but once I searched , there she was right ahead my office door.

"Linda?" i used to be freaked out, she smiled and spoke.

"You fell asleep at your desk, I wasn't sure if I should have left you there or woke you. But you awakened yourself. I called you to allow you to know i used to be downstairs but you didn't answer." My head began to spin. I check out my computer but it had been shut off, I check out my phone and that i had three missed calls. I lean my head in my hands. What the hell is happening? and that i losing my fucking mind? I search and Linda hasn't moved, she is within the same spot, expecting me. Just a dream... it had been just a dream. I get up, grab my things and follow her to the elevator.

"Hey." She said.

"Yeah?" I answered, clicking the down button on the elevator.

"There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I'll should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" I held my breath, slowly faced where Linda should are , and located nobody standing there. I turned to the elevator but it had been my office door. I frantically shop around , I'm in office again. Just a second ago i used to be with Linda. My phone rings. I refuse to answer it, it's Linda again, on the other hand I hear her in my office.

"Aren't you getting to answer it?" It seemed like Linda but with multiple voices in several pitches. I search and see her sitting within the chair ahead of my desk. She isn't facing me. I slowly inch toward her, and softly touch her shoulder. She looks at me and it's my wife. My heart stopped, my phone remains ringing. I answered it.

"Hello?"

"Hey Jack." It... Was... Linda. And if this is often Linda... Who the hell is watching me, sitting within the chair right ahead of me? "I called to allow you to know I'm gonna be late, I havent heard from you so I'm guessing you're just doing over time. Anyways, I should be there soon, I had to select up my mom to observe Tim on behalf of me ."

"Linda?" They both responded.

"Yes?"

"Linda is that this you?" The Linda ahead of me, smiled even wider than before. And responded at the precise same time the Linda in call did.

"Of course, honey are you okay?" the decision dropped and once I address run out the office, the door was shut, I looked behind me but nobody was there, I open the door, run towards the Elevator and aggressively and repeatedly press the down button. I heard Linda again but it wasn't my Linda.

"Hey," She said with a small giggle, "There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" I looked to my left and within the distance I see a lady in ripped clothing, and grey ash skin, with nappy white hair, and red glowing eyes slowly, walk towards me. She was dirty filled with crusted dried blood, and her feet and fingers were black, and she or he walked crookedly and dementedly towards me. My body froze.

"I should be there soon." She said with different voices behind her throat, "I should be there soon, I should be there soon." Finally the elevator is here and that i run in again, repeatedly and aggressively pressed the lobby button. But the doors wouldn't shut and eventually it got quiet. I peaked out the door but nobody was there. I sighed in relief but once I rotated , the monster appeared within the corner of the elevator, whimpering. i could not breathe, all the air was knocked out of my lungs and that i pressed my body against the wall. She stood up and began giggling, then screamed and eventually facing me, grabbing me from inside my stomach.

"Im here. " When she smiled, her teeth her sharp as blades and yellow with chlorophyte surrounding some corners. in time I blacked out from pain, and thought I died. But I awakened screaming. I shop around , scared, what was near me. But nobody was here, I wasn't within the elevator, i used to be in my office, i used to be at my desk, my data sheet still unfinished and suddenly my phone rings, without watching the caller ID I answer it.

"Hello?" I answered during a quivered tone.

"Hey," it had been Linda.

" Linda I had the worst-" She interrupts me and says something I hoped she'd haven't said.

"There seems to be traffic so i'd be a short time . I'm unsure . I should be there soon though, oh no check point, I'll call you during a bit! i really like you!" Then, someone knocks at my door and that i hear Linda, speaking in many various voices with many various pitches.

"I'm here!"

monster
1

About the Creator

Wesley Maddox

Himy name is Wesley Maddox I consider myself as a pretty good write I like to scare people so if you want to get scared read some of my stories

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.