Horror logo

It's not easy to live with a Ghost

The Ghost named Charlie

By Letty CastanedaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 13 min read
Like
It's not easy to live with a Ghost
Photo by Michał Parzuchowski on Unsplash

Moving Day

Back in the early 2000's my husban, kidsand I moved in to a four bedroom house located in the suburbs. The excitement of moving in to our own home after a four year break living with family members was an absolute blessing. Not that we did not enjoy living with family but its not the same as having your own home. We had lost our condo a four years prior to that so family helped us out and I believe we got a little too comfortable.

As we arrived at the new home I nearly cried because it was not located in the best area. When I entered the new home my mind was quickly changed. The interior of the house was not bad at all, there were four bedrooms a large living room and two bathrooms.

The craziness Begins

Shortly after we moved we began to experience uneasy and unsettling feelings. I thought it was all in my head at first as my husband and my kids had not felt uneasy in anyway. Oh, but that quickly changed.

Besides the uneasy feeling I was getting in the house, the kitchen chairs would drag across the floor making a screeching noise. I would turn and the chairs would not move at all, there was nobody in the kitchen or on the bottom floor. My thoughts were simply, maybe I heard the Television upstairs or even imagined it. The chair screeching continue and I decided the blame it on old pipping. Then came the dreams, there was a little boy around seven or eight years old that would appear in my dreams. During that time the kids were young and mischievous, they blamed their bad behavior on each other of course.

The eight year old boy named Charlie

Until one day I began to see this little kid live, my youngest kid was around 8 years old when we moved in to that house so every time I saw this little kid we named Charlie I was under the impression it was my son. As I checked the bottom floor to chase after my son there was nobody on the bottom floor. I went upstairs and my son was sleeping, there was no way he could run that fast and jump into bed and pretend he was asleep. However, I decided to tickle him to make sure he was sound asleep and indeed he was, my other kids asked me what was going and I could not even begin to imagine of telling them there experiences I was having. They would think mom was going insane, needless to say sometimes I even believed that myself.

This went on for quite some time along with the chairs that screeched in the kitchen and eerie feeling the entire family felt. Nobody said anything at first but for some reason the garage door that was connected to the kitchen always scarred me, then I noticed my kids would close that door when they went to the kitchen. I began to ask them why they would close the door and they told me they feel uneasy when that door was opened. I had the same feeling every time I was in the kitchen, they kids also mentioned they would hate to go to the kitchen in the middle of the night to grab a glass of milk or water because they felt something or someone was looking at them in the middle of the lower set of stairs.

We all discarded all those weird dreams and sensations as simply us being paranoid or possibly we watched one too many scary movies. Just we we decided all this was in our head we had friends who came over to visit and they began to experience some kind of weird sensation when they visit. They also believed it was in their heads but for some reason it scarred them so much that some would not come inside the house and some would actually feel or see things.

My husband would discredit every single thing I would tell him we felt or saw. He was in denial because he also heard the screeching kitchen chairs and even saw them moving, blaming it on water on the floor or simply an earthquake. It took a few years for him to realize that what was going on in the house was real and there was no way everyone that stepped into the house was imagining things.

My Dad's Dream

My Dad told me he had a weird vivid dream, he said there was a little boy asking him thousand questions. He said the little boy wanted to know who he was and how long was he going to stay here in this house. When my dad woke up he told me his dream and I asked him to describe the little boy. He said the little boy was about eight years old and light brown straight hair almost like a bowl cut and very curious indeed. My entire skin got covered with chills because that is exactly the boy I had been seeing everywhere around the house which I sometimes confused for my own little one. At this point we began to realize we were not crazy.

My dad lost his house and moved in with us one year, since we had a full house unfortunately I did not have an extra bedroom for him so he was bunking with the kids in their room. One day Dad came home late but the kid's room was locked for some reason. Dad decided to spend the night in the living room. That night he was awaken by somebody choking him and when he opened his eyes he said he could still feel the hands on his neck even after he opened his eyes.

The Decade

The years went by and my little eight year old boy grew up we ended up staying in that house for ten years. The little boy named Charlie was still the same age, anyone who came to the house and got a glimpse or felt this entity knew he was only eight years old.

Some of our friends also saw this little boy roaming around the house, they asked about him thinking it was my grandbaby. This was insane because our grandbaby was only two years old not eight! One of our friends was hanging out in the garage with my husband as they were fixing his car, he said he saw Charlie staring at him and he even said hello to the little boy then Charlie ran inside the house. He asked my husband how old was our grandbaby he is growing so fast, he asked if he was really tall. My husband said no, our grandbaby is not here and he is only two years old. Our friend grabbed all his stuff and went home scared. This was a confirmation to us that Charlie was not an imaginary friend, he was actually a ghost who lived in the home.

The Dark Entity

However there was another entity in the home because we also felt something eerie in the kitchen hallway which crosses to the garage. This other entity was much darker, anyone who was in the kitchen would feel it coming from the laundry room hallway that led to the garage. It was a scary feeling to be alone in the kitchen and in the entire house but, we lived there for a decade.

Charlie likes to play

One morning as my kids were supposed to be getting ready for bed were still in bed, I woke up my oldest so she can get ready for school. She was taking long and that day I was very tired, so I yelled from my room downstairs for her to hurry up and layed down as I waited and closed my eyes. I felt a kiss and a hug and when I opened my eyes there was nobody in my room and my door was closed and locked. That was very creepy I thought, when I layed my head and closed my eyes it was 7:22 and when I opened my eyes it was 7:23 am so I know there is no way I fell asleep that fast! I opened my door and ran upstairs to see if my daughter had sneaked in my room and ran upstairs.

It turns out she was still sleeping rolled comfortably in her favorite blanket. So, I pulled her out of bed and took her blanket away so she would get up for school. She hit the shower as I was walking down the stairs towards my room, I closed the door and lied down once again ignoring the previous situation. I looked at the clock and saw 7:30 my daughter still had 30 minutes to get ready for class. When I closed my eyes once again I felt a soft ball hit me in the forehead and this time I head it when it hit the floor! I opened my eyes and once again it was 7:31 looked to see if I would see my daughter or my boys playing around, my door was closed and the ball that hit my head was next to the closed door!

Oh my I thought! Who's in my room messing around like this? Who ever hit me has to be in my room, in the closet, in my bathroom, or under the bed! Well I checked every nook and cranny and there was nobody in the room. Now I began to panic, the soft ball was an NFL football my husband would keep in the living room next to the NFL signed Raider NFL helmet. Everyone in the house knew this ball was off limits, well almost everyone.

The big giant flies

This time I was in bed and my husband had gotten ready for work early on a Saturday morning. He kissed me good bye and went on his merry way. When I woke up my ears were buzzing just like bee's or flies, I was not sure at the time, well I got up and saw my curtains above my bed covered in giant flies! Yes the giant one all together at once. My goodness! I had never seen anything like this in my life, when my husband left there was nothing there and within a few hours those nasty flies arrived. They also had covered my entire giant mirror in the bathroom! I ran for a bug spray and began to spray them, they flew away but I don't even know how to describe where they went but they went! its almost as if they disappeared!

The Punch in the Chest

One of my kids told me they woke up with a chest pain because in the middle of the night he felt that somebody punched him hard in the chest, and in the morning he was still feeling the pain of that punch. The same kiddo also woke up one day with scratches on his back and both arms.

I did not want my kids to be afraid and feed whatever that was and we did not have the luxury of moving nor did we want to believe this was really happening. I told the kids that we were going to name our Ghost and his name was going to be Charlie, they asked me to what would they call the bad ghost? My answer was simply the other guy cant play because he is the evil one.

My Mom's House Blessing

My mom came and did a oil blessing from Israel all over the house. For a while everything was calmed until it came back once again. Mom then told me to ask it what it wants, they as she laughed but she was serious. One afternoon I was in my walk in closet and I began to yell like a crazy person. What Do You Want? I felt silly after doing this, my husband had given me a white bunny that was put away for many years in the closet all the way in the back top shelf. The leg of the bunny read "Some-bunny Special" I yelled once again that day What Do You Want? that same bunny came down on its own while I was in the closet and landed on my foot! As I glanced down that bunny read Some-bunny special. At that moment I understood that Charlie needed somebody special. Of course I did not want that to be me, I don't even like Ghost kids!

Days went by and eerie situations arise almost in the same way for over ten years until it was time for us to move because we had scorpions, centipedes, millipedes, rats, mice, giant flies, mini moths and termites, roach infestation. The upstairs bathroom was falling apart and the swarm of creepy crawlies we had no explanation. Vector control asked me if we had gone to the desert because the brown scorpions found in my kitchen were not from the area. My flowers would always turn black from one day to the next, I had no idea what was going on. I thought I did not have a green thumb but possibly a black thumb since everything would dry and turn black right away as if something was sucking the life from the plants I encountered or touched.

The Sage Burning

My mom did not know what else to do, she also told me that burning sage usually pushes bad spirits away, she was a godly woman but she said this is what I've heard. I don't remember where I got the sage from but one day when there was nobody home I grabbed the wad of sage and burned it as I prayed for all the bad spirits to leave the house. I walked through the entire house burning the sage and engaging in prayer.

My vivid dream

They say sage helps to have vivid dreams so it is not a good idea to play with the unknown. I should of done my homework before burning the sage. That same night I woke up so abruptly and when I opened my eyes it was really hard to do so but I did. I the same mirror the giant flies had landed, I saw it! It was really tall entity and it was dressed in black or all black with a pale face! It was staring in the mirror and it turned around to look at me when I opened my eyes! The room was really dark since we sleep with the light off but I could still see with the light from the full moon that night that hits from my window. I thought I was dreaming so I closed my eyes and thought this is not happening! Then when I closed my eyes It was even harder for me to open them but I was still awake! Then seconds later I felt a dog like thing crawl in my bed by my legs on top of the blankets as I heard my husband snoring. I wanted to move to wake him up so but I could not open my yes or move, it was if I was paralyzed within seconds. My husband was snoring peacefully as I was experiencing the phenomenon that I would not explain.

My sweet neighbors

The last day we were in that house picking up the last boxes and cleaning the house, my neighbor was outside with her kids and she asked me to take a break for a bit so I did. She mentioned something very peculiar, she asked me if I she could tell me something and I said of course you can.

Then she said but I don't want you to think that I am crazy she said. I laughed and told her nothing surprises me anymore go ahead talk to me I said. She told me the day she moved in three years ago she was sitting right here with the kids watching them play, she saw a giant black shadow trying to get in my house but it would not go in. It was taller than my six foot door she said. It was a really dark shadow person thing or whatever it was but It could not get in my home. Right in front of the door I had a aloe plant that would turn black along with all the other plants I would buy.

My neighbor also told me that a few months ago, one of the neighbors got sick and she ran to help and to call 911 for them. When she was in the house and the ambulance came she noticed something very weird, the neighbors had a devilish shrine on the living room. They had a scull called the Santa Muerte, they use to do witch craft. That really surprised me because the neighbors were very nice quiet people, but they must pray and give somebody's soul to the Santa Muerte in order to gain a desired wish.

I knew they were a little weird because we gave them a little furry animal once and their kid told us that the dad ate him! Of course my kids cried and we had no idea if it was true but the neighbor's kid said he had some too, they all did. I don't know if that was a ritual of they really do eat furry animals. I know they were not very friendly with us, or maybe they were just quiet and kept to themselves.

Maybe all this was witchcraft not sure, maybe it was a devilish act from the neighbors. What I do know is that everything my family went through was real to us and to our friends who entered that house.

footage
Like

About the Creator

Letty Castaneda

Simply me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.