Horror logo

Invisible Man (Movie Review)

I'm just glad it wasn't a ghost.

By ashley spencePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Image acquired from Google Images. I am not the rightful owner.

I watched, 'The Invisible Man', tonight and I loved every second of it. Well 'love' might be a strong word. The thing is when you rarely watch movies you become more critical of the ones you do see. I don't have anything against movies, it's just that I always say I'll watch a new one but never do, or I intentionally avoid the popular ones *ahem Marvel movies* altogether. So when I say I 'loved' a movie, trust and believe, it's an authentic sentiment.

SPOILER ALERT!

Quick summary, the movie involves a young woman trapped in an abusive relationship with a young, rich man of high status. One night, she tries to leave him - which she successfully does - with the help of her sister. She escapes and stays with a friend and his daughter, after which she receives news that her abuser has committed suicide. She is then contacted by his brother, who informs her that her deceased abuser has left her his entire estate. Fast forward a few days, she starts to notice something strange; she feels like she's being watched, doors start opening on their own and the stove top is turned up to the max to the point of almost burning the house down. After a few more antics she eventually finds out it's her abuser. She finds out that he's invisible. After confronting him a few times, he isolates her from her friends and family, frames her for murder and makes her out to be psychotic. Towards the end, she lures him in, attacks him and, not only gets revenge but ensures she gets true freedom.

Interesting right?

I think so. And after watching a few trailers I knew I had to see it. Admittedly, I thought it was a horror film at first, but in one of the trailers, they mentioned that it was indeed, an invisible man. That's what sold me. Granted, the movie is rather predictable in the format - hero faces danger, gets away, danger comes back, she doesn't get away, but she still ends up 'winning' in the end - however, what I found most intriguing was the plot itself. Not a ghost…but an invisible man, is that not cool? I know, I know, nowadays anything is possible with modern technology, but to place said tech in such a story, without it necessarily being the focus is so interesting to me.

The technology pulled me in, but I ended up staying for the actual story - even after the technology was revealed! I mean I may not watch much but I've seen my share of movies, holding an audience's attention like that after that reveal is not easy to do. The movie was unexpected, engaging and thrilling, not to mention the amazing cast. I highly recommend anyone who hasn't seen it to go watch it.

Thank me later.

Thanks for reading! Check out my blog https://thewritingblacksheep.com/ for more posts. Tips are appreciated.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.