Horror logo

In the night

Dream of Dreams.

By Christina Nelson Published 7 months ago 3 min read
Like
In the night
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

It always happens. Late in the night. The same dream, over and over again.

Always around 2:47 I'm in a house. I've never seen this house before but somehow I always end up here. I'm standing in the living room behind a man whose face I never see.

He sits in a recliner and never turns around. To the left is a staircase and at the top of those hardwood stairs is complete darkness. You can't see the top nor the person who stands at the top of them.

Luckily, she comes down those stairs and they squeak under her small feet. She is a child. She has long black hair, no mouth and big anime like eyes. One is blue, the other is purple. As she reaches the end of the stairs and starts to make her way past the living room to enter the kitchen, I notice she has a stuffed bunny.

I lean forward and whisper,

Don't go in the kitchen.

She pauses for half a second and slowly turns in our direction. The moonlight shining on her purple eye. Mesmerizing.

The man in the chair holds his hand up, as if to silence me and says

Let her go in the kitchen.

His voice is smooth and low. Almost hypnotizing. I kind of don't have anything else to say after that. And the girl goes into the kitchen.

When she gets into the kitchen, she sees the dead puppy on the floor. She is so heartbroken that she joins it in the cold embrace of the grim reaper. I still don't move. I don't even think I feel sadness.

I do, however, feel fear. Out the corner of my eye is a woman. She's an old woman. She's tall and bony and she goes into the kitchen and picks the girl up. She doesn't look at either of us as we continue to stay in the same positions in the living room.

It's like we're watching a movie play out in front of us. It's just so strange. But anyway, when the old woman reaches the threshold of the front door with the body of the girl, she comes back alive and flashes the both of us a look.

Her eyes are unsettling and she struggles to rip open the area where her mouth should be and a scream is let out. It echoes around us, yet we continue to hold our place. There in the living room. There in the night.

The scream echoes in my ears and I wake up. And every time I wake up, I'm on this very couch telling this story to you. And you sit there in your therapist chair. Back turned. Listening.

Once I finish, you turn around and then I wake up. For real this time.

Am I crazy? Am I being haunted? I see the girl quite often actually. Her name is Cheyenne. How do I know that? Well she doesn't have a mouth but she can sign.

She saved me once. Weirdly enough. I was asleep on the couch and there was a tall man in the doorway of my house. Of course, I was in the living room. As he slowly walked over to my unconscious body, Cheyenne pulled me through the seats of the couch and I landed hard on my back.

I panicked of course but I also let out a yelp as that fall hurt my lower back worse than it had already been hurting. I don't even know where I was or what world I entered.

I looked up and saw my physical body still on the couch. I wanted to scream but Cheyenne stuck her hand through my heart and used her other hand to cover my mouth.

The tall man looked over my body. He seemed disappointed and became quickly uninterested. He then simply disappeared. I woke up the next minute with my back sore. And here I am again on your couch.

I'm awake this time though. What do you think doc? Do all the crazy things happen in the night?

Yes.

supernaturalpsychologicalfiction
Like

About the Creator

Christina Nelson

I started writing when i was in the 3rd grade. That's when i discovered I had an overactive imagination. I'm currently trying to publish 2 books, hopefully I can improve my writing here before I hit the big leagues in writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.