Horror logo

In The Mirror

You May Fear What You See

By Chelsea ChallinorPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

She keeps looking at me; that strange woman in the mirror. Her intense gaze seems to pierce my soul. She only ever vanishes when I turn away. Which means she must be me.

How can a person come to the point where she can't recognize her own reflection? People can change with time but to change so drastically?

I dare to take another look. My heart skips a beat. My eyes are darkening. From hazel to pitch black. My pupils become lost in the darkness. I am terrifying to behold.

Then, to my shock, my mouth begins to shrink. It's as if my face is swallowing it up. Within seconds my mouth is completely gone. What is this atrocity?

I want to scream but of course, there is no mouth to do so. I want to tear at my hair but it too starts to recede into my head. I become bald.

The person I see, if you can call it that, is no longer that strange woman. It is a monster. It is not human.

I pound my fists against the glass! Give me back my former self! I can make that stranger a friend again! This monster, I can do nothing with!

The mirror begins to crack. Piece by piece it shatters onto the ground. The monster's image is no more. What will become of me? Only God knows.

psychologicalmonsterfiction
1

About the Creator

Chelsea Challinor

Hello!

My name is Chelsea and I have been blessed with a neat life story. I grew up as a missionary kid in Thailand, moved to Canada when entering high school and then married an American man in 2019. I now reside in a small town in Idaho.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jasmine Aguilar8 months ago

    Enjoyed this psychological horror piece! It really made me think!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.