Horror logo

Immortal || Chapter 13

Chapter 13

By Sabal CloonanPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like

I woke up with a start. That was a weird dream. The shadows were long in my room and I suddenly felt uneasy. I pulled the cover up to my chest as I saw something move out of the corner of my eye. A slight breeze blew my curtain by my window. I could've sworn I closed that... let alone I never had it open. I could feel something watching me. I closed my eyes, not daring to open them.

Something was in my room. An evil presence. My heart raced as I heard something fall. My eyes shot open. And there in the corner, the same dark figure I saw a few nights ago with red eyes.

My body tensed up. I tried to yell but I was just too scared.

"Who... are you?" I managed to say. "Get out of my room! Leave me alone!"

The figure suddenly moved. No, no! Stay away from me! When I went to open my mouth to scream it shot forward. It was closer this time.

"If you scream, I'll kill you!" It said.

I could see him clearer. And I recognized him at one... it was... Jacob.

"I have a message for you to deliver to dear ole Johnathan Catcher..." he began. "Tell him to meet me where he was first laid. Tomorrow night at 12am. He'll know what you mean."

He went to the window then turned to stare at me. "And no funny business... or you, and everyone you love will die."

When I blinked, he was gone. My heart beating out of my chest. What just happened? Was that real or was I dreaming? I shook my head trying to calm myself. I opened my mouth to speak but nothing came out. Oh, my goodness...

When I was finally able to move, I laid down and just stared at my ceiling. That man... he was Jacob... the evil vampire who killed the Catchers...

I shot up quickly. Everything I thought I knew was being questioned. Johnathan was supposed to be dead? He is dead? This was all so confusing. What was going on?!

The very next day I sat up and looked around my room, rubbing my eyes sleepily. The thoughts of last night's events came pouring into my brain. I didn't want to think about any of it. Nothing made sense! I hated being confused because it gave me anxiety.

I crawled out of bed and went to my bathroom to take a quick shower.

"Tell Johnathan Catcher to meet me where he was first laid. Tomorrow night at 12am. He'll know what you mean."

Those haunting words... What did he want with Johnathan? And he threatened me as well. My body shivered at the thought of being murdered. Was it all real? Or was I really in a dream? I was researching pretty hard yesterday so perhaps my imagination got the better of me...

After getting dressed I went down to the kitchen. A note on the fridge from my mom let me know she went off with some of her friends and I had the use of the car. Guess I'll pay Johnathan a visit. Even if I was dreaming, there's no sense in taking a risk that it wasn't.

Every time I would head to the Catcher Manor, it felt like the drive took longer each time. Even pulling into the driveway it felt like my first time here... or should I say, like it was time travel to the past. That's what his manor had... an effect on time. If that made sense.

"Johnathan!" I called as I knocked on the door. "Open up. I need to speak with..."

"Why are you yelling?" Johnathan's voice rang through the air from above.

Looking up I see him hanging out the window on the top floor. I backed up enough to get a better look.

"Let me in. It's important," I demanded.

"Come on in and come up here. I want to show you something," he said, that annoying smirk clearly on his face.

With that he disappeared into the house. I opened the door, closed it, and walked up the stairs. This place was utterly amazing.

"Johnathan, where are you?" I called looking around up and down the long hallway.

"In the room at the end of the hall on the left," he replied, poking his head into the hall.

I could see pictures lined up along the hall wall. Pictures of the manor and people. People who looked familiar. The ones in the books I've researched. One struck my curiosity.

"Natalie," Johnathan startled me from behind.

I looked at him and followed him into the room. Where I noticed immediately it was the art room. Easels were everywhere from the walls to the floor. Buckets with water and probably something else lay about in a corner. Close to the window was an easel covered up. I stared at it curiously.

"What's that?" I asked.

"That's what I wanted to show you," he said excitedly.

He was covered with paint. I giggled at this as he grabbed the end of the cloth covering the easel. With a smile he pulled it off revealing a lovely painting of... me?

"What... wow..." was all I could say.

I didn't even know he painted. He got every detail down. It was magnificent!

"Do you like it?" He asked, admiring it along with me.

I nodded, speechless. "I didn't know you could paint. It's beautiful."

"Yes, you are," he whispered, his eyes staring into mine.

For some odd reason I couldn't pull my gaze away from his. He was a strange creature indeed. First, I find myself disliking his guts, then the next thing I know I'm starving for his attention.

He stepped closer to me. My heart raced as he gently placed his hand on my face and looked from my eyes to my lips. What was happening?

"Johnathan... I..." I stammered. "Johnathan... meet him where you were first laid tonight at 12am."

He blinked in shock. "What... did you say?"

"Meet him where you were first laid... tonight at 12am... he said you would know what he meant," I repeated, watching his reaction closely.

"He who?"

I looked at my feet. How would he react when I say his name? Would everything make sense then?

"Jacob..." I breathed out.

He just stared at me. Clearly, he was shaken up. I would say he looked pale... but he kind of did to begin with. What was running through his mind, I wondered? He balled his fists and his breathing became heavy.

"Are you okay?" I asked, a bit scared.

"Did he hurt you? If he did..." he spoke through clenched teeth.

I shook my head. "No... Johnathan, what's going on here? Please tell me. He threatened to kill me and everyone I love. Please don't leave me in the dark. I deserve to know."

"You're right..." he sighed and sat down on a chair. "I'll tell you everything. But you're not going to like it."

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Sabal Cloonan

Inspired reader, writer, musician and artist. My passion is in my works.

Stay up-to-date by following my stories at: https://www.facebook.com/renfestlovrr/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.