Horror logo

I SAW A DEMON WATCHING ME

Are you seeing things out of the corner of your eye? Do you feel like someone is watching you? You're not alone.

By Dwayne nembhardPublished 2 years ago 13 min read
1
image from pixabay

During this time, I was probably seven or eight. Towards the end of the night, my brother Greg showed up there. During her girlfriend’s absence, my mother cared for me and Greg almost constantly. The name we’ll use is J. She was employed by the local Comfort Inn Hotel and was gone from the usual 9 to 5 hours each day. I was very close to Kaleb because he began dating my mother just a few months after I turned one, in November of 2006. Out of the two of us, I’d say. We all knew I was the one. Let’s fast-forward a little bit from here. She had been staying at the hotel for a week when I was just seven years old. The reason I’m assuming she went was to see her family. When the week was up, she had to leave the hotel, which she had arrived at via public transportation. However, she was short on cash and had to rely on Kaleb to get her home. Please bear in mind, however, that she reportedly resided in Ohio. Our small Pennsylvania town was quite a distance away, but Kaleb agreed, so they packed up the ladies’ belongings and drove all the way to Ohio in his Mazda SUV. While watching television in the living room, I ate PB and J sandwiches while drinking Capri Sun packets. When Kaleb walks into the living room from the kitchen and announces to my family that we will be staying at Kay’s house, I do what any little kid would do. What did she say to me? “Who’s that?” I inquired. You may recall the elderly woman from the

hotel? That’s when it came back to me who she was referring to. It’s possible that my lack of familiarity with her name was the root of my confusion. Her decision to host us intrigued me. No one knew her, did they? Then again, I didn’t question it because, as a youngster, I assumed that adults were always right. That is why I said, “OK.” About an hour and a half later, we were all done with our cleaning and packing. We left for Ohio after getting everything ready to go in the car. After what seemed like an eternity, we finally arrived at this woman’s house after a three-hour search. They were waiting for her out on the sun deck. When I looked out the window of the car and saw her house from the street, I noticed her garage door was wide open. There were no vehicles in the garage or on the driveway, either. Ours was the lone vehicle present. In my mind, it seemed a little strange, but I put it aside and got out of the car to help my family move their belongings inside. When I entered the house for the first time, I continued to take in my surroundings, as I usually did when visiting a new place for the first time. Because she only had dimmer lamps lit in her living room and the rest of the house was pitch black, her home appeared dim. Kay’s explanation for why there were no cars in the driveway was confirmed when my parents began asking her some basic questions. During Kaleb’s conversation, he inquired about her living situation, and she informed him she was a widow and her son had moved away to college. Afterwards, my mother took my father and I outside to grill hamburgers and other foods on her grill. After my mother accepted her offer of a soda, she asked us kids if we wanted a drink, but we declined. During the time the adults were sitting in the back, children were playing.

My brother and I were pretending to be Transformers or something while we were playing pretend.

Optimist Prime and Megatron were my siblings. I believe we were in her back yard at the time We all headed inside to eat as soon as the food was finished on the grill. I politely declined her offer to serve us hamburgers because I’m particular about who prepares certain foods for me. Her sweet smile betrayed her sincerity when she told us that I would only eat mashed potatoes if my mother made them or hamburgers if Jade made them. Hold on a second. There, she retrieved a pan from the stove and returned to the children. The pan held hot, freshly baked brownies. They had the most delicious aroma and appearance. She inquired as to whether Greg and I would like some. We enthusiastically agreed. She gave each of us a slice of brownie, one for each of us. We were then told, “By the way, you kids can call me Grammy K.” Everything about that voice made me shiver with fear. As far as the lady had gone, this was the most outlandish statement she had made. My brother and I ate all of our brownie slices in record time. If I’m being honest, I thought it was exceptional. So she took my family to the dim living room where they could relax and catch up on their favourite shows. There was this weird show about Jesus on TV when Greg and I sat down to watch it with him. They were talking about how he died and was raised from the dead and such. For a kid like me, it wasn’t all that exciting. In the past, I was more interested in shows like SpongeBob or Dora. After what seemed like an eternity, the rest of my family finally got into the TV show.

Everyone agreed that it was time to call it a night. We slept in the basement with K, which I thought was eerie, but my brother didn’t find it that way. He repeated the word “yes” five times in the most animated voice possible. We were also allowed to do so by my parents for a strange reason. Even though I was hesitant, we followed her down the hall. Surprisingly clean, the cellar was. It didn’t have the expected brick walls and cement floor, but it did have carpet, drywall, and a ceiling. Our concerns about pests and spiders were allayed because her basement was treated monthly for bugs. She then led us to another room off the main one, where she showed us around there as well. The basement was divided into several sections. You couldn’t see anything in that other room, even with the light coming from the main room, because it was dimly lit like her living room. Then, as we watched from the other side of the door, she reaches for something on a table next to her and puts it down. What I saw was a flashlight. When she turned it on, she showed it to everyone in the room. She said it was dark because the lighting wasn’t fixed when she had her basement remodelled, right? There was no light in the room, as a result. In comparison to the main area, the rest of the building didn’t appear to be as warm and inviting. This room had all the hallmarks of a spooky basement: brick walls, a cement floor, and a rafter ceiling. When my brother inquired, “Are there any demons in here?” Kay laughed. It took her a moment to catch her breath, then she responded with an innocent, childlike laugh. The exterminator spray was sufficient to deal with them as well. In order to get ready for bed, she led us back to the main room.

Finally, we were able to get some rest after she gathered up some pillows and blankets for us. Greg’s desperate whisper was heard by me about 30 minutes later, as I was about to fall asleep. Please tell me that you’re all right, Dean. I whispered back as I widened my eyes and focused them on him. What? He confides in me, saying, “I’m a little worried.” Fear is keeping me awake at night, and I’m not sure how to get some shut-eye. When I pressed him on it, he gave me an explanation. The demons in the other room are keeping a close eye on me. If I leave, they’ll find me.

I had a big imagination when I was 7, but it took me until I was 12 to learn to control it. However, when he said that, I assumed he was scaring me. I was the family’s criest member. I was terrified by nearly everything. So I told him to put his paw down and go back to sleep.

It was a struggle for me to sleep when I was younger, so I closed my eyes and tried my best to get back to sleep. I was diagnosed with ADHD as I got older, and it progressed to developmental delay. I was forced to use melatonin, which didn’t work for me for a long time. Then I had to take clonidine to get to sleep.

My brother started up again with his nonsense as I was slowly drifting back to sleep. He uttered the words with a greater degree of trepidation than he had the first time. She has her eyes on me. Sissy, you’ve got her attention.

When I first heard him say this, I was worried, perplexed, and annoyed all at the same time. I replied to him with that. What on earth are you on about, puppy? If we don’t get some shut-eye, Mommy and Kaleb are going to lash out at us. He was overcome with tears of terror as he responded. No, she’s not looking at me this time. Her eyes are completely black.

He tells me to look at her after that. Her eyes are dark brown. Dean fixed his gaze on her. When I saw what he was talking about and her eyes were black, blacker than the night itself, my suspicion quickly turned to fear. If you believe me, I swear on my life that her eyes were black as night. When I opened my eyes, I saw it was Lady Kay, who had been sleeping there before. She didn’t say anything at the time either. She didn’t move a muscle. She was still swaddled in her blankets and staring unblinkingly at my brother. I’m sure I was shaken. When I saw the black-eyed, still lady, I had no idea what to say or do. We were stranded with them down there. In an attempt to be bold, I invited Greg Puppy over to my place. Close to me, please. As he whined in a whisper, tears welled up in his eyes. Not if I move. She’ll find me.

At no point in the situation did either of us have a clue as to what to do. For a brief moment, we were both weeping as we lay on the floor. K’s body was impossibly still as she rose to her feet. The only other way I can put it is this: This woman’s body language suggested that she was in a military or boot camp formation. The way they stand is extremely stable and rigid. Her eyes had not changed colour. We were both terrified and didn’t want to move for fear of what she would do if we did. This floor may seem out of place. There is no way I can convey to you how real and vivid this memory is. This isn’t real. I wish it was a hoax. I was in such a state of shock at the time that I had to stop crying and instead stare at Greg and K. As a result, I wasn’t moving or crying anymore; instead, I was just sitting there, waiting for something to happen. My brother started yelling for my mother and J while I was in that trance, and I guess that jolted me awake. My ears pick up the sound of stomping feet as they rush toward the screaming boy. Even the Flash couldn’t match their speed when they got down there. The body fell back down as soon as my mother’s finger touched the light switch in the basement where she and I were hiding. She relaxed her back and closed her eyes as if she were pretending to sleep, as if she already knew she was dozing off.

She’d been apprehended, and she knew it. Then my mother and I started freaking out, and Kay awoke, seemingly oblivious to what had occurred. Not knowing what to make of it all. The same question is being asked by my parents. Trying to explain that to them is what my brother and I are doing. They believed what we were saying. They took our word for it, for some reason I can’t fathom. As soon as they had us, they took off running up the stairs. K appeared shortly thereafter, making his way to the top floor. We were taken to her room, where they were supposed to sleep, and the door was shut with my brother and me, my mother, and J all freaking out. Even though it was a lie, my parents came into the living room and said that our friend who was looking after our pets had called and said that the upstairs had flooded, even though this was not the case. To get us out of there, we’ll tell you a storey. Suddenly, she approached us and handed us these glass objects, which she explained would create a pretty shadow on the wall if you put them on the windowsill and let sunlight shine through them. We hurriedly gathered our belongings and made our way outside. As soon as they were accepted, my mother and I hurriedly packed up our belongings and drove back to our house. My mother threw the glass items away at the next gas station on the way home. After that, we carried on as normal. We were exhausted after a three-hour drive and decided to just crash. We had no idea what had happened. My mother’s faith in us was probably bolstered by her own personal paranormal encounters. When it came to paranormal activity, she was a big fan. I’m still a little unsure of what happened that day. But I know what I saw, and I’ll never forget the terror I felt at the thought of it. I’d never felt this much fear in my life before this experience. I believe what I saw may have been a prank.

She was either being taken over by a demon or had already been taken over by a demon.

That may help to explain the bizarre Jesus-themed TV show. Possibly because she had been watching TV earlier, her house was dim. It’s conceivable that’s what caused her eyes to go from brown to hazel. She’d been behaving in an odd way. It was the most terrifying experience I’ve ever had, and I’ve had a lot since then. Thank you for listening to my tale of the demon lady; I may tell you more about her in the future.

monster
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.