Horror logo

I remember

loss

By Andrew HallPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

NO RETURN

YEAH.

You see the date correctly. When is the last date that you remember. I remember when shit used to be normal for the average human being. That was the last recorded day and time.

That date is 09/21/2021 clocks still are running. God knows how many uninfected are still out there and alive.

i. The infection started in a small lab that was testing illegal vaccines. Some of the PETA organization broke into the holding labs where they kept all of the infected animals. The only thing they didn’t take into account for was there was a patient zero. The lab that was operating illegally name was. Hazardcorp. Hazards motto was always preparing for the worst. When PETA entered the lab they got thru security pretty fast 4 guards were killed in all. When the suspects finally gained access to the biohazard holding pens they realized their mistake sometime during the testing period on one of the other subjects a doctor was infected.

They didn’t take notice to this infection right away until the infected scientist turned on the intruders and security cameras showed that the infected doctor had 3 of the 6 intruders infected within 1 min. The way the virus seems is if they mortally wound you it brings u back to life. YEAH!!!!

Like a fucking zombie. Straight out of a horror movie.

10/23/2021

Living this life on the road I always thought it would be something fucking great with all the scenic views. Yea sounds fucking fantastic right until you realize every time you stop. You have a good chance of a hunter sneaking up on you.

So us survivors have 5 different species if you will of undead. Level one is the shambler. They just kind of shamble around as if they have no clue on the humanity that is in ruin.

Level 2 is the spitter. Shit when I was growing up I fucking broke faces to whoever spit on me. These mofo’s can spit on u from 40 feet away and then the bile they spit on you other infected can smell like a fucking tracking beacon.

Level 3. The plank. These fucking guys will sit still for hours blending in with there environment. They are like the snakes lying in wait for their next meal to walk near them. They are extremely stealthy and can literally pick you off out of the group.

Level 4. The jumper. They are able to jump 75 feet horizontally. They can have an average vertical leap of 11 feet. We still don’t understand. Where that ability came from but then again. 99% of the scientist are now dead, or walking undead.

Level 5. We call these guys. Leeches. Their name suits them well cuz they infect you by pulling a piece of their body parts whether that be skin, blood or and type of contact with the infected. Will contribute to you dying and becoming the next undead walking the earth.

10/23/2021

18:20 hours:

Being the average conspiracy nut. I was one of those guys who still kept the go bag at home and in the car. The government started implementing taking away the rights to bare arms. Starting on June 10, 2020. They said that taking away the 2nd amendment right to bare arms would drastically change the murder rate in our country and any civilian who was found in possession of any firearm was arrested on a federal weapons charge. The government implemented marshal law while the U.S. military was picking up the now illegally owned firearms. This attributed to majority of the infections. People had no way of protecting themselves.

I was the average working person I had a rough history with the law. I did 2 ½ years of what they would call hard time. Before my life resurrection I was a homeless drug addict. Who honestly didn’t want to live anymore. I mean what is the difference between then and now. I’m still fighting for what I want before this infection took my family. I had a wife, Jackie. My 12-year-old daughter Makira, my 9-year-old daughter Trish, and my youngest was my son Casper. I was at work when I received the phone call any parent don’t want that Makira was being rushed to the ER after being attacked by one of her fellow classmates. She was badly bitten on her left shoulder. Coming out my office door I witnessed a scene of carnage. There were people chasing other people and knocking them to the ground and biting them. I ran to my blazer and got in and closed the door in time for one of the people I scene get knocked to the ground come running at my window but they were full of blood and the way the woman looked she shouldn’t have been moving a muscle. The woman who had attacked her ripped a portion of her throat out. A wound that any normal person would not get back up from. On the way to the hospital. I received the phone call no parent ever wants to get. Makira succumbed to her wounds. In the midst of the phone conversation. Makira awoke to attack Jackie. While on the FaceTime I watched as my wife and oldest daughter tore into, my two youngest children. Something that will always haunt my dreams for the rest of my life.

As the time goes on loss is no longer an option. The average lifespan for a human being now is 23. Kids come few and between most kids wont make it past their 1st birthday. The shelters were the first things to be attacked and destroyed.

I barely made it out of Mt Zion sanctuary alive.

10/21/21

19:52 hours

Woke up to hearing the quarantine alarm. Infected somehow got thru the perimeter fence. More than likely it would have been a jumper considering the first fence is only 10 ft. high. Only three hours later did they finally realize that there was no keeping the infected at bay. The guns kept firing then eventually the gunshots slowly started coming far and between. In our tent there was 12 of us but we all knew we had to leave or we were gonna die. Finally making the decision the 12. Made our way. We learned that guns would not help us. They actually drew the infected towards the sound of the shot. So, for every infected that was shot in the head 5 more followed on estimate there was around 50,000 infected drawn to Mt. Zion sanctuary. As we all made the choice to split up into groups of 4. Meet up at Wally’s express 4 miles down the road. Jennet, Niko, and Aria. All came with me.

The Carnage.

“It’s crazy how this is how life has to be.” Niko said. “fucking government fucks. not giving a shit.” Using us as guinea pigs. Aria yelled.

There is nothing worse then when you are face to face with death. Like thinking what in the hell did I deserve to not be able to not go to heaven nor hell. Unless this is the new hell walking and hoping that one day that one lucky fucking undead will make you a snack, or lucky enouhg to just get a small bite of you. Either way you are fucked. Up shits creek without a paddle.

Running through some of the run-down neighborhoods of what used to wavetown road. This was one of the upscale neighborhoods in Lebanon. The houses looked like desolate haunted attractions, the undead you can see walking around downstairs. Their shadows soullettes flowing through the window. Hard to believe this used to be the guard post. The fence is about another half mile away.

We held up in the one guard shack that looked pretty impenetrable. Little less did we know that this is where we would realize how close we were with death. Looking out the shack window we seen a horde of infected heading in direction of the sanctuary. Or at least of what was left of it.

12/25/20

Hey daddy, Santa brought me the puppy I wanted.” I remember Trish yelling. Knowing that roughly 15 years ago my life was on the road of destruction.

I remember thinking those exact words. Never in a million years did I think I would have something to live for.

10/24/21

13:21 hours

After waking up from the nightmare. The one where losing my whole existence in a facetime call. Missy seen me jump up and asked me about my nightmare. She is about the only one who knows that I cant get more then a couple of hours of sleep.

We found this young kid yesterday. He was probably no more then 8 or 9. We found him a little to late. Damn shambler had gotten a hold of him. Bit him on the right forearm. Looking into this kids eyes. You could see the fear. He didn’t make a sound of pain or nothing.

I asked him if he had parents. He said his parents are the ones who bit him. His parents and his older brother were hiding in there house. His dad went outside to grab some firewood in the process one of the leeches had leeched him. Not knowing this he went back inside and turned overnite. The boy barely escaped his front door before his mom was able to bite him. He said that he was bitten 3 hours before. He was by far the longest I have seen live 3 hours after infection. He started getting tired around hour 5 since he was bitten he finally turned 6 hours after being bitten. Feeling like I just got this kids whole story in the hour and a half. I got to talk to him.

Maloney was the quiet one out of the whole group he was in the corner crying. He said that the kid was his sons friend. Maloneys family consisted of 3 girls and 2 boys. His wife was

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.