Horror logo

I Loved Being Maurice More Than Howie Mandel

How I Became A Little Monster

By Amber BamblerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Blacksheep Photography

Halloween 2020 has been really rough on my heart. Because of the way things played out for me through the pandemic and such, I just couldn't make a costume work this year. I figured I would take this opportunity to highlight one of my personal favorites from the past years.

While there are many a folk that consider my Beetlejuice to be the best, and while I personally have a soft spot for being The Mask, Maurice from the movie Little Monsters won the top spot in my pride column overall. I had been debating on creating this character for years but was slightly worried that the film wasn't well-known enough to win any contests (which is always my end goal).

In 2018, I said "Screw it, I have to do this. He checks all of my Halloween qualification boxes."

He's ridiculous and a fun character to act out.

He's unique. This is not a costume that you normally see around and even if someone isn't familiar with the film, they're going to take notice.

It's an artistic challenge. I knew I would have to make myself completely unrecognizeable with special effects makeup and of course I couldn't leave it at that. The dog hand scene was way too memorable of a moment (for me) to not add that as a cherry on top.

It's monetarily acheivable. One of my greatest skills is being able to think outside the box. I love being able to repurpose or upcycle inexpensive items without sacrificing integrity or attention to detail. I knew I could pull this whole costume off for less than $100.

And most importantly...

It satiates my nostalgic side, my inner child.

The Creation:

Horns: I sculpted air-drying Crayola modeling material, then painted with acrylic.

Dog Hand: It started with a glove and trying to sculpt the modeling material around it with one hand, so that was a fun challenge. After it was dry, I covered it in dyed fabric. The gums, teeth and nose were all sculpted, painted and then super glued directly to the fabric. Lastly, I used makeup to add the shading and the spots.

Vest: I found a fake leather jacket at Goodwill, cut off the arms, added a bunch of pins that I already had and hand-painted the image for the back patch.

Headpiece: The horns and a cut up Goodwill wig were super glued to a bald cap and then covered in makeup.

Makeup: Water-activated light blue Mehron Paradise, dark blue Ben Nye cream, eyeshadow and setting spray.

Details: Painted skeleton earring, sculpted modeling material on the ears, Goodwill denim shirt and Mehron Tooth Effects.

To give you a completely different idea of how the process actually goes, here is a direct status from that year:

Thoughts while I can't sleep:

Why do I prefer creating art on the floor?

I hope this costume is worth it.

My back is going to grow arms, grab a knife and murder me; it's so mad at me.

My clean sheets smell nice.

I do not smell nice.

I haven't showered in 3 days.

Why does my stomach hurt?

Oh, because I've eaten shitty food the whole week.

My stomach is going to grow arms, grab a baseball bat and murder me.

Man, I love Halloween.

Be ready for me 2021. I've got plans.

halloween
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.