Horror logo

I Guess I'm the Only Person Who Hates 'Midsommar'

'Midsommar' is getting good reviews, but is it justified?

By Iqbal HasanPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Poster for Midsommar

So the latest Ari Aster movie Midsommar has hit the theatres and has been getting raving reviews from all the biggest movie-orientated websites. IMDB gives it a 7.7/10, Rotten Tomatoes gives it a 81% and Metacritic gives it 73%. With scores like these, you would think that it's a really good movie, but for some reason, when I left the cinema, I couldn't help but think that this is one of the worst movies I have ever watched.

Let me start off by getting all the things about this movie that were good out of the way because it's not a total mess. It had decent acting, decent directing and some good visuals. Usually those things are what bring the movie down, but this movie is a special case. The biggest flaw for this movie is the actual story. Midsommar is actually an event that takes place in Sweden, but in this movie, the event is very sinister and gruesome, which would usually make a horror movie good, but in Midsommar, it's just kinda there and meaningless.

The actions of the characters also don't seem to make any sense whatsoever. If I saw two people commit suicide by jumping off a cliff and then another four people go over to one of the people who failed to die and smash their heads in, there would be nothing that could stop me from getting the hell out of there. My reaction definitely wouldn't be to be like, "I guess it's their tradition soooo," which is how most of the characters in this movie reacted. Maybe I'm asking for too much by asking for characters in a movie to act like real life people who make logical decisions, but I don't think that's being selfish.

A lot of things in this movie were also not needed and had no impact on the plot of the movie whatsoever. Such as at the beginning of the movie, one of the character's whole family commits suicide, yet it's never mentioned again and has no impact. There is also a very graphic sex scene which I wish that I had never seen.

The biggest thing about this movie that pisses me off has to be the ending; it doesn't exactly make sense, and it is left very open-ended. Movies are meant to have a climax; every story has a beginning, middle and end, yet this movie just seems to just start and finish two and a half hours later. Which, by the way, reminds me that the movie is way longer than it has any right to be. One minor problem that I had with the movie was the main character's cry. Dani Ardor, played by Florence Pugh, had the most annoying cry I have ever heard or seen, and it doesn't help that she seems to cry every two minutes. For some reason, every time she cries it sounds like she's choking and that she is going to vomit. I'm not sure if the actress doesn't know how to cry on screen or if that is her real cry, but either way, it made the movie a little worse for me.

To sum up, Midsommar was a very disappointing movie with a lot of flaws and a bad storyline, and if you have the chance to not see this movie, don't watch it. Hopefully Ari Aster doesn't make the same mistake when he makes his next movie, and maybe I won't be disappointed next time. If you genuinely enjoyed this movie, please let me know, as I am baffled by why anybody would enjoy it and would actually like to know.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Iqbal Hasan

I like comic books, video games and long walks on the beach. I also occasionally write some semi interesting articles.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.