Horror logo

Hunt for the Roseville cavemen

Me and my team hunt for the a little-know but violently territorial cryptid called the Roseville cavemen

By John becksonPublished 4 years ago 10 min read
2

When I was five, I had my first run in with the paranormal. “Night son” shaliesh radford (my adopted father) said as he shut the door to my room. I lay in my bed just as I drifted to sleep BAM!!! the door slams open with such force that the Handel puts a whole in the wall, it was as if someone in a anger forced it open, in fear I hid under my covers for a full minute before un-covering myself and gathering my courage I got out of bed, my black nike socks touching the wood floor as I go to the air vent to see if it was on and to my surprise it wasn’t, I then checked to see if my parents were asleep, sneaking down out 2 story, 3bedroom 4bath house to there room to find them fully asleep “what the hell” I said to myself... Of course I got grounded as my parents didn’t believe my explanation of that nights events, although I still was allowed to go to the gym (yes as a kid I was a big gym guy had a real lean muscles body vs the frame I have now, a lean yet slight pot bellied build albeit despite the slight roundness you can still see outline of the 6-pack I use to have and with just some toning up I will easily have them again)

However despite the grounding This experience kicked off an obsession with the paranormal, I bought all the books I could get my hands on and watched all the shows I could that were on cable, and spent 12 hours online studying parapsychology and cryptozoology and having autism and being a constant bully victim I substituted my lack of friendships with this hours and hours of research, eventually years later at 20 years old I graduated top of my class from LMH and youngest in my class with a PhD in cryptozoology and at the age of 23 (after being a freelance investigator) I formed a team with my friend friend Stephen jenkinson (a muscular yet portly red-headed 5ft 5inch tall young man of 21 years old ) as my right hand man/body guard, and his cousin Joey (as my body guard he is defined as “actions speak louder than words” type of man who is 23) and of course there is Stephen’s girlfriend... Athena (a lean built, and athletic young girl of 21 years old who comes from a long line of doctors specializing in hemetology)

this is Our first paranormal investigation we went on a hunt for a local cryptid that use to terrify me and my older brother as a kid, the Roseville cavemen. “So what the hell are we looking for doc” Stephen said to me as we drove down there “it is said to be a a night-visioned cave dwelling humanoid with a thin body long sharp claws and razor sharp pointed teeth and it lives in a cave on top of a mountain located in the woods behind my brothers mom run down looking farm house, this creature once attacked me as me and him were climbing echo cliff damn near lost my balancing if it wasn’t for him catching me literally last moment I would have fallen 20ft to my death” I then opened a screw-top daiquiri “sounds like you have a score to settle doc” Stephen’s girlfriend Athena said to me “oh your damn right I do” I replied to her, 4 hours later we got my brothers moms house and she greated us “you’ve put on weight” she said to me “ya well 10 different break ups can do that to you, but I still got the outline... anyway I’m not here to talk mrs. justice I’m here on buisiness” and then me and my team went into the large woods in her backyard. As me and my team started are decent into the wooded area, Athena tripped falling down the hill rolling like a ball down a hill, smashing against twigs crack crack crack, as she kicked up dirty rolling and groaning in pain with each roll till she finally fell off a mini 4ft drop landing on her back and slightly wounding her leg “oh shit” Stephen said descending faster after her “Stephen wait” I said as me and Joey went down after him. Stephen jumped off the 4ft drop and bent down and hugged her body asking if she was ok to which she replied that she was, much to a Stephens joy as the two embraced for a hug I climbed down there “hate to break up the romance channel, but can we keep going” I asked as the two looked at me and Athena flipped me off before Stephen helped her up and they walked ahead “think u ruined the moment doc” Joey said to me before walking ahead of me, and after a moment I to walked joining them and we all kept going.

Finally after what seemed like years we reached the mountain, it was just as big and dangerously steep as I remember as a kid, looking at it I had a flashback... me and my brother climbing it, the first time halfway up and I slipped right before I fell he grabbed my hand “I’m not loosing you bro” he told me as he pulled me up, I then flashback to the present as I told Athena we were climbing to the top of it and she looked to me and in a strong and surprised tone said “Bullshit” the expression on her face matches her ‘F this’ thought process as Athena has a fear of heights and this was like a heighphobics worst nightmare. “You don’t wanna come with us fine stay here” I remarked to her in an annoyed tone, but Stephen stepped in “hey watch your tone with my girl doc” he said to me “ok fine you know what you and her stay here just don’t turn this into basic instinct while me and Joey go do our job” this got me a punch in the face by Stephen, and I tackled him and pinned him on his back hitting him in the face 12 times but he knocked me off with a branch and kicked me in the gut 3 times but I kicked him in the balls then kicked him in the face with both feet as he bent over in pain then I grabbed a branch and hit him 20 times however I was hot in the hand with a C02 pellet gun dropping the branch and then Stephen tackled me and pinned me to a tree hit me in the gut, and the face over and over 20 times then throwing my body to the ground grabbed the gun from the bag Joey had on his back and pointed it at me point blank “hey, hey, hey wait.. Stephen look I...” however I was interrupted by him cocking the trigger back however he was told to “stop, it’s ok Stephen...it’s ok” We both looked over and it was Athena who said this as she put a hand gently on Stephens shoulder, and after hesitating he moved the gun from at my face shooting an inch near my head before giving the gun back to Joey who put it back in the backpack and helped me up, and me and Joey went on leaving Stephen and a the injured Athena behind.

As Joey and I climbed up the cliff, no gear or anything so we could very easily fall and die Joey even pointing this out to me “don’t worry man I did this a lot when I was a kid” I said back to him as we climbed our way up the 30ft rock cliff however midway up Joey slipped on the same place I did as a kid and just like my brother I caught him “I don’t think so” I said grabbing his hand as he dangled above the 20ft drop “pull me up” he said to me clearly afraid, I struggled to pull up the 180lb Joey “pull me up damnit!!!” He said as the rocks below my feet began to crack, “pull me up damn it or we both fall!!!!” We said begging and I used all my strength forcing him upwards just as the rock I was standing in crumbled off falling as we both just barley missed the fall ourselves. “Shit” he said “ya I know” I said back as he and I both proceeded to climb the rest of the way up to the cave, and when we reached the cave we both stood admiring it “wow” he said “ya I know, well let’s do what we came for” I remarked as we both entered the cave. As we enter the cave, it was cold, dark, and wet and you could clearly hear the echos off the wall, “turn on the flashlight” and Joey did as I said turning on the flashlight as I turned on the audio recorder “is there anything in here?!!” I asked as the sound of my voice echoed off the walls for a minute then it went silent again but I kept the recorder playing only to get white noise until at 2 hours into both me and Joey both jumped in startlement as we heard a loud screech echo from somewhere deep further on within the depths of the cave. This caused Joey to pull out the C02 pellet gun load and cock it ready to shoot as I told him not but as the screeches grew he fired rounds in the darkness, and was suddenly tackled by a creature the speed of it was such force that the wind from its jump knocked me backwards as it tackled Joey down and scrambled up the wall like a spider. Seeing Joey dropped the gun I shot at it 6 times then as it screeched out as I think one of the shots hit it as it scurried in the darkness “you ok” I asked and he nodded to me “we need to get out of here doc” Joey said clear fear in his voice “are u nuts we have a chance to capture this thing!!” I said although he grabbed me and pinned me to the wall. “Doc I admire your love of para-science but these things are violent, will kill us!!!” And before I could respond we heard more loud screeches only this time it sounded like there were more of them, and it sounded as if we were out numbered “we are out numbered, and outgunned doc” joey said as the screeches sound grew closer we decided to leave the cave and decended as fast as we could down the cliff. “Jesus you two look like you seen a ghost” Stephen said “no we saw are job” I remarked to him “is she doing better?” I looked to athena who nodded “good then maybe you can come with us next time after all, I am the leader I have more experience than all of you armatures I lead the team I made it, this is my team, u ever fight me again get out of my team” Stephen and Athena both didn’t say anything they simply nodded in response “now let’s all go home and get some rest” I said and we all proceeded to walk back up to me brothers moms house so we can drive back home.

However as we walked back I told the others to go to the car and how me and Stephen will meet up with them, “Stephen I know the day I introduced u to her was the best in your life and I know u love her but your thinking with your D, bad Stephen, bad, I lead this team don’t let your feelings for her cloud your judgement Stephen or forget that I lead this team” to this Stephen nodded “yes sir” he said to me “good” I replied as we both then headed to the car to meet up the the others as we to got into the RV and with that we all drove back to town to get some breakfast to go and in search of our next adventure.... god I love my job as a cryptozoologist, you know my family said I’d never be anything the moment I got my doctorate certification but I knew the moment I found this platform that I found an outlet to tell the stories of me and my teams hunts and I love it

monster
2

About the Creator

John beckson

My original last name was torrence, was interested all my life in the unknown I got a doctorate certification in cryptozoology (among other certifications, and my recent of april 8th 2020, I got a certification in investigative journalism)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.