Horror logo

Horror fiction story where a haunted mirror reveals an alternate reality

The Gateway to Darkness: A Haunted Mirror's Terrifying Revelation Mirror, Mirror on the Wall: When Reflections Reveal a Horrifying Alternate Reality

By Mohan Kumar GBPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. It was like looking into a parallel universe where everything was the same, yet different. My reflection had a sinister smile and dark eyes that seemed to follow me as I moved. It was as if the mirror was alive, and it was trying to lure me into its world.

At first, I thought it was just my imagination, but as I stared into the mirror, I realized that something was wrong. The reflection wasn't just a reflection; it was an alternate reality that was slowly bleeding into my world. The longer I stared into the mirror, the more I could feel the pull of the other world, and the more I could see the changes in my own reality.

I tried to look away, but it was like the mirror had a hold on me. I was drawn to it like a moth to a flame. It was like a strange addiction that I couldn't break free from. Every time I looked into the mirror, I could see more of the other world. It was like watching a movie, except the characters were real, and they were staring back at me.

At first, the changes were small. Objects would move on their own, and I would catch glimpses of strange creatures out of the corner of my eye. But as time went on, the changes became more drastic. The sky outside turned red, and the air was thick with the stench of rotting flesh. The people on the street were no longer human; they were twisted, grotesque versions of themselves, with eyes that glowed in the dark.

I tried to tell myself that it was just a nightmare, but the evidence was all around me. My friends and family were disappearing one by one, replaced by twisted versions of themselves. The mirror was like a gateway to a world that should never have existed, and it was slowly destroying my reality.

I knew that I had to destroy the mirror, but it was easier said than done. Every time I tried to smash it, the glass would reform itself. It was like the mirror had a life of its own, and it was fighting back. I was trapped, and there seemed to be no way out.

As the days went by, I started to lose my grip on reality. The mirror had become my obsession, and I was consumed by its power. I could hear the whispers of the other world, calling out to me, telling me to join them. The temptation was too strong, and I knew that if I gave in, I would be lost forever.

It was then that I realized that the only way to break the spell was to sacrifice myself. I took the mirror and plunged it into my chest, feeling the sharp glass tear through my flesh. For a moment, everything went black, and I thought that it was all over.

But then I heard a sound, like the cracking of glass, and I opened my eyes. The mirror was shattered, and the alternate reality was gone. My own reality had returned, but I was changed forever. I knew that I would never be the same again, and that the memory of the other world would haunt me for the rest of my life.

I had stared into the abyss, and it had stared back. The mirror had shown me a reality that was beyond comprehension, and it had almost claimed me. But I had fought back, and I had won. I had faced my own demons and emerged victorious, but at what cost? The memory of that alternate reality would be with me forever, a reminder of the horrors that lurked just beyond the veil of our reality.

fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.