Horror logo

Hired Hearts

Chapter 2

By Chloe HolzmanPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1

“Portia!” I cry, tripping over myself as I run towards the burning building. Did she make it out? Is she still alive? The last time she saw me was looking up at me in fear and disgust from the ground of the parking lot this morning. I have to find her.

As I stumble forward, a policeman reaches out and grabs my arm. I try to shake him off, but his grip is locked. He is saying something, but I hear only the crash of the building’s guts beginning to crumble.

“I have to get to my sister Portia! Let go!” I feel the grip around my arm become tense. I hesitate and glance at the policeman. His brow is furrowed.

“You are Portia’s brother? Kane Birch?” he asks. I nod. “Let’s step over here sir. I have a couple questions.”

I glance back at the office, then head over to a parked ambulance with the policeman. He sits me on the back gate. Why does he look worried?

“Sir,” he begins, “can you tell me why you weren’t at work just now?”

“My…boss, Craig. He is home sick. He needed me to deliver a file this morning.” I look around. Why is no one else being questioned? I see Misty being wrapped in a blanket to my left.

“And sir, what is your relationship like with your sister? Are you on good terms?” My gaze jolts back to the officer. What sort of questions are these?

“I’m sorry, but have you found my sister? Did she make it out alright?” I ask.

“Sir, we have reports from several employees of a physical altercation this morning between you and your sister.” They must have seen us from the windows. Shameful. “Now is this a common occurrence for the two of you?” I jump to my feet.

“Hold on. I have never hurt my sister, and I never will!” The officer looks doubtful.

“Sir, we know you hurt her this morning. There is no use lying to me. Now, we are going to check in with your boss and check the security footage once the area is cleared. For now, please remain right here until we get further word about the fire. We do know that this seems to have been caused intentionally. I regret to inform you that your sister did not make it out.” I sink down to my seat on the ambulance’s back gate as the officer turns and joins an EMT attending to another employee.

Portia is gone. And they think I hurt her on a regular basis…they don’t know that I would do anything to protect her. If I had been there, I would have been the last one out if that’s what it took to save her. If I had I had been here, I would have…he asked me questions about where I was…they think I did this! They think I tried to hurt her again! I have to get out of here. I have to find out what really happened. Who really did this. Hold on…Craig wasn’t at the office either. And he didn’t even seem sick. I knew he was a creep. I have to get to him. He did this, I’m sure of it.

I look around. No one seems to be paying me much attention. I hop off the back of the ambulance and slide around the side of the vehicle. My car is only a few feet away. I walk over, and with one more glance to be sure, I’m in my car and driving away.

In a matter of minutes I’m back at Craig’s home. I hammer on the blistered wood of his door. No answer. I hammer again. Finally I hear the dull thuds of his heavy footsteps. The door swings wide, and I charge past him.

“You did this to her!” I scream. “She is gone because you couldn’t accept that she doesn’t and will never want you!” He is a blank slate, no reaction. “You got someone to set the fire…and…and Portia is gone because of you.”

“Gone?” he gasps. “What fire? What do you mean gone?”

Sure, he is going to play stupid. He can’t risk me finding out the truth. But it’s too late. I figured it all out. I advance.

“You couldn’t have Portia, so you didn’t want anyone to have her! You are a killer!” I howl and lunge at him. He is knocked backward against the wall and I grab his head.

“I-Know-What-You-Did!” I yell, pounding his head against the wall with every word. On the last syllable, I hear a crack, and he goes limp. I immediately release him and he collapses to the floor, leaving a trail of blood down the wall like a snail’s trail. I fall to my knees in tears. I have lost her for good, and there isn’t anything I can do about it.

Behind my sobs, I hear the phone ring. It goes to the answering machine.

“Mr. Ventana, this is Officer Hope. I’m investigating a fire at your office. Please give me a call, I would love to speak with you. I have some questions about one of your employees, Mr. Kane Birch. He is a person of interest and he is missing. My number is 724-391-6489. Thanks.” The machine beeps.

They are too late. The murderer has already received his trial and verdict. When they come to meet with him….they will come here when he doesn’t answer the message. They will find what I did. I have to get out of here.

I climb up to my feet and exit the crime scene. Because that’s what it is now- a crime scene. I reach my car, place my hand on the door handle, and freeze. Something moved at the corner of the house. I turn to see what fluttered in the corner of my vision. And a man steps forward.

“Hi Kane. I have been following you since you arrived at the fire. I know what you did, and I know you need my help. You need to come with me.”

To be Continued

psychological
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.