Horror logo

Hidden Containment

Caution Chapter 1

By Edgar RomeroPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Hidden Containment
Photo by Ray Shrewsberry on Unsplash

Middle of the night on the front porch lays a wooden box that has a history to it, just by looking at it.

Living in the middle of nowhere, where the post office or even any online delivery services are unable to reach. No known neighbors close by or any human able to connect with.

I chose to take a break from the world and any form of connections.

Saved up enough money while quitting my job to start a new life in the middle of nowhere to self reflect and find what i truly want in my life.

People in my life see it as running away from all my problems. Not a single person knows where i'm staying or even know my new phone number, well expect the man who sold me the house.

All that being said, who or what would place this mysterious box on my front porch. Unless someone followed me back from the 40 minute drive from the grocery store to my hidden house but i would have noticed them from a distance.

My little hidden house is not that easy to find. You would have to put in some effort to find it successfully. It's off the main road and hidden by trees.

No way it could have been an animal because it was perfectly placed facing me as i opened the door. the landowner send the key through the mail. He lives across the states, never met the guy.

Outside Looking around for any clues. The full moon beams at my face, with such force. I kicked the box to the bushes without even opening to see what it might contain.

The next following day i went to town to see if anyone was paying any special attention to me. In my mind i thought, i'm just paranoid and should let it go.

While scanning my items at the self check out, I've felt s a strong stare from across the store. I looked up and noticed a older woman looking at me without any movement with a soulless stare.

Walking out the store without looking in the same direction where the woman was standing. Feeling some sort of fear throughout my whole body, I quickly threw my items in the trunk and sprinted towards the drivers seat. I don't know why i'm feeling tremendous fear over a harmless woman.

Parked my car in a spacious in the woods. Grabbed all my items in one hand and started to take the trail into the woods that leads to my house.

Looking around mother nature I've noticed dead birds on the floor, Speed walking now, running towards the front door without looking back, blood drips from the front door handle. Looking down i see the same box from the night before, perfectly placed.

What is this! some kind of cruel prank or some witchcraft that crazy locals might have done to scare me off.

Pulled out my cellphone to call the man whom i bought this house from.

The man answered, Let me guess strange things are happening.

Yes! what kind of sick joke are you playing here! yelling at the top of my lungs.

Sorry young man you bought the house "sold as is" without asking any questions or who lived here before or any history.

Open the box and you'll get some answers.

He hung up right after that.

Pissed off, went straight towards the box. losing any form fear of whatever is happening around me.

As soon as i open the box all creatures in the woods start to screech loudly for a few seconds then suddenly everything quiets down. The leafs on the trees stop without a breeze or even life.

An old school key lays inside the box.

Footsteps are heard inside the house. Heavy footsteps pacing back and forth. someone or something is inside the house.

fictionslashersupernaturalpsychological
Like

About the Creator

Edgar Romero

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.