Horror logo

Hello?

A paranormal horror short

By Jasmine AguilarPublished about a month ago 5 min read
1
Image created via Canva

I laid in bed waiting for sleep to consume me. Just when my eyes grew heavy and I found myself caught between reality and the dream world, I heard a phone ring.

I was about to check my phone wondering who could be calling and just how important it could be, at this hour.

And then I realized my ringtone didn’t even sound remotely like the ringing phone I heard.

Rrring! Rrring!

The ringing phone was noticeably loud and drawn out and sounded like one of those antique rotary phones. I sat straight up at this very realization, my eyes wide with confusion.

I scanned the dark room trying to make sense of the ringing phone. What was even more perplexing was that I didn’t even have a landline. I had given that up years ago.

I was so dumbfounded by where the mysterious ringing was coming from that it took me a moment to realize it had stopped.

Silence. Not a sound except for the usual I hear night after night. The ticking clock. The singing cicadas. The whoosh of the occasional car passing by. No phone ringing.

I waited a few more seconds before slipping back under the covers. I laid still waiting and waiting for the phone to ring again before brushing it off as a dream. My mind deceiving me at my most vulnerable between the dream world and reality.

I let my body get comfortable again and closed my eyes.

Rrring! Rrring!

My eyes shot open and this time I threw myself out of bed and turned the light on.

Rrring! Rrring!

Not thinking clearly and caught somewhere between fear and annoyance (it was 1 o’ clock in the morning and I just wanted to sleep), I started opening up every drawer. My night stand drawer. My dresser drawers. I opened the closet door and rummaged through every box haphazardly throwing things to the side like a mad person.

I naturally followed the source of where the ringing was coming from, but as I attempted to do so, I realized that the ringing was coming from nowhere in particular. It seemed to be coming from all directions at once. I had to be losing my mind. I hesitated before shutting my closet door and turning back towards my room.

That’s when I saw it. A small toy phone lying in the middle of the floor. It was my youngest child’s phone. I swear it wasn’t there before. I walked towards it slow. Almost afraid.

No. It couldn’t be. I heard that toy phone go off more times than I care to keep count. It’s ring did not sound remotely close to that. I picked up the phone and turned it over.

Rrring! Rrring!

My heart skipped, my face grew pale, and I nearly dropped the phone. I switched the toy phone off maybe a little too forcefully than needed. There! That was the end of that!

I placed the phone on top my nightstand for now and turned out the lights. I laid there letting my body get comfortable again and ready to succumb to sleep.

Rrring! Rrring!

The ringing chilled me to my core as I lied there under the covers unable to move. There was no way. I turned that phone off. I lied there debating what to do. I was actually and pathetically afraid of a kid’s toy phone!

It continued to ring as I reached over and grabbed it off the stand. Why I did what I did next, I do not know.

I answered it.

“Hello?”

There was no sound, obviously as anyone would expect with a kid’s toy phone. And then, I heard it. First as dial tone and then the laughter of a child. The child’s voice echoed on the other end of the receiver with a chilling high pitched ghostly laughter.

“Hello?” the ghostly child’s voice giggled tauntingly.

I dropped the phone on my bed and stared at it in a trance of sheer disbelief. This wasn’t possible! This phone wasn’t even real!

I ripped open the back of the phone, tore out the batteries, and threw them in my night stand. Now it would be impossible for this phone to make any noise.

I fell back onto my bed my mind whirling with exhaustion. I calmed myself and took a deep breath. It was over. I could finally go to sleep.

Rring! Rring!

I grabbed the phone and heard the ghostly child’s laughter again. It was faint yet pierced me with fear.

“Leave me alone!” I yelled into the toy phone, my voice shaking. Unsure of what to do next and very well because I might have lost my mind, I took the phone outside, and threw it as far as I could into my back yard. If it did ring, I wouldn’t hear it. I went back inside, my heart pounding. I took a slow breath. It was over. No. This time, it really was over!

The next morning, I saw the phone laying in the grass and picked it up. There was nothing unusual about it. Even though the back was off and the batteries removed, I held the phone up to my ear, almost afraid.

“Hello?” No chilling child’s laughter. No sound whatsoever. I dropped the toy phone back onto the ground.

It was absolutely pathetic that I would be afraid of a toy phone.

supernaturalfiction
1

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.