Horror logo

He Only Watched by:rosalezom

Horror man

By Shamshath BegamPublished 3 months ago 4 min read
1

I'm really scared and I don't know what to do. I don't even know what happened. I called the police and made a report. My parents are on their way home now. They should be horne in a few hours, hopefully before it gets dark. I don't want to be here by myself.

My parents asked me to watch their house for a few days while they went out of town. It was really no problem, I'm on break between classes and had absolutely no plans this weekend. I packed some clothes and things and made the half hour drive, looking forward to my weekend smoking pot, watching some movies on their big TV, and relaxing. The area is going through a cold spell and big globs of snow had begun to fall yesterday morning and well into the night. Around 2 AM this morning I was still up, just relaxing on the couch and decided I was going to go out and get some food. I briefly looked for my phone but couldn't find it. It had been on the side table beside me but it was no longer there. I figured I must have left it in the bathroom or something and shrugged it off. I bundled up, grabbed my keys, and was barely able to drive my car out of the steep, snow-laden driveway. It was a bad idea, stupid to go out in this weather, but I was high and hungry and nothing was going to stop me from a midnight burrito.

The snow had started to fall even harder on my way back to the house and by the time I got back there there was a thick build up of snow on the driveway. Instead of parking at the end by the garage I decided to park behind my dad's old truck. It was still halfway down the driveway but it would be easier to pull out in the morning.

As I was getting out of the car a slight movement caught my eye. Something moved in the truck ahead of me. It was very dark but I could just make out the silhouette of a head in the driver's seat. I froze. There was a man in my dad's truck. I slowly got back in my car and shut and locked the doors. I wasn't sure if he had seen me. I kept watching the head and I realized, in the rear view mirror of the truck, I could see his eyes illuminated by the porch light. He was watching me. He knew I was there and he was staring right at me.

My heart was pounding and I started to feel dizzy with fear. Immediately I reached into my pocket for my phone. I cursed at myself when I remembered I had left without it. If only I had taken the time to look for it. I was still watching the man watching me. I put my keys in the ignition and started the car. When the engine started, the man suddenly opened the door and jumped out of the truck. I panicked and slammed on the gas but my car couldn't get traction in the snow. It started to turn rather than backup and the more I pressed the gas, the more diagonal my car became.

The man stood beside the truck facing me. He didn't move, he just stood there and watched me. I tried to back up again and decided it was no use, the snow had me stuck. I was so scared. The man didn't walk towards me, he only stood and watched. I briefly contemplated getting out of the car and running but I knew if I did, the man would catch me. I knew the man wanted to do something horrible. I had no choice but to sit there and watch him watch me.

The snow was still falling and my car grew cold. I turned up the heat and continued to sit there, not knowing what else I could do. I thought the man would get back in the truck but he didn't. He stood there and let the snow collect on his shoulders. His eyes are blank and expressionless.

It felt like hours passed and he was still there. Still watching. He hadn't moved an inch. It was hard to look directly at his eyes. There were dark and cold and conjured a feeling inside me too horrible to explain. I willed myself to stay awake but the heat and the weed was taking its toll and eventually I dozed off.

I woke up feeling stiff and confused. When I remembered where I was immediately turned on my windshield wipers to wipe away the snow that had collected on my window. It was dusk now, and the man was gone. The truck door was still open but there was no trace of the man. Wait, no... that's not true. The only trace left of the man was the footsteps in the snow leading to the passenger side of my car. It was then that I determined I would not be safe in the house, even with the doors locked. On the car seat lay my phone, and with dread I realized that the passenger side floor was covered in snowy footprints.

psychologicalslashermonster
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mohamed Nasrudeen2 months ago

    Like it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.