Horror logo

Having Hope.

Ten years ago, the government released a virus to kill most of the human population. My name is Erik, I’m one of the last survivors if you can hear this. You are not alone. We can kill them. We can survive. We are the last hope to save ourselves.

By Taylor OrrPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Having Hope.
Photo by Daphnée Chédru on Unsplash

Ten years ago, the government released a virus to kill most of the human population. The ones who did survive were the lucky ones. We were sent to a city where we had to live and continue. But we found out that the government wasn’t done with their plans. They cut our food supplies after a year or two. Some of the survivors had died from a sickness they ended up getting.

We had to do something cause more people started to get sick knowing that the Government had released another virus. A group of us decided to run for it to getaway. Because I don’t feel like dying as my family did. I have my mother’s heart locket to keep as a good luck charm. It was only I want to say about twenty of us decided to run. We each had a task, getting food, a car, gas for the car, water, and other needs.

The day had arrived for us to leave and we almost didn’t due to the government finding out that we were leaving. We had had to rush things quickly so we could leave, some of the other survivors decided to help us and make it look like their group was the one leaving while we left undetected. We rode for a while and we saw ruins all around since we were in the city and weren’t allowed to leave the world changed Plants had overgrown where they were, and more animals roam free. It felt so different being out of the city.

We stop when the sun was almost done and we had to set up camp, we shouldn’t have done it where we were at. While everyone was asleep, I stayed up since we did take shifts to watch everyone. I heard noises, like loud growls, moans, even screams that were neither from us nor from the city we were too far from to hear screams. I had a gut feeling that something else was with us and we didn’t know what the hell it was.

The following morning one of the tents was destroyed and the lone survivor that was there, I believe his name was Cyrus, was gone. There was no trace of him on where he went. None of us questioned it, cause he could have just left us and destroyed his tent.

We continued stopping every two hours or so depending on how much we had to gas up. As soon as we ran out of gas, we decided to walk. It was a long day, it was long until we found another city. We went to stores to get supplies for the group. We all stopped when we heard a roar. We quickly ran to hide some of us like me when out to hide. Yea stupid of me, but three of us got into a car and lay low.

The roof of the dented something jumped on top of it. We all held our breath afraid that whatever that was, was going to find us. It left not long after, but we didn’t move until we heard tapping on the window, I looked up to see and it was the others finding us. We quickly got out, grabbed our stuff, and left. We now know that we are not alone out here.

A few years have passed since that happened. Some of us stayed together, some didn’t, and left on their own. We did run into more of the creature, which I believe were caused by the virus. Some of my group didn’t make it because of them. I travel alone more than I should but It’s easier for me. I went looking to see what the government was up to but found nothing. No trace at all.

I went back to the main city to see if anyone was still there. There was nothing but blood in almost every place I checked. I can tell that the creature was here but a few years ago due to the way the blood dried up. I went back out and found a place. I build from there. A small group of maybe five found me. I decided that they can stay. It turns out that the government had different cities located other survivors.

It was until a few days ago, we killed one. Finally killed one. It really didn’t look human but more like an animal, but one of my group was a doctor and was able to cut it open and it was indeed a human. She’s now trying to study it as much as she can so we know what we are dealing with.

My name is Erik, I’m one of the last survivors if you can hear this. You are not alone. We can kill them. We can survive. We are the last hope to save ourselves.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.