Horror logo

Haunting of Lakeside

Guest Journal of Room 3

By Don MoneyPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
2
Haunting of Lakeside
Photo by Photoholgic on Unsplash

Nibi County Sheriff's Department

Case File: 2018/218

Evidence Tag: Guest Journal- Lakeside Bed and Breakfast Bedroom #3

//////////

June 15, 2015

First entry in the new journal it looks like! I bet a wonderful place like yours here you have to change the journals out often. We very much enjoyed our stay here. The weather could not have been better for our hike around the lake. The breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the Lakeside. We only had one issue, there was some water that ran into our room from under the hallway door. My husband looked around but did not see where it came from. You may have a leaky pipe somewhere. Thanks again. Charlie and May

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------June 20th

Best stay we have ever experienced in our travels. Mary, you make the best biscuits and gravy. Tom, you are a great storyteller and are quite the prankster, telling us that ghost story on the front porch and then later rattling the door knob at two in the morning. The wife though didn’t appreciate it as much as I did. Thanks for the hospitality. Until we make it back to these parts again, stay safe.

Your friends, Matt and Carol

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Jun 24, 2015

Thanks for the midweek hospitality. Sorry for the middle of the night noise. I guess I spilled some water from a bottle on the floor and when Gary got up to go to the bathroom he slipped in it and hit the floor pretty hard. I’m sure since your room is below us that probably startled you both. He swears that I reached out and shoved him as he passed by my side of the bed. The Clarks

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ 6/27/15

I know this journal is really more for positive thoughts generally but we did have an issue with another guest staying here. In the middle of the night someone would lightly tap on our door and say it was Lilly. Everytime my husband went to the door no one was there. It happened three different times. I am assuming it was the daughter of someone else staying here since Mary mentioned that the two of you don’t have any children. I don’t know if you will see this before the other family checks out so you can let them know their child was running amok at night.

Teri and Dean Southerland

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- July 1

Loved the stay. Loved the quiet lakeside atmosphere. Thanks for pointing out the nice little Italian place to grab dinner at. The waitress gave us an uncomfortable look after we mentioned we were staying at The Lakeside. She said it was a shame what happened to your little girl all those years ago. Our belated condolences. We will miss this wonderful breakfast Tom bragged that you make, but we have to get an early start as Todd is insistent on making it to his business convention by noon. Cindy and Todd

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3rd of July

I am not sure if you figured out that scream from down by the lake in the middle of the night was. It sent us both bolting up out of bed. Gary is sure it was a panther, I think it sounded like a little girl. We crept downstairs and went out on the porch and saw the trail of water that looked like it was leading up from the lake and thought Tom must have gone down there to check it out and fell in. A little disappointed that we didn’t see you this morning but did appreciate the breakfast to go boxes you left for us outside the door. Hopefully all is well.

Louise and Gary T.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 7/7/15

Hard to sleep with the crying noise coming through the vents. Nice place, nice lake view, but not peaceful. Lily Armstrong

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- July 10-14

Thank you for the lovely accommodations. I was able to get much of my research down during the stay. Thanks for allowing me to do all my dining in my room. I wasn’t trying to be antisocial but this university grant I am writing on has a deadline. The isolation helped me get it completed. I did come across an article while doing research at the county library about the drowning of your daughter Lilly in 2000. I am sure her loss is still felt by you all these years later. I hope to get back here with my wife for a proper vacation stay. Thanks, Dr. Ramis Beck

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 7/15

Thanks for being understanding and not charging us for the second night that we can’t stay for. We enjoyed the hospitality and the supper Mary made. Don’t worry we aren’t those sue happy type of folks. Kevin is clumsy, as it is already, and the water on the stairs made for a bad combo. Luckily all that happened was some bruises to his body and ego. Kevin was irritated at me because he said he heard me giggle like a little girl when he fell. Beth and Clumsy Kevin (don’t tell him I called him that if we come back this way)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------July 19 & 20

Mary, Sorry that last night while we were all on the front porch sitting I upset you when I joked that I really didn’t miss the kids at home and was enjoying some un-mommy time. Tom explained after you went in that y'all have never been able to have kids. It was very insensitive of me. I do love my children. I was just trying to be funny. A little bit of karma came my way though. I woke up to find all my clothes in my luggage were soaking wet. There was no leak in the ceiling over it so I’m guessing one of us left a water bottle in the suitcase and it leaked out. It's a bit of a mystery. Thanks for breakfast, Tom was a gracious host, sorry you didn’t feel like coming out to the dining room.

Brett and Bobbi Const

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 7/22-

Just being noisy and reading back through the comments of other guests. A couple of people mentioned you told them you don’t have kids, but I read where a guest found an article where you did have a daughter but she died.

I can’t believe I wrote that last night. It was very insensitive of me. My guilty conscience let me have it while I slept because I heard a voice in my head say “it was all our fault they weren’t watching me.” I hope if you read what I wrote before it doesn’t upset you.

Austin P.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 25 July

We mostly enjoyed the stay. The lake was nice today when we sat out during the day. When we took a lakeside walk after dark, I’m guessing some teenagers thought it would be funny to throw buckets of water at us. Hank got so disoriented he fell into the lake and got snagged on something and barely made it back up to the surface. He was really mad and called the sheriff’s department to make a report. Sorry it caused all the fuss with the other guest when the deputies showed up. - Dana and Hank

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------August 1, 2015

Appreciate the great conversation gathered up on the porch after supper last night. My ghost stories brought out the mischievous side of one of the other guests. I guess I had it coming when someone rattled the door and growled to leave or die. Luckily for me Cheryl is a heavy sleeper and didn’t hear it.

The O’Malley’s

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 8/4/15

This. Place. Is. Haunted. Never coming back!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------August 8th to 10th

Thanks for the great food and the tip on where to rent a good canoe. It looks like the person who had the room before us was a little bit off their rocker. Everything for us was perfect, especially the chilly room. After such a hot day yesterday, I was afraid the room would be stifling, but it was just perfect. Not sure why the two other couples at breakfast complained about it being too warm. I guess we had our own little private air conditioner. Hope to get a room here again.

Helveta / Jimmy

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Aug 15, 2015

This will not be the only place I lodge my complaint. I am not sure if you are owned by a larger company but I intend to find out. The police coming out was just the beginning of your problems. You were both very dismissive of what happened in the middle of the night. When our daughter, Lilliana, screamed from the other room we rented and we went in and found red marks on her neck you acted very shocked but it seemed like you weren’t surprised. The officer said this was not his first strange call out to the Lakeside Bed and Breakfast. We will be contacting a lawyer when we get home.

Gina Sandler

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 1st of October

Mary and Tom, I am writing in your guest journal but you will never see it unless the police show it to you, which I hope they do. I am taking this journal as evidence of the paranormal wrongdoings that are going on at your bed and breakfast. After hearing the story of what happened to some friends of mine while they were guests there in room three, I was immediately suspicious that they had been witness to otherworldly forces. Over the last month I have exhaustively researched the happenings of the Lakeside Bed and Breakfast. From police reports to archived newspaper articles to interviewing people close to you, I pieced together the entire story.

Your daughter Lilly was upset because she felt you often ignored her in favor of your business. One day at the lake you had both left her alone to go handle an issue with a guest and she drowned. Lilly’s ghost haunts this place now seeking revenge on those she feels took you away from her. That information led me to the other research I did. I spoke with dozens of paranormal experts and the conclusion they all left me with is to destroy the place that holds Lilly here.

I waited until I knew that no one was there at the bed and breakfast. I broke in and stole the journal. As this journal is delivered to the Nibi County Sheriff's Department I will have already burned down the Lakeside and with it Lilly’s link to this world. I hope she gains rest in moving on and I hope you have peace in this too.

fiction
2

About the Creator

Don Money

Don Money was raised in Arkansas on a farm. After ten years in the Air Force, he returned to his roots in Arkansas. He is married with five kids. His journey to become a writer began in the sixth grade when he wrote his first short story.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.