Horror logo

Haunted Movie

Or real life?

By the nomadic trioPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
#missingchildrenornah?

What is it with old vacant homes that bring out the fear in us? What about those falling apart marionettes? Especially those that are supposed to be clowns? I blame Stephen King and his story, IT. The literal God of horror he is. I still blame my mother for getting into all things old, ghostly and haunted; though I'm not mad about it. It just gave me a better appreciation for Halloween and how it can be just as pretty as Christmas lights on a snowy night. If you know what to look for that is.

Does everyone have a primal fear of old vacant homes because of past horror films watched? Or was it a fear passed down from ancestors past? Demon possessions and ghost sightings/hauntings have always been a part of every culture and warnings passed down from one generation to the next. Similar to the Exorcist (based on the true story of the St. Louis possession) and Stephen Kings Pennywise feeding on the souls of little children. So who do we blame for that fear? Stephen King or the ancestors mistakenly summoning the horned demon when attempting to communicate a dearly departed loved one? I'm blaming both. King gave me an irrational fear of clowns and the Exorcist gave me an excuse to pray to God so my soul was maybe safe from being the next demon possessed person the Vatican had to swoop in to save. It never deterred me from stopping at random abandoned houses and cemeteries to look for ghost sightings. Or to find out if the urban legend tied to that location was true or not.

so what happened here?

These kind of locations are creepy within their own right because why the hell not? Looking at the depleted beauty of once was, I'm sure, an absolute gorgeous farm house in its day. When I stopped by to have a gander at it up close, I would be lying if I said I wasn't looking for that little red balloon. Talk about having a legitimate reason to sh*t bricks if I had. But what happened to the family that once lived here? Up and move? Or an untimely death? Either way, it's a place where nightmares of shape shifting demons and poltergeists are born now. Is that why they left? Can you imagine the horror stories that were possibly born here? Think the Conjuring movie and the Perron family. Is the story similar here? The possibilities here are endless.

impaled or broken?

The vinyl record and impaled clown man are kinda creepy within itself. But it makes me wonder if it gives an accurate depiction of the houses age and image of the family in its glory days. Either that or someone is completely screwing with minds by nailing it to the front post. I went back three days later and the clown man moved to the metal post, sitting there like it was keeping watch over the property. To stake out its next victim. Is it though? If I'm going to believe that there are ghosts and children eating demons, why wouldn't be possible that one isn't residing in this little creepy clown man like Annabelle? And should I be nice to it in hopes that it doesn't cause destruction in my life similar to Robert the doll? Maybe I should have asked permission for photos but nothing bad has happened has of yet; so maybe I'm safe in the assumption that the thing is just simply a left behind childhood doll.....or is it?

urban legend
Like

About the Creator

the nomadic trio

Just a nomad with two cats who refuses to live with most of societies rules. And who doesn’t like to occasionally change up their views with rent free living?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.