Horror logo

Haunted Home

My first house

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
7
Haunted Home
Photo by Alexis Montero on Unsplash

I was a new home owner. At the age of twenty seven this was probably the biggest thing to ever happen to me. No mortgage either. A full on home owner. I had gotten it for super cheap because apparently the previous owner had some sort of psychotic breakdown and then died in the front lawn from a heart attack. He had been screaming something about ghosts according to the realtor. I figured I would buy some sage, call my spiritual friend over, maybe hire a professional to cleanse the house. It's not that I'm scared of ghosts but I'd rather not live with one either.

So that's exactly what I did. Except that both my friend and the spiritual cleanser told me I should leave the house immediately. I of course told them I wouldn't be. I was a freaking home owner! No way was I going to leave this place. The cleanser left me five amulets for free amazingly enough. Telling me it probably wouldn't do much good but that they would help a little. My friend told me she wouldn't be coming over again.

The first month went by smoothly enough. No problems that I could find. The house was an absolute dream. Nothing needed to be fixed. I didn't even have to repaint. This house was a true dream come true. I was keeping the amulets on my coffee table in plain open view. I would know if anything happened to them immediately.

After the first month though everything started to go downhill. One morning I woke up to the largest of the amulets shattered and I do mean shattered. Literally hundreds of pieces and it was just only as big as a fist. It hadn't fallen from the table. I knew this because all of the pieces were still on the table. I swept it up and put all the pieces into a small box. I saw no point in throwing it away. It might still somehow come in handy. The morning after the other four were shattered now as well. This time there were no discernable pieces. They were all ground into dust. I swept the dust into the box as well. At this point I almost considered leaving, trying to sell the house off but I just couldn't stand the idea of having to go back to an apartment or god forbid my parents place.

A week passed after the amulets broke with no incident. I actually started to forget about the amulets when things started happening again. I woke up one night to the sound of footsteps. Loud clunking footsteps that rattled the floor just a bit. I hopped up out of bed running out of my bedroom armed with a nerf bat that I kept by the door. I half expected there would be no one there and yet I was still surprised when I saw no one. As soon as I opened the door the footsteps stopped. I went ahead and walked the whole house just to make sure no one was here. I went back to bed hoping that maybe I had just had a bad dream that made me think that I had heard footsteps.

When I woke up in the morning nothing was out of place and I felt a bit more at ease. I went to work and the store, not returning home until late. When I arrived home and went to put away the groceries I found most of my cabinets opened up. Nothing removed, just open cabinets. I sighed and made sure to close them all up, deciding I just wouldn't think about it. If I had a playful poltergeist who wanted to play pranks then who I was to stop him. If I had only known what was coming I would have run right then and there. Not that it would have mattered.

I started having more and more incidents like the cabinets happening. Doors, other cabinets in the house, and various drawers kept getting opened. Then it was the lights that started being turned on or off. But it was all still playful fun. Nobody was getting hurt and all it put me out for was having to close things or mess with the lights. I dealt with it for two months before I said something, "Hey so poltergeist person? Could you please tone down messing with everything? You don't have to stop, just maybe not do it as much." I was met with silence initially which I expected but then suddenly all of the food in my pantry blew out across the floor. I set about cleaning things up hoping that this wouldn't happen again.

There were no other issues for the rest of the evening. I was surprised after the outburst but I took it as a good sign of things to come. When I woke up the next morning all was well till I came out to the living room. My couch had been lifted and placed on one of its ends now vertical instead of horizontal. I sighed to myself and slowly lowered the couch back down to the way it should be. After that I went and got myself some breakfast taking all of five minutes tops. When I came back to the living room to take a seat and watch some television the couch was back up on its end again. I set it back down again and watched my television till it shorted out. I groaned, "Alright then. You've forced my hand. The last person I called in was obviously an amateur. So now I'll call in some big guns."

I went down to the local Catholic church and talked to the local priest about my problem. How it had evolved and what I wanted done. Which was somebody to properly cleanse the house and cast the poltergeist out. The priest agreed to call some people and someone would come out to do an inspection in under a week. I didn't know how I would make it to then but I figured I could manage. When I arrived home I found that my entire living room had been ransacked. Everything was moved and put on their ends or somehow standing on a single corner as if to defy physics. No other spot in the house had been touched except for my bathroom mirror. On it was scrawled into the glass itself, "They won't come in time."

I went to sleep with that floating in my mind. I didn't get to stay asleep though. I woke up to the sound of things banging around my house. When I looked at my phone it said it was only two in the morning. I yelled from my bed, "Knock it off! Some of us have to work. Do you want to start paying bills around here?!" Everything stopped for about thirty seconds and then came back with a vengeance. I spent the rest of the night with a pair of noise cancelling headphones on. They took the noise down to a low mumbling and I was able to sleep at least some. When I woke up and went to go get some food I discovered that at least some of the noise from last night had been all my food being tossed out. All my perishables were already going bad. Everything in cans had been opened and tossed around. All food in bags had been opened and dumped. I didn't even say a word, I just grabbed my keys and went out to go get food.

I decided I would just ignore the problem until the priest arrived. Trying to fight it would just be more work to keep fixing the house. A waste of both time and energy. I went to sleep that night with pretty much everything in the house destroyed at this point. I had at least three water leaks by now. I was sleeping on a pile of pillows and blankets with the headphones on because the banging was back. The banging that somehow my neighbors couldn't hear.

Upon waking up that next morning I found my makeshift bed surrounded with ground up glass from my windows, mirrors, and even the pieces and ground dust of the amulets. I think the part where I had to slice my feet up just to get out of the house was where I snapped. I got out of the house, my feet shredded open from the ground up glass. Leaving bloody footprints with every step as I walked over to my neighbors house to my right. I started banging on their door, "Open up! We need to talk!"

My neighbor, an older man maybe in his early sixties, opened the door, "What do you want?" He looked down at my feet and recoiled in shock.

I shoved my way into his house, "Do you hear that atrocious banging coming from my house at night? Sounds like dozens of people performing construction all at once. I know you hear it! There's no way you couldn't hear it. Well it isn't me! It's that damn ghost I'm telling you! It's the one making all the noise."

The man pushes me back out of his house, "I haven't heard any banging coming from your house! Now get out of here you damn junkie!" With that he slammed the door on me.

I started just walking down the street screaming at anyone I saw. About how it was the ghost fault all of this was happening. Of course no one knew what I was talking about and it wasn't long before police were called. I was arrested on the spot and taken for both a toxicological screening as well as a psych evaluation. I told the psychiatrist what was happening and the drug testing all came back negative. So you can guess where I ended up. At an underfunded and understaffed state run insane asylum. I spent twenty five years there before I died of a brain aneurysm in the middle of one of my rants to the doctor about how he was crazy for thinking that I was crazy.

Those twenty five years were an utter hell for me. Every bump in the night was the poltergeist coming back for me. It didn't matter how much medication they fed me. I never forgot what happened. I never found out what the priest had to say either. They wouldn't let him come and see me. The doctors said it would only feed into my delusion. And so it went day in and day out until the day I died.

Death was peaceful at first. I floated in nothingness forever it seemed. It was pleasant after the nightmare that my life had become. There was nothing here that could go bump. No house to watch get destroyed. I was finally free. Except that I actually wasn't.

One day in my floating around the void a being came to me. It was a man and yet it was not. He looked familiar as if he were someone I knew from when I was alive. It only took me a moment to realize who he was. He was the man who had owned the house before. I tried to attack him in a rage but I simply flew right through him. I wheeled back around, "You! What are you doing here?"

He smiled at me. A smile so peaceful I almost forgot my rage at him. He seemed to be genuinely at peace with himself. After that all he did was touch my chest and all the rage I had felt in my human life flooded back. All the pain, anguish, and suffering I had felt filled me. To the point that I was overflowing with it.

I suddenly was in the house again. It was pristine. Like nothing has ever happened. The knowledge of what had happened and what must happen. The former owner of the house takes over haunting it. Until they drive the next tenant mad and eventually cause their death they are stuck here. Even after death they are stuck until a new owner comes again and then they go get the one they drove to madness and their death to make them take over. That’s why he looked so happy. He was finally free. That smug bastard. Now I’m stuck in this house of so much pain and suffering. I turned as I heard a door open and a young woman say, "Oh my god!!! I'm a homeowner!" All I could do was smile. I'm sure she would be easy to break.

Not sure where this one came from but I hope you all enjoy it. If you did then please like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

supernatural
7

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.