Horror logo

Hamai died

Hamai died

By JORGE MANENTPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

The Jutes' family

Once upon a time, there was a merchant named Hamel. He had three sons. The first was called Sall, the second Moyo, and the youngest Jute. Hamel had worked hard to bring up his three sons, but he was too fond of his youngest son, Jude, who was envied by his two older brothers.

When Hamai was old, he saw his two brothers discriminating against the younger son and was afraid that the younger son would be bullied after his death. For this reason, he invited the kinsmen, the judge and some people of high standing to give them his money and things and set them before him and said:

"Please divide the property into four parts according to the law."

They did as he commanded and divided up the goods.

Hamai divided three of his shares among his three sons and kept one for his old age. Then he said, "I gave them all my property, and now I owe them nothing, and there is no favouritism between their brothers.

I gave them my property while I was alive, so that they would not quarrel about it after my death. My own pension will be used to support my wife."

Soon after, Hamai died.

Dissatisfied with the division of the property, the eldest and the second went to trouble Judt and demanded that he hand over some more of his possessions. They said to him, "I have given you all my father's wealth."

The brothers quarreled so much that they were taken to court. On that day, all the people who were present at the court testified that the judge, according to the facts, stopped the two elder brothers of Judt's extortion. The lawsuit was fought, and Judt and his two older brothers spent their money. No one took advantage.

Soon after, Judt's two older brothers turned him in. Both sides spent a lot of money to fight the lawsuit.

The lawsuit did not win, but Judt's two brothers were still unwilling to take away his property. They began to take crooked paths and bribe corrupt officials with money. Judt was too tired to deal with it. He always spent too much money. The money of the three brothers fell into the hands of corrupt officials day by day, and finally they all became destitute.

The eldest and the second were so poor that they went to their mother and bullied her and beat her by all means. Finally, they drove her away and took possession of their mother's property. Mother came to Judt in tears and said, "Your brothers beat me, drove me away, and robbed me." He cursed as he spoke.

Judt comforted her and said, "Mom, stop cursing. They will be punished by Allah for their disobedience. Mother, now I am as poor as a dog, and my brothers are as poor as a dog. Our brothers didn't get on well with each other, and after several lawsuits, we didn't get any benefit. On the contrary, we spent all the property left by our father, making people laugh at us. Now, can't I quarrel with them and go to court again because they are unfilial? Forget it. You will stay with me for the time being, and I will spare some money to support you. I just hope you pray for me. Allah will reward us with food and clothing. As for the two brothers, Allah will punish them."

Judt consoled his mother until she was calm enough to stay, and then went out fishing with a net.

halloween
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.