Horror logo

Halloween in your 30's...

What are we doing again?

By Brennan StarrPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Halloween in your 30's...
Photo by Sabina Music Rich on Unsplash

From child to man every Halloween has been a different experience every year. After my early 20's I don't remember much about doing anything on Halloween besides watching scary movies.

I was pretty much over my party days and Halloween just didn't feel the same anymore. I had stopped getting that happy feeling when I knew Halloween was right around the corner. That was, until I had a child at 25.

Halloween grew a new meaning once my beautiful baby girl started getting older and interested in the holiday. I started getting the happy feeling again, the excitement of going through costumes to find the right one. Finding decorations and movies to put up and watch when the time is right. Little activities to do, carving pumpkins, and even more than what I did when I was a kid! She enjoys it and loves horror movies just like her Daddy, which is awesome.

By David Menidrey on Unsplash

Let's talk a little about the way that Halloween is ran nowadays. Back when I was a kid, you could trick or treat until you could not find a porch light on. Staying out for hours on end, finding all the cool houses to go to, finding all the houses that gave out the best candy and trying to hit those more than once, that was trick or treating to me. In the Halloween world today kids get about 2 hours, during the day, and by the time its over it had just got dark. I thought it being dark was one of the really creepy and fun things about Halloween, maybe I'm wrong?

I know its a different world out there and many of the "rules" that are put in place in the different towns are there to keep us and the kiddo's safe but dang man, I would love just one old school trick or treating night. One night where we can hang off our tailgates, staying out until 11pm or later, and treating until we just can't treat anymore. Our children will never know this experience. This dad just does what he can to make the best of every Halloween with his daughter, better than the last.

By Jeremy Yap on Unsplash

Lights, Camera, Action! Movies, let me rephrase, scary movies are the way to go, especially during Halloween. One of my favorites to watch is Nightmare on Elm Street or any of the Friday the 13th's. Old school slasher films are the absolute best. These movies bring me back to the good days of Halloween. A couple movies that we also watch as a family, and if you haven't already you may want to check these out. Up first on the list is Halloween Town.

Halloween Town is a cute family film that came out originally on the Disney Channel in 1998. It gives all the feels of Halloween and what its like to be a kid during Halloween. The big difference in this movie is that there is magic, monsters, and ghouls, and they aren't all scary.

Next up, everyone loves them some Casper. You cannot go wrong watching Casper for Halloween with your family. He is the friendliest of friendly ghosts.

If you can or get a chance to, do not miss out on watching "It's the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown". Great movie for the kids and for the adults as well, you know, the ones that want to travel down memory lane.

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

As I get older, I really hope to start going all out for decorations and handing out candy. Is it really worth it though? I mean, by that time will there still be trick or treating? If the times are still short would it still be worth the investment? My answer, hell yes! Seeing the reactions of the trick or treaters and getting a great scare out of people would make it all worth it.

Well, I don't have much else to share about Halloween. I hope everyone has a safe and fun Halloween. Don't forget to like and subscribe if you enjoyed the read!

halloween
1

About the Creator

Brennan Starr

Father, Gamer, Entrepreneur, Pawn Broker. I enjoy writing short articles, stories, and reviews.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.