Horror logo

Halloween

The cultural inheritance

By Ben ShelleyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
Halloween
Photo by Clint Patterson on Unsplash

Growing up this was always seen as the 'American thing' but now I get the sense that perception has rapidly changed. From irritation to a much-loved childhood engagement. It is certainly something that I never engaged in growing up but I get the sense that our children will be pulled into it. I fully intend to eat most of the sweets!

Our neighbours love it and go to town on the house. Cobwebs, spiders, lights, it's like an early trip to Christmas but It puts a smile on their faces. You can see it when you talk to them and hear the excitement etched into the faces of their children. It's a lovely sight and makes me feel a little broody but then I remember that there is plenty left for me to achieve.

For now, we will be content with buying a pumpkin or two, alongside some sweets, I doubt that we will go beyond this but we will make an effort and have sweets available to hand out.

COVID-19

The pandemic. It arrived to turn our world upside down. I feel years older than I should be...forced to grow up quickly in order to adapt to a new way of life. It was life-changing and something from which I grew as a person and in terms of my tolerance for life.

I learned to give more and look to take less. Not to say that I was selfish as I was not but there is always more that we can do and I set about improving myself at a time when we had nothing but time.

Rather than being out of mind and out of sight, Halloween seemed to be everywhere as Christmas was affected, alongside sports and life-affirming events. It was a time of reflection and with little else to celebrate, people went to town with Halloween (in London at least).

A Short-Term Change?

I do not believe that this shift is temporary. It will be a long-term change and one that I am indifferent to. If it brings a smile to a child's face then who am I to say that it shouldn't happen? It will provide me with extra sweets as I will be able to borrow some from my future children. It is a shame however that we couldn't think of a Halloween tradition ourselves.

In a similar vein to the clap for frontline workers during the pandemic, it was nice but why couldn't we have thought of something very British to do? Share a tea at ten for the NHS or gossip passively about our neighbours? It wouldn't have taken much but rather than think we simply took what someone else had done.

I feel the same way about Halloween. Anything that brings a smile to a child's face gets my vote but why couldn't we create a new tradition for the English rather than just doing what our American cousins do? Why could that not have taken place?

A New Tradition

There is nothing wrong with trying and failing. It is endlessly better than simply taking someone else's idea and making it yours. That is about as original as your daily bowel movement. It is basically a reflection of Apple and its operating processes, simply steal an idea from another and pretend that you invented it...most simply go on with it, never questioning and dismissing any thoughts of the alternative as rumours by competitors.

Trying something new is tough. Change can be brutally hard to find and even when it is agreed upon, there will be some that will never engage and look to bring your down from the inside. New is great and everyone wants it but many are fearful of it.

To be the one who pushes change forward and it blows up in your face...no one wants to be this person, yet we all know that being stagnant will result in a lack of change and being out off from your brand.

Changing Halloween from an American clone to create a new, more English tradition would never take off as people are happy sticking to what they know best. It brings a smile to their child's face and the sweets can be shared out later in the day when the children are asleep...why would you want to change this?

Deep down you know it's dull. You're doing the same thing as so many others. it is a worldwide tradition but in direct opposition to Christmas, where there is a multitude of differences across the world, here there is familiarity and we all know what that breeds... contempt!

A Final Thought

Halloween is an American tradition. It is something that I had dismissed my entire life until the pandemic. Now it has cemented itself in society and much like American Football in England, it will continue to grow in popularity. It will appeal to more children and the more children that want to join in, the more of their friends will join the party as you never want to be the one that misses out.

I would prefer to have an English spin on Halloween but you can't have everything in life. I will certainly not prevent my son or daughter from joining in the fun. I will love seeing the smile on their faces whilst I am finishing off the sweets at the end of the day.

We will not dress up this year but we will buy pumpkins and sweets in order to 'join in' with the neighbourhood. Giving something back should never be judged. it should be embraced as the simplest act is the best thing in the world. To walk away at the end of the day knowing that you've brought a smile to the face of another.

halloween
Like

About the Creator

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet for the love of content, must continue writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.