Horror logo

Gut Feeling

It doesn't matter what you choose. Something is coming.

By E.AmaliaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
3
Gut Feeling
Photo by Valentin Antonucci on Unsplash

“I think we’re going in the wrong direction.”

“Nothing would please me more right now than for you to shut your mouth.”

“So, we’re just going to get more lost and probably murdered...you’re fine with that?!”

“Just please, be quiet okay? I know where I’m going!”

“Honestly, I’m going back the way we came. I’m probably going to need to call the police for when we have to report you missing anyway.”

“Great, and you’ll be suspect number one if my body turns up dead. We’re not lost. I know where I’m going!”

Bry looked back to see that she had already walked a fair distance away from him. As he watched her walk away he realized that actually, he’d never miss her if she was gone. I dawned on him that this was it - the feeling of falling out of love. He felt cold all over and nothing at all, all at the same time.

“Hey!”

She just kept walking. Further and further away and as she did he felt freer. Freer than he had in months.

“Come on! Are you seriously going to find your beway back?”

She just walked on and on and on.

The coming weeks proved to be fear showing its ugly head to the world. Two hikers would be enjoying their long hike when they would come across Bry’s mangled body. The police would start an investigation but it would prove to be difficult since no personal items would be found and his body would be mangled beyond recognition.

The only thing they would find would be a small note crumpled tightly in his hands. The paper would be bloody and it would prove to be difficult to read but they’d be able to recover these words.

love her.

The coming weeks would bring about long waits in interrogation rooms for her. Countless hours and countless questions. All the while she will feel sick to her stomach and wonder what would have happened if she went with him.

She would spend the rest of the year hating herself for not going with him or at least dragging him back the way they came. She would have dreams of him, wake up and think that he was right there next to her. She would go out and swear that she saw him alive and well.

************************************

Photo By: Andrew Neel www.pexels.com

“I think we’re going in the wrong direction.”

“Nothing would please me more right now than for you to shut your mouth.”

“So, we’re just going to get more lost and probably murdered...you’re fine with that?!”

“Just please, be quiet okay? I know where I’m going!”

“Honestly, I’m going back the way we came. I’m probably going to need to call the police for when we have to report you missing anyway.”

“Great, and you’ll be suspect number one if my body turns up dead. We’re not lost. I know where I’m going!”

Bry looked back to see that she had already walked a fair distance away from him. As he watched her walk away he realized that actually, he’d never miss her if she was gone. I dawned on him that this was it - the feeling of falling out of love. He felt cold all over and nothing at all, all at the same time.

“Hey!”

She stopped and turned at him.

“What Bry?! What do you want? You are not about to get us even more lost and I’m not going to follow you to find out what horrid thing will meet you over there.”

“Come on babe, trust me!”

“I do trust you, but I just have a bad feeling that we’re just going to get more lost. I’m going back the way we came.”

His heart skipped a beat and then he felt relief. He did still love her and he had the same feeling she did. Something was off and he couldn’t put his finger on it.

“Fine, I’ll come with you.”

“Really?”

Bry grabbed her hand. He loved that hand of hers.

“Hey, I love you you know?”

“What’s wrong?”

“Nothing, I just want you to know I love you.”

“Okay, I love you too!”

The two would find their way back home and in the coming weeks, the news would break that two hikers’ bodies would be found mangled near the area that they had nearly gotten lost in. The bodies would be too badly mangled for identification.

Bry would be watching the news unfold with a sick feeling in his stomach like that was supposed to be him. He would think to himself - she saved my life - and then he would go to her and hold her tight. He would grab her hand and brush his finger across the engagement ring that clung tightly to her finger.

************************************

Photo by: Jens Johnson on Pexels

“I think we’re going in the wrong direction.”

“Nothing would please me more right now than for you to shut your mouth.”

“So, we’re just going to get more lost and probably murdered...you’re fine with that?!”

“Just please, be quiet okay? I know where I’m going!”

“Honestly, I’m going back the way we came. I’m probably going to need to call the police for when we have to report you missing anyway.”

“Great, and you’ll be suspect number one if my body turns up dead. We’re not lost. I know where I’m going!”

Bry looked back to see that she had already walked a fair distance away from him. As he watched her walk away he realized that actually, he’d never miss her if she was gone. I dawned on him that this was it - the feeling of falling out of love. He felt cold all over and nothing at all, all at the same time.

“Hey!”

She stopped and turned at him. His breath came and went, his heart sped up and slowed down and for a brief moment he saw her and their children together on this very same hike.

“Babe come on. Trust me I know where I’m going!”

“Something just doesn’t feel right Bry.”

“Let’s just go 5 more minutes this way and if it still seems like a loss then we’ll go back the way we came. Sound good?”

She sighed.

“Just 5 minutes I promise.”

“Fine.’

The coming weeks would prove to be a tragic unfolding as two hikers would discover two mangled bodies. The bodies would be too mangled to identify and no personal items would be found on the bodies. An investigation would go cold and the family and friends of Bry and his bride-to-be would be left waiting and wondering in their grief.

**********************************************************************

This would just be one of many cases like it to run cold. Found in the same area, bodies too mangled to identify, and no personal items would be found. The urban legends would go viral and the area would be blocked off to the public. All hikers and thrill-seekers who trod the line would all claim to have the same sickening feeling before they decide to turn back.

No matter what you decide, because something is coming.

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Pexels

Did you enjoy this?

Heart.

Tip

and

Don't forget to subscribe for more!

fiction
3

About the Creator

E.Amalia

Hola! I'm E.Amalia. I've got a penchant for the macabre, weird, and spine chilling genres. Also I write poetry, also I'm a dragon for books.

Drop a ❤️

Subscribe 🖤

Comment 💙

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton10 months ago

    This was interesting... I like the different versions of the story, I've not seen that before.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.