Horror logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

goat footprints(1)

Chinese ghost stories

By Jusdin_liPublished about a year ago 3 min read

When I was young, my grandfather was a tailor in the village. Someone in the village died unexpectedly. Will ask him to help sew the corpse, grandpa agreed. He went there with a needle and thread, but the legs of Zhang Laosan, who died unexpectedly, were crushed into mud. There is no way to sew.

His family said, "You can also use leg of lamb

Grandpa sewed a lamb leg for Zhang Laosan.

1.

According to the customs of our hometown, people who died unexpectedly cannot go home, and the coffin can only be placed outside. The coffin for burial is also very particular. It should be painted with cinnabar and sealed with eight iron nails.

Before sealing the coffin, the villagers can take another look at Zhang Laosan inside the coffin.

His face was covered with corpse spots, his lips were purple, especially his exposed sheep's feet were particularly weird.

Someone yelled, "Seal the coffin!"

Zhang Laosan's coffin was buckled, and several young people nailed the nails into the coffin. Zhang Laosan's father said, "Let's go and eat."

The custom here is that people who die accidentally should be buried at night. The sun has not yet set, and the burial cannot be done yet.

The people who came to help entered the courtyard one after another. Before entering the courtyard, they would take off the white cloth strips tied around their waists and put them at the door, so as not to prevent Zhang Laosan from following into the courtyard. After Zhang Laosan was buried, the white cloth strips were burned.

Zhang Laosan's father toasted my grandfather and said, "Fifth brother, I have troubled you for the past two days." My grandfather said, "We are all in the same village, so no trouble."

Zhang Laosan's father chatted with my grandpa, and he said: I heard that your second son bought a car, why didn't you drive it back? Grandpa laughed and said: Listen to his nonsense, how can he have the money to buy a car?

A month ago, my second uncle told my grandfather that he had bought a car in the city. My grandfather was overjoyed and told everyone about it. My grandfather even went to the village gate to pick up my second uncle and wanted to drive the car into the village, but my second uncle didn't drive back, he took a taxi instead. Grandpa felt very embarrassed and didn't want to mention this matter at all.

After dinner, it was just dark.

The mountain road at night is not easy to walk, and those who stayed behind for the funeral were young people.

My grandfather and I went home first, and my second uncle followed to the funeral.

Before leaving, my grandfather told many times: "Be sure to burn the white cloth."

My second uncle nodded: "Remember."

When my grandpa and I got home, my grandma asked, "Will Zhang Laosanbe willing to go?" Grandpa said: Yes, he didn't cause trouble.

//After a person dies, the soul will go home to meet the family, and then the family will bury his body, along with his soul. But there are some souls who don't want to leave.

Zhang Laosan died in a car accident. The driver who hit him ran away and has not been caught until now.

Our place is remote, we don't even have a surveillance camera, and we don't know who killed him.

My grandma nodded, and she said, "As long as he is willing."

In the middle of the night, I heard movement outside. It should be my second uncle coming back. My grandma turned on the lights in the house.

My second uncle ran into the house. His face was pale, his forehead was covered with sweat, and he even lost a shoe. My grandfather said, "Shunzi, what's wrong with you?"

Second uncle: "I saw Zhang Laosan, he is not dead!" My grandfather said: "Nonsense! You just buried him, how could he not be dead?"

The second uncle gasped and said: "Really! On the way back, I felt that Zhang Laosan was following me." Grandpa flipped through uncle's clothes, and the second uncle said: I burn the white cloth. it's gone! Why is he following me? "Grandpa said: "You must have read wrongly,Zhang Laosan is dead. "

As soon as my grandfather finished speaking, he heard a "dong dong dong dong" knock on the door.

My grandfather covered my second uncle's mouth with his hands, and Zhang Laosan's voice came from outside the door: "Uncle, you sewed it wrong, this is not my leg. My grandma whispered: "Old man, what should we do??"

My grandfather frowned and said softly, "Don't make any noise."

As soon as my grandfather finished speaking, I heard the sound of the door opening, and the wooden door was pushed open.

supernaturalmonster

About the Creator

Jusdin_li

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jusdin_liWritten by Jusdin_li

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.