Horror logo

Give Incantation A Try

You won't regret it...

By Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When it comes to Incantation I’m very biased. I loved the story, the background, and the way the film was shot. Therefore, I can only say positive things about this film. Incantation is a lot to experience but hopefully this breakdown and review will convince you to at least give it a try. Incantation is a Taiwanese found footage supernatural horror film. Yes, that is another reason why I’m so biased…Put found footage and supernatural in the same sentence/description and I’m in. This film is written, directed, and produced by Kevin Ko. Who also directed Invitation Only, A Choo, and Doomsday Reverse just to name a few. The cast of incantation includes Tsai Hsuan-yen, Huang Sin-ting, Kao Ying-hsuan, and Sean Lin.

Incantation originally got my attention with it’s beginning. The film is interactive and wants you to not only follow along but participate. It was unique from other viewing experiences I’ve encountered which is why I have to say you should at least give the film a try. Let me explain the plot without giving any spoilers. The main character is a woman Li, looking to lift a curse from her daughter Dodo. Li throughout the film encourages the audience/viewers to chant and pray for Dodo. Li along with her boyfriend and his cousin break a religious taboo that not only gets people killed but brings unfortunate events into their lives.

Was this film the scariest film I’ve ever seen? No, however it definitely had me thinking a lot after the fact. The twist in the film had me on my toes and that alone is why I recommend this film to horror fans that haven’t seen it yet. I won’t spoil it for you but will tell you that the twist is unexpected and really got me thinking. The visual graphics and special effects in the film were great. Some things had me cringing which is very hard to do when it comes to me and horror. The story is broken up in pieces meaning you really need to pay attention to the details shared throughout.

The filming aspect of the movie is all over the place being a found footage type of film. However, what was shown was just enough to get under your skin. The film’s lighting was all over the place as well, but we can definitely toss that up to the genre. The music creeps and goes in and out with the film’s activities as well. Now the message, the plot, and the way the film is sequenced is genius. The acting as well was decent. I believed and was engaged with every character in the film. I felt bad for Li when it comes to her series of unfortunate events and her daughter Dodo. This film is a roller coaster of emotions. It’s far from reality and I think that’s what I love about it. It’s a supernatural film that has a strong religious background.

I would recommend this horror film for quite a few reasons. One I haven’t experienced an interactive film like this one. Second the film is scary due to not being able to know what’s going to happen next. Third the twist will leave you thinking so hard after the film that it will keep you up at night. Last just go out and support Kevin Ko as a filmmaker. His work is always decent and highly enjoyable. So, have you seen Incantation? If not, go check it out now on Netflix and let me know what you think in the comments section down below. I can’t wait to hear what you think about Incantation.

movie reviewsupernatural
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Renee "ItsFearHerself"

After founding her production company ItsFearHerself, solely writing, producing, and directing horror films. She’s made a wave in reviewing horror films, books, and TV as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.