Horror logo

Ghost Voices

A small sampling of the dead people whom I occasionally record.

By Tom BakerPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
Like

To read my first article about EVPs, please follow this link:

Hello. My name is Tom Baker, and I'm the author of a number of books on very creepy subjects, including ghosts, UFOs, psychic powers and Spiritualism, serial killers, true crime, grave robbers and necrophiles, horror flicks, and a couple of children's books as well. When I'm not doing that, I paint macabre art, do macabre music, and read Tarot cards for paying customers seven nights a week, or thereabouts. I've been like this for years.

Occasionally, I get strange voices on my audiobook recordings, voices that shouldn't be there. The first time, it was a spirit of a friend I believe, one I use to get through automatic writing. The next one was even creepier, a voicemail from my Haunted Indianapolis (Schiffer Books, 2007) co-author Jon Titchenal, who died several years ago.

He called again and I picked up the phone this time. A voice, sounding like Jon's but with a mechanical or electronic lilt simply said, 'It's Jonathan." And hung up.

D. Scott Rogo, who was murdered decades ago by a perpetrator never apprehended, wrote about this in a book called Phone Calls from the Dead.

It's all a part of "Instrumental Trans Communication", or "ITC", various attempts using electronic recording devices to contact or communicate with or hear messages from dead people. Discorporate entities, in other words. The "Spirit World."

The practice was first pioneered by Friedrich Jürgenson and Dr. Konstantīns Raudive (the EVPs were once known as "Raudive Voices"). It has been pioneered by medium Bill O'Neil with the famous "Spiricom" device, as well as many others. Edison is said to have contemplated building such a device at one time.

You can use a variety of different electronic devices, including tape recorders, digital recorders, video cameras, and the "ghost box"-type devices which are like modified radios, one of which I own but I can't use because of poltergeist activity, or the inevitable spate of unnerving voice mails from the dead I'll get if I take the damn thing out of the drawer.

I've had the blender operate itself, books fly off the shelves, "tapping" like something out of the old-time Fox Sisters' seances, etc. I use to have the bed shake.

As someone who dabbles in the occult six, seven nights a week for fun and profit, ghosts generally want to talk to me. I suppose I could make bookoo bucks exploiting it like a John Edward or something, but, let me tell you, automatic writing takes a lot out of you. The Spirit comes over you, and it's a "control" for another intelligence, but to manifest, it uses YOUR energy, and that is tiring. I've had automatic writing sessions that ended with me passing out.

But the EVPs are always a nice surprise. There's a lot of damn energy around me, even in my decrepit old age. Proves I'm on the right track.

Jon, who died in 2020, was a guy that would drive miles to sit up and talk with me all night on occult topics. I have the remains of one of his unpublished novels that I've considered publishing, but am scared stuff would start flying off the shelves--he may take offense or not want that or something. OR, he may be trying to get ahold of me to continue writing. At this point, I'm not sure.

We prowled some haunted places together and looked into some dark realms. We stayed up until the wee hours of the haunted morning talking about what Charles Fort called "New Lands." Jonny got to see them first. But, one day, I know, we'll meet again.

At any rate, below are the three EVPs (well, technically, two EVPs and one "voice mail from the dead") that I've put on YouTube so far. A little chilling, a little eerie, yes. But, it's my karma I suppose.

Anyway, here's the first one. I was reading a poem, a"Patient, Noiseless Spider" by Walt Whitman. When I get to the words, 'Oh my soul..." apparently whatever soul was in the room with me starts laughing, after saying something unintelligible. I believe this is a spirit I call "Jen." Here it is:

The drawing I take to be "Jen," but it was an automatic drawing done shortly after. The next EVP is a voicemail I take to be from my late co-author. And following it for a short period was a series of additional strange phone calls (like something out of The Mothman Prophecies) from people I take it have "dropped the body," to borrow a term from the Scientologists.

This one really, really unnerved me. I still dislike hearing it.

The phone calls started occurring after I purchased a "Ghost Box" device and asked for messages. You play stupid tricks, win scary prizes, I suppose. The last time I took it out and turned it on, the blender started operating itself. I was in another room, giving a Tarot reading.

There's nothing wrong with the blender; just an invisible person, standing there, operating the buttons in the kitchen. Trying, I suppose, to get my attention.

At any rate, yesterday I was reading an essay by Harsden Martley called "The Importance of Being DADA" (because you know, I'm one of those weird, fringey, arty types and all har har) and I picked up the voice of what sounded like a woman. But it was a robotic voice. Just three words after I pause. She says (and I had to jack up the volume considerably to hear what she was saying) "Is this on?" You then hear ANOTHER voice in the background, another quiet whisper, like a female voice.

I didn't at first realize what she was asking until I realize she was asking about the microphone I was using. Apparently, she wanted to talk. About what? Really, that's the most important question, isn't it? About what?

Here it is:

I continue to occasionally receive disturbing phone calls I cannot explain.

Have a nice day.

supernatural
Like

About the Creator

Tom Baker

Author of Haunted Indianapolis, Indiana Ghost Folklore, Midwest Maniacs, Midwest UFOs and Beyond, Scary Urban Legends, 50 Famous Fables and Folk Tales, and Notorious Crimes of the Upper Midwest.: http://tombakerbooks.weebly.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.