Horror logo

Ghost Child Photobombs at 30th Celebration

A Ghost child, aged about 3, appears from nowhere.

By Heidi AnnePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Ghost Child Photobomb

Just over 5 years ago, I attended my sister's 30th birthday bash in our local village Con Club. We live in Hayfield which is ancient village in The Peak District, known for its feature in the BBC series, 'The Village' and with evidence of inhabitation since pre-Roman times. It is recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086 as ‘Hedfelt’, part of the Royal Forest of the Peak. Despite its isolated location it was an important settlement, most probably because it was situated on an ancient packhorse route between Cheshire and Yorkshire and the line of a former Roman road between Buxton and Glossop. There are still a number of historic buildings in the village, with parts of St Matthew’s Church dating from 1386, although it was largely rebuilt in the early 1800s. Nearby Fox Hall dates from 1625.

The birthday party itself took place in the building next to the church and the capacity was probably around 1-200. People came from all over to attend, Essex, Scotland, you name it. To say for a family orientated event that this was a little 'wild', would be a colossal understatement.

Everyone was there. It was a joyful event even though I did have to keep looking over my shoulder to check if my parents were watching me after I was guilty of having one too many glasses of champers. Heads started to turn when the 'policeman' entered the building looking very official.... until 'The Full Monty' soundtrack started playing and my sister went red in the face. Any children, including her 6 year old at the time, were told to evacuate the room at this point. The look of 'horror' on my Grandads face was priceless as the sophisticated officer revealed body parts that one would expect to be kept to the imagination.... My Grandma, however, couldn't put her video camera away - she was loving it! I'm sure I even heard some cheers coming from her side of the room? Mind you, she was supposedly a 'rum un' back in her day. The night involved, drinking, lots of dancing and was all in all a great social event. That said.....it wasn't exactly the place for young children to be.

I would argue that I am a spiritual person and I do believe there is a world outside our own. I have a great imagination and am very open minded regarding holistic approaches. I find any experiences with the spiritual world incredibly interesting and I think there have been too many sightings and experiences, by people I trust and respect, for afterlife to be swept under the carpet. However, I have never personally experienced anything to clarify the existence of ghosts. Until this day.

I can't see ghosts. I think some people can and some people are much more sensitive to connections with energies from the spiritual world, however I have reason to believe I do not possess that gift.

There were a few children at the party, however it was late at night. My sister's son was there - with a couple of friends, but that was it. As mentioned, it was an adult environment, for obvious reasons. This didn't stop a 3 year old photo-bombing at 12am though.

There were no official sightings of this child at the party itself, and believe me, I have passed this photo round ample times to try and gain some answers. However, besides that, she wasn't there! I would have noticed a child that close to me touching my arm as she brushed past me, although I was lost in the moment - I would have noticed. I know myself. Nobody from the party recognises or remembers this child being present in the room. Especially because this particular picture was taken very late during the night with my Aunty Gail - who was equally as shocked as myself when noticing a blurry child pop up on the photo the next day.

One could argue that if the little girl wasn't there then 'why did the camera pick up a reflection from her eyes?', however, is there anything to confirm that the eyes of spirits themselves are non-reflectable?

It's truly one of the strangest and most inexplicable moments of my life, and captured on camera. Normally I look at these images and scream, 'Photoshop!' but I can't do that with my own image taken from my phone.

1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.