Horror logo

From Beyond The Grave

A Paranormal Experience

By Courtney BenjaminPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

I assume most people do not believe in ghosts, or spirits, that once we die, that is it; nothing else happens. I at one point was a skeptic, until I had a couple of eye-opening experiences. The first happened when I was 16 years old and my grandmother passed away.

My grandmother was my rock, we had an unbreakable relationship, so when she passed I was devasted, I was sitting one night late watching television, I suddenly got a warmth surrounding me, and then the smell of flowers, it was almost surreal, I felt a light touch on my shoulder and the hair on the back of my neck stood up, needless to say, I was extremely freaked out, and jumped up and ran into my grandfather's room, I jumped into bed with him, obviously, he awoke startled and asked me what was wrong, I told him what happened, and he simply said to me, "Why would you be afraid of your grandmother? She would never do anything to hurt you." I sat there for a second dumbfounded, and the only thing that could come to my mind was I was scared. He brushed me off and told me to go to bed, that she would never visit again because she wouldn't want to scare you. And to a certain extent, he was correct, I never had a waking experience with my grandmother again, but she often visited me in dreams. In fact, I still to this day have visits from my grandmother, and she's been gone now for over 30 years.

Now not all visits are warmth and flowers, and I soon figured that out when a very dear friend and a man that at one point was the love of my life passed away suddenly and at a very young age. His name was Brian, I had known him since I was 14 years old, he wasn't always a friend, but I had always had a crush on him, we reconnected later in life, and he made a real effort to be apart of my life, unfortunately at the time of us reconnecting, I was dating a guy that I really liked a lot, and Brian wasn't on that pedestal anymore, I guess I also was too prideful and didn't want to just give in to his advances so quickly, I did not want to appear to be easy. Shortly after our encounter he ended up getting married, I often wonder what would've happened had I given in, would I have been the one he married? It also did not help that the guy I blew him off for ended up leaving me for another girl. Well once again a few years passed, and Brian and I's path once again crossed, the last time around didn't go much better, I once again was in a new relationship this time a lot more serious, and his marriage had come to an end, he once again tried to be apart of my life, I did manage to get closer to him, and seriously considered ending my relationship for him, I don't know if it would've changed the outcome, or if I would've just been even more of a bumbling mess, I remember when I found out Brian had passed, I almost did not believe it. I stood in shock, and then I got angry.

When Brian visited me, and although I do not know for a fact it was him, I had a medium tell me it was, and when I spoke to a couple of close friends about it, they actually looked at me sideways that I questioned if it was him. I remember it was the Saturday following his death, I was laying in bed watching television, I had my eyes closed, but could still hear the TV, now before I go any further Brian died in November, and living in New England it is safe to say I did not have a window open, nor did I have an AC or fan going, in fact, the closest window to me, was literally blocked by a dresser, well anyways, I was laying in bed, and listening to the TV, suddenly I felt this artic cold air on my face, like a constant blowing, and I was unable to move, I felt like I was being held down, it scared me so much that I couldn't even sleep the rest of the night. Thank god it was a Saturday and I did not need to work the next day, I was so startled and confused, I did not really know what to think, but no it did not stop there, another occurrence took place about a week and a half later, this time it was more brazen, I was once again laying in bed, this time my back was facing the window, once again I had a constant cold breeze on my face, and then I felt someone get into bed behind me, it was so obvious that I actually moved further on the bed, I heard a faint murmuring, and I do not know if I said it in my head or out loud, but I said "I can't hear you." then suddenly a voice clear as day said, "shh, relax, it's just me." Well needless to say my eye's shot open, and I was unable to move, I saw a figure kneeling on the side of the bed, and when I blinked, the figure shot into the ceiling in a burst of light. I know at this point it should've been crystal clear, but just in case I needed another sign, he visited me again. This time I had fallen asleep on the couch, I felt someone crawl on the couch behind me, I felt them hold my hand, and then proceed to trace the side of my body with their hand, I quickly grabbed their hand and brought it back down to my side, and then I realized there wasn't anyone who was supposed to be there, I opened my eyes, heard a knock on my coffee table, and then everything went back to normal.

The last incident made me run to Salem to have a reading, the medium told me that my friend who had recently passed was the person visiting me, and they were angry that they had never had the opportunity to be in a relationship with me, and they were trying to do it from beyond the grave, and that I needed to send him to the light, I will honestly tell you I did not want to, I enjoyed my visits from Brian, and unfortunately, I never had another one, I still think about him daily, and still, wish he would come back and visit me again, At the same time, any time someone that I know dies, I get super uncomfortable, because I know that visits do happen, I have experienced them, in fact the ex I told you about earlier in the story, the one who left me for another girl, he recently got killed in a car accident with that very girl, I was half expecting him to come visit for the simple fact of what he told me a little while before he died, but I guess she still has complete control over him even in the afterlife, because I have had no experiences with him at all. I know before he passed he had told me he wasn't overly happy with the choices that he made, and I know the both of them had new problems that began shortly after their relationship began, the only thing I can hope is he finally found his happiness.

So does anyone have experiences with the afterlife? Is it more prominent than it's led to believe? I completely believe loved ones visit once they have parted, and it actually gives me a positive outlook on death, I use to be afraid to die, but now I am not, it's not that I am ready to, I still have so much I want to do, I at least know that I have some beautiful people waiting for me on the other side, and that gives me a sense of peace.

Like

About the Creator

Courtney Benjamin

An actress and writer with over 70K reads across all platforms, Stories available on Dorian and Episodes, as well as Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.